We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Staying with Friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Telegraph Hill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Telegraph Hill B&B
Ranked #168 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Harrogate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like Staying with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This place is unique! Forget the typical b and b, this is something else entirely.
What service.! Firstly, I got lost, and ended up walking past it, to the top of the hill. Lydia jumped in the car and picked me up: good start!
The house is a family home, no formality at all, just a warm welcome.
The guest room is on the top floor, with a huge bathroom next door. Warm, very clean, shabby chic, lovely. No bland, corporate look..
The bed......Fluffy duvet and pillows, beautiful white bed linen. I can honestly say that it gave me the best nights sleep ever.
Breakfast was delicious, mango, kiwi, pomegranate, yoghurt, local honey, bread, eggs for those who want them, croissants etc.
Lydia set the table, then left it to me to choose when to have my breakfast: no pressure.
I can 100% recommend Telegraph Hill.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyHG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydiacampbell, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you, Its exactly the way we want guests to feel! Please come again, we look forward to seeing old friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
10
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was just what we were looking for when visiting London to attend our daughter's graduation. The property is in a calm location above the hustle and bustle of New Cross Road. A couple of minutes walk beyond the house and you are at the top of Telegraph Hill with nice views across London.

The room is sufficiently large for two, the bed comfortable and the bathroom fine. All was clean. The simple "shabby chic" style worked for us and offers all you need. However, it was the genuine hospitality of the family that made it special; it was a pleasure to chat with them. Oh, and I must mention the great breakfast.

Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank simont247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you! Its such a nice surprise to see such a lovely review. And it was a pleasure meeting you both and learning from you about "transition equity"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teens stayed here for 5 nights. The B&B is well appointed. We have breakfast in the host's dining room or in the backyard that's very nice. The bedroom's comfortable for me and my daughter while my husband and son slept in a sofabed which is not suitable for heavy person like my husband.

We have difficulties in finding restaurants serving hot food so we cooked dinner 3 times during our stay. There are supermarkets in the nearby New Cross Gate station so that it's convenient for us to buy something after our travel. The kitchen had all we need...cookware, salt, pepper, oil etc.

It's easy to explore London by underground and to explore Greenwich by bus. The walk between the nearby station and the B&B is nice but you may not want to with the tired legs after exploring during the day.

The price for the stay is reasonable and thanks Lydia and Zest for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapellbruecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydiacampbell, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, Zeeland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you're travelling with a young child, look no further! This B&B has a self catering apartment that meets all your needs. Good bedroom, bathroom and kitchen; spacious living room for our 14 months old son to play around. We placed his cot (provided by Lydia) in the living room, let him fall asleep on our bed and transferred him to his cot when we went to bed; everybody happy. The B&B is ideally located in a quiet area, very near to a train station with perfect connections to the city and Greenwich (bus). You can take the boat from Greenwich to the city. Opposite the train station is a convenience store where you can buy/(re)charge your Oyster Card for public transport. The walk uphill back to the B&B is quite steep, but don't let that put you off. The reward is a great place to sleep, and a fine view to the city. If you need plenty of space and a good bed and want to be independent; book the apartment at Telegraph Hill B&B. It's great value. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurits S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydiacampbell, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Such a lovely family. Please visit us next time you are in London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

If you are arriving in London at heathrow, be aware that the staff in the train station don't really seem to know how to get to New Cross Gate. After two people gave us wrong directions, and a third very rude man basically told us to get lost ( he was working at the " info" window...), the fourth fellow finally sent us on the right train. Once we got to New Cross Gate, it was easy enough to find the B&B, once you realise the street signs are on low posts on the footpath, not mounted on top of higher posts at the corner.

Lydia and Zac are very welcoming, and the upstairs room was large and very comfortable. Decor is nice, sort of earthy and simple. (Think stripped back floorboards, rustic baskets, etc.) nice view onto lovely back garden, and very quiet. If you have trouble with stairs, you might have difficulty here, as the house has many levels. Breakfast was very nice, and Lydia was happy to cook whatever you wanted. Beautiful bread from the local bakery.

Wifi is available down in the kitchen. This is a family home, and you are sharing their kitchen. We thought this was nice, but some people may be uncomfortable with it. It also means that when family life gets busy, you may have to ask for things that are normally done automatically , but Lydia and Zac are happy to oblige. One small improvement would be to put a mirror near an electrical outlet. There wasn't really a good place to blow dry your hair.

Location is ideal for exploring the sights of London . You are only one train stop from London bridge station, from which you can walk along the Thames to the Tower of London, globe Theatre, the Tate Modern, or to St Paul's. Greenwich is a short bus ride away.

All in all, excellent value and recommended!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydiacampbell, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was nice to meet you. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Staying at a b&b is so much more personal then at a regular hotel.
I stayed at TelegraphHill for a week-end with a friend of mine. When we came, Lydia met us and showed us to our room- which was a quite large bedroom with a lovely bed (seriously, I slept like a princess) and we had a large bathroom for our self. Then we got a key and a message to feel like home. And that, we did! At breakfast we discuessed everything- from the weather to heavy political stuff, with other guests and the owners. The breakfasts was by the way really good- freash youghurt with berries, juice, bread, coffie, tea++ i loved it! Lydia and her husband gave us sooo many tips about what to what we colud see and experience while in London, and some of those tips we followed- and loved.

We both (me and my friend) can really recommend this b&b!
Just some weeks before our travel to London, we went on a studytrip to Paris and really experienced what bad hotels can be like- so we needed a good experience- and got it!!
I'm a b&b-girl now.

Thanks for the stay, Lydia!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malén M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much, it was great to have you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I chose this B&B based on its proximity to Goldsmiths as well as other reviews. The room upstairs was comfortable and clean, the breakfast great. I even got to see a couple of urban foxes playing in the garden. (I wasn't startled, as my son had told me about the foxes.) Lydia was a wonderful host. When our son graduates from Goldsmiths, we hope the apartment is available.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much. We are looking forward to seeing you in the fall.
Warm Regards
Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel
12.3 mi away
The Forester
The Forester
#57 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
9.3 mi away
Saint Gabriel's Road B&B
Saint Gabriel's Road B&B
#196 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#113 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kandara Guest House
Kandara Guest House
#22 of 567 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Hill B&B

Property: Telegraph Hill B&B
Address: Jerningham Road, London SE14 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family home based in a picturesque pocket, south east of central London, offering holiday and short let accommodation. In this large Victorian house we provide a self-catering apartment on the ground floor and a guest room and bathroom on the top floor. The cottage like apartment incorporates a double bedroom that catches the morning sun with a door leading onto the patio and garden. The shower room which is off the bedroom is supplied with 100% Egyptian cotton towels. The bed linen is 400 thread count Egyptian cotton. An internal door leads to living room with a sofa bed and armchair. The sofa bed opens out into a Queen size bed. The open plan kitchen/dinner is fully fitted with fridge, washing machine and oven appliances plus cooking utensils and cutlery. Rate: £110 per night plus £25 extra charge for sofa bed occupants. Baby Cot available at no extra charge. Can sleep 2/4 people. Telegraph Hill is a conservation area in New Cross Gate, sth east London. Home to the Internationally renowned Goldsmiths University of London .. New Cross Gate is vibrant, urban and with great transport connections to Central London, it’s an ideal base for experiencing and enjoying the capital – one of the most exciting cities in the world. New Cross will connect you to all the major sights that London has to offer and we are ideally situated for any visits to the Olympic games at Greenwich or east London. How:A 5 Minute walk from Jerringham Road to new Cross Gate Stop (0), a Pleasant 30 minute Journey to Parliament Square, then enjoy some of the breath taking sights that London has to offer such as:-The world’s largest cantilevered observation wheel London Eye.-The House of parliament and the clock tower, commonly called Big Ben.-St Paul's with its world-famous dome, is an iconic feature of London's skyline-The Gherkin, famously designed by Sir Norman Foster. "Or stay on the south side of the river and visit London's famous Greenwich area, including; - Greenwich antique market- The Royal Observatory- The River Boats to Westminster and central London.- The 02 Arena for concerts, cinemas and the 2012 London Olympics- The Tate Modern and Tate Britain Art Galleries- London Bridge and the Tower of London. The conservation area which has long been home to artists and musicians is one of London's best kept secrets and is a great place to stay for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Telegraph Hill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph Hill B&B London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing