We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment”
Review of Telegraph Hill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telegraph Hill B&B
Ranked #188 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the apartment a couple of weekends for 2 nights. With a 18 month old, having more than just a room was important and the apartment was just what we needed.

Just off the main road it was really easy to find and a bus stop directly opposite made getting round easier. Worth noting though that if you get on here the bus terminates at the bottom of the hill and you have to reswipe your Oyster card (and talking of Oyster, it's not worth trying to travel without one - the newsagents round the corner sells them though)

There was mixture of crockery and cutlery, and not necessarily 4 of everything; not many utensils either if you're self catering and no microwave. A nice touch was to have tea provided but there was no coffee. The oven also had an annoying tick that only stopped when turned off at the mains.

Worth noting that there's only one sofa in the living area but plenty of room for another. We had friends pop in at one point and this meant there wasn't enough soft seating. There were also only 2 chairs around the small dining table (though there were 2 folding chairs tucked away).

It's easy to gripe over things that need improvement but Lydia was really welcoming and made sure we were comfortable, we were made welcome to use the garden attached to the property which was a godsend with a toddler.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WantFriesWithThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you. Your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great location for access to public transportation. If taking the underground, it's a bit of a steep hill to climb after a long day of exploring London, however, there is a bus route which takes you to the top of the hill and you can walk down. The neighborhood seems to be in transition so ranges from poorly maintained places to very well kept. This B&B was in the process of being remodeled so decor was not a high point. Our room was large and comfortable, but, we had a shared bathroom which was not expected. The cost was a value in expensive London!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an exact address as none is given at the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Im dissapointed your stay was average. You pointed out you had not checked the website prior to booking in which case its hard to know what to expect. The website ensures customers are aware we are in a conservation area designed to protect a bit of Victorian antiquity. And our images specifically highlight the decor of our home. For the most part, these are the reasons people choose to stay with us. It was unfortunate there was an unexpected cross over with another guest on your 1st night. It is not our usual policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in the Telegraph Hill B&B this weekend. The whole house is beautiful - spacious, elegant decor and very comfy.

Lydia & Zac were away but Zac's Mum was so welcoming, helped us with everything we needed, and served a fantastic breakfast in the kitchen diner which overlooks the garden.

The location is convenient and there is an impressive view of London (day & night) from the road just outside the front of the house.

Would thoroughly thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieLumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a find! The proximity to Goldsmiths was the reason for my initial selection of this friendly family B&B but it is also close to the beautiful Telegraph Hill Park and New Cross Gate overland railway station that connects to the underground system. If you prefer to see the view as you travel, there are double decker buses from the bottom of the street to the centre of London.
Lydia, the wonderful host, met me at the door when I arrived and showed me to my room at the top of the house. The room is massive with two windows looking out over the green trees and rooftops of the surrounding suburb. Decorated is a gentle 'shabby chic' style this is a much more sophisticated space than the usual UK B&B with limed timber floorboards, an original fireplace, huge mirror and distressed timber cupboard that accommodates the tea making equipment. The bed is huge with crisp sheets, soft pillows and wonderful hand stitched bed covers.
This room technically was not en-suite but the bathroom is right next door so it is as good as and the bathroom is so large you could have a party in it with plenty of hot water in the shower.
Then there are the breakfasts, fresh, healthy and really tasty. They certainly set you up for the day. Lydia is engaging and friendly. She is very interesting to talk to but has the subtle knack of being interested in her guests without being intrusive. If you are staying in South London, stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you..it means a lot to have such a positive architect's perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is the kind of place you'll stay if you value authentic experience over luxury and overpriced hotels. This lovely B&B is situated in a green and quite area, almost on the top of Telegraph Hill where you find a beautiful view over the entire city of London.

Thanks to Lydia and Zac's warm welcome, we felt like being home from the very first moment. We stayed at Telegraph Hill for four days and were provided with a huge, varying breakfast with cereals, fruits, eggs and interesting conversations as a side dish.
The B&B is also very well connected and you can easily reach the city center within 20 minutes by public transport.

This is definitely a place we will return to whenever we come back to London.

Thanks for this amazing stay.
Best, Phil & Franzi

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you very much Phil & Franzi. It was a privileged to be your hosts, looking forward to your next visit. Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in the appartment for three nights during the Easter bank holidays. We had a wonderful time! We chose this appartment based on the photo's we saw on the internet. The decor was 'just our thing'. So we were very happy to find the appartment just as comfy, roomy and stilish as in the pictures. The location turned out to be great, too. With New Cross Gate station just a short stroll away, we had excellent connections to all parts of town. And that view on Canary Warf when you walk to the station! Breathtaking...
We found the owner Lydia and her family very welcoming. We had an excellent cup of coffee at her kitchen table the first morning. Great tips for our daytrip were complimentary with the coffee...
Thank you Lydia and Zac!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherAtEaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you, Im really glad you liked it..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in Lydia's apartment while visiting our daughter at Goldsmiths and seeing the sights in London. We couldn't have asked for a more welcoming host than Lydia. Her breakfasts were nutritious and so delicious. The accommodations were safe, clean, comfortable, and provided all we needed...including coffee & tea, super comfy pillows and bed, and artistic charm as well! The B&B is also a great location providing very convenient access to the Underground while staying in a unique London neighborhood. We so appreciated Lydia's warm welcome, kindness, and engaging conversations... our stay at Telegraph Hill B&B will truly remain an especially sweet memory of our stay in London.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydiakoryobadeweyo, Owner at Telegraph Hill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you for such a glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 948 in London
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Hill B&B

Address: Jerningham Road, London SE14 5NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family home based in a picturesque pocket, south east of central London, offering holiday and short let accommodation. In this large Victorian house we provide a self-catering apartment on the ground floor and a guest room and bathroom on the top floor. The cottage like apartment incorporates a double bedroom that catches the morning sun with a door leading onto the patio and garden. The shower room which is off the bedroom is supplied with 100% Egyptian cotton towels. The bed linen is 400 thread count Egyptian cotton. An internal door leads to living room with a sofa bed and armchair. The sofa bed opens out into a Queen size bed. The open plan kitchen/dinner is fully fitted with fridge, washing machine and oven appliances plus cooking utensils and cutlery. Rate: £110 per night plus £25 extra charge for sofa bed occupants. Baby Cot available at no extra charge. Can sleep 2/4 people. Telegraph Hill is a conservation area in New Cross Gate, sth east London. Home to the Internationally renowned Goldsmiths University of London .. New Cross Gate is vibrant, urban and with great transport connections to Central London, it’s an ideal base for experiencing and enjoying the capital – one of the most exciting cities in the world. New Cross will connect you to all the major sights that London has to offer and we are ideally situated for any visits to the Olympic games at Greenwich or east London. How:A 5 Minute walk from Jerringham Road to new Cross Gate Stop (0), a Pleasant 30 minute Journey to Parliament Square, then enjoy some of the breath taking sights that London has to offer such as:-The world’s largest cantilevered observation wheel London Eye.-The House of parliament and the clock tower, commonly called Big Ben.-St Paul's with its world-famous dome, is an iconic feature of London's skyline-The Gherkin, famously designed by Sir Norman Foster. "Or stay on the south side of the river and visit London's famous Greenwich area, including; - Greenwich antique market- The Royal Observatory- The River Boats to Westminster and central London.- The 02 Arena for concerts, cinemas and the 2012 London Olympics- The Tate Modern and Tate Britain Art Galleries- London Bridge and the Tower of London. The conservation area which has long been home to artists and musicians is one of London's best kept secrets and is a great place to stay for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telegraph Hill B&B London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing