We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Bartholomew the Great”

Church of St. Bartholomew the Great
Ranked #297 of 1,610 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“St Bartholomew the Great”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

One of the most amazing buildings I have ever been in. If you have the chance, take it. The atmosphere is so special, if only the walls could whisper their stories to us..

Below it asks for what sort of visit was this? Sadly it only allows me to click on one option, I want to click on them all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    38
    6
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-s-Mare
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oldest church in the City”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I think thats correct,someone will say if I am wrong. Should you have to pay to visit a church? I have issues with this.
Worth having a wander inside as there is a lot of historical interest

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely to see.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely. My view from the hospital looking down onto the grounds are special. From above you can see the changes that have had to be made over the years to the outside. I personally don't like to see a modern building juxtaposed to old, however you can still see how beautiful the church still is.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayneonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“800 years of charitable service”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This small but perfect Norman church is truly one of London's gems and well worth going slightly out of your way to see. In fact you may have a sense of déjà vu as it has been used as a location in several films. Nearest tube station is St Paul's on the Central Line. Head for Bart's (St Bartholomew's) Hospital and the church is down a narrow lane under a bridge off the square in front of the main entrance to the hospital. A highlight of the church is the imposing tomb of Rahere, a 12th-century courtier of King Henry I. He is claimed by some to have been the king's jester, and if so he must have been well paid for his services because when he came back from the Crusades having survived a dangerous illness, he took holy orders and used his fortune to found the nearby hospital, naming it after the saint to whom he attributed his recovery. To this day the hospital honours Rahere's charitable service to the sick with a ward named after him. As well as this church, there is the smaller church of Saint Bartholomew the Less actually in the hospital, also worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great part of the secret london tour.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This cost only 4 pounds extra to go through, but the curator (originally from Chicago) made it exceptionally interesting, as he knew how interested we were. Many movies have been filmed here, including 4 weddings and a funeral, Amazing Grace, Shakespear in Love, Elizabeth: The Golden Age, and The Other Boleyn Girl.
I felt like I'd stepped back in history. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of St. Bartholomew the Great also viewed

 

Been to Church of St. Bartholomew the Great? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing