We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #596 of 1,069 Hotels in London
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location”
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Only a block away from the British Museum, the Whitehall is an excellent value as we got our room with a private bath (6 foot tub) for less money than several hotels recommended to us by friends that had shared baths. The room was quiet, clean and of adequate size and the single beds were supremely comfortable. No room fridge or safe but the front desk willingly safeguarded valuables. The staff was not very helpful and after two bad experiences we sought help elsewhere. Seemed like they were only interested in selling the hotels products. About a 10 minute walk to the Russell Square tube stop. Very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    255
    149
    69
    41
See reviews for
73
251
29
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My sister and I took our mum to London for her birthday and stayed at this hotel. The staff were super-friendly: everyone had a smile and a greeting for us, from the reception staff to the cleaning staff. We wanted to do the full tourist thing and the Concierge couldn't have been more helpful; from giving us directions to the bus stop, to telling us which was the best company to use. The hotel has a wonderful glass lift too which was highly exciting :D On arrival we were informed that we'd been upgraded to an executive room and Mum was upgraded to a four-poster which was just fantastic. It made our stay an absolute treat!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We really liked this hotel's location and the room was fine but rude reception staff spoiled our visit. Breakfast was unbelieveably expensive and there was no room for us in the main restaurant so we had to walk through the garden to a conservatory to eat brekkie in the cold

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky24s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
782 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

On arrival, the check-in was smooth and businesslike. Our room was small but comfortable, although there was a draught from the sash type windows. Bathroom was very small but functional. Difficullty experienced with shower on first morning was resolved whilst we were out, despite the problem being reported during the weekend.
Did not take advantage of breakfast as we felt the cost was prohibitive. Bar was virtually part of reception and therefore had little ambience

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelexperience12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This hotel was great, next door to the British Museum and on the doorstep for Covent garden. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and our room was on the lower level but we did not suffer any disturbance due to noise. The room was very large and clean, would definalty stay there again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennedy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We decided to stay here as the reviews were very good. We were very impressed with our room and we were upgraded on arrival to a four poster room. The bed had to be the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever stayed in, didn't want to get up in the morning. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very polite and helpful.
The hotel is in a very good location also, a nice quiet road so you get a good nights sleep and within walking distance to the theatre (we went to Cambridge theatre) and other attractions.

We stayed for 2 nights and breakfast was only included for 1 morning which was fine by us as we went out for breakfast on second morning. We probably wouldn't pay for the breakfast though if we had the choice as you don't get a lot for what you pay for.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in London and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stars810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were given a basement room, very small, no room for a bedside table or even to swing a cat. Obviously no view from window. Altogether too cramped for two. I would avoid this hotel

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#567 of 1,069 in London
315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#302 of 1,069 in London
810 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#507 of 1,069 in London
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#611 of 1,069 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#579 of 1,069 in London
162 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#349 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall
Grange White Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing