We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent pub, near the Tate Modern and Globe Theatre”
Review of The Blackfriar

The Blackfriar
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 1/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,488 of 23,773 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: A member of the iconic fleet dating back to 1873, Nicholson's offers timeless British pub hospitality. A fine stock of smooth and silky cask ales are pulled at the bar, while homely British classics are served in the dining room. The carefully chosen wine list brings together some great international bottles, while a Cask Ale Club is offered for any true beer aficionados.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

really love this place. there were probably 5x the number of people drinking outside as could fit inside. I was able to get a seat inside. The have Fullers on draft, excellent bangers and mash choices so what's not to like? :)

service is very friendly and helpful. it's chaotic but service is still on top of things

maybe the best part is the decor inside. bas relief of Friars in full regalia and high ceilings.

a great spot and one I'll return to even if I don't have to be in that area.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobbyK312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Blackfriar! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

The original frescos and friar quotes in this period pub are worth seeing.
We went for breakfast which took a long time to arrive and was frankly disappointing. The sausages tasted (and were) a bit 'off'. There were (literally) a few beans in a small container and half of a small black pudding. Not exactly the 'full' breakfast I was looking for. Much better places to go for breakfast.
Would be alright for a pint and a natter.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Lesleyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at 442072365474 so we can try to restore your confidence in our business. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us, and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

We had fish and chips at several places and this was by far my favorite. The fish was fresh and flaky and perfectly friend. The outdoor dining is in the shade and offered a nice dining experience.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank DanaS841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Hello Dana S, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017

The food was by far the worst we experienced during our recent trip to London. The hamburger was old and hard, like a hockey puck. A beer from the bar is the only reason I would ever go there again.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank bgrgbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Bgrgbucks, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please contact us at 442072365474 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Visited back in May whilst staying in the area. Good food although service somewhat casual. Deccor very interesting and nicely preserved.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank fisheatingveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Blackfriar! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackfriar also viewed

 

Been to The Blackfriar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.