We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice exoerience 🍺”
Review of The Blackfriar

The Blackfriar
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 1/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,488 of 23,773 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: A member of the iconic fleet dating back to 1873, Nicholson's offers timeless British pub hospitality. A fine stock of smooth and silky cask ales are pulled at the bar, while homely British classics are served in the dining room. The carefully chosen wine list brings together some great international bottles, while a Cask Ale Club is offered for any true beer aficionados.
Reviewed September 23, 2019 via mobile

We were at this place with a group of three, because it was recommended by a local.
The place looks and feels very authentic with the old architecture.
On the inside many artworks show the monks (blackfriars) ar their typical work.
Beer is excellent, I had a Monty python IPA
Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
5  Thank ralbrunn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2019

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2019 via mobile

What a gorgeous venue! Truly stunning.

Sadly the food was dreadful. Pathetic, tiny uninspired salad and the nachos were a disgrace.

Male server was charming but very rushed. Females who spoke in their own language were totally uninterested.

Shame as it’s a wonderful interior.....

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank _simple_ple4sures_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2019

Hi Ljp67, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

Small plate selection of Scottish Smoked Salmon & G&T with Roku Gin...a double because I’m on vacation. But when I went to the loo I sat on the cover...so maybe not!
Huge portion of smoked salmon but on very poor quality sourdough bread...dry & thin. Supposed to come with butter but had to ask for it. Salmon was quite good.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank islandgryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Love this please, so lovely on the interior, always bring people here when visiting London. Keep the same and I will be back again and again £

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerA84, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

James M, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Blackfriar! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Arrived here for a pre boat trip meal was a Sunday so not that busy we had to wait 40 minutes for our food which we saw in the service hatch for about 20 minutes everytime I asked for it to be served the barmaid said theres no tickets so I dont know who its for . I repeated the order to her in the end she became aggressive and just slammed the plates down on our table cost £32 for a cold chicken burger and a cold gourmet burger with cold chips will not be returning

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peterpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Blackfriar. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 020 7236 5474 to speak to our manager directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackfriar also viewed

 

Been to The Blackfriar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.