We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #588 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel was well presented even if room a little small, only stayed one night so not a problem. Great central location close to a number of Tube stations. Easy walking distant of pubs, restaurants.
Room was well presented and clean. En suite was small but clean and well laid out. Staff where very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 665 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our room on the lower ground floor was next to the lift shaft and the lift creaked and groaned up and down all night. The bed was 4 foot wide, one side of it was against the wall and it sagged seriously in the middle. It was obviously intended as a single room because there was only one glass and one set of toiletries in the bathroom. The view from the window was a wall and we could hear every passing piece of traffic and every footfall from the street above.
This was on our way out to a holiday. On the back we stayed at another hotel with a 6 foot bed, views over London, a peaceful night's sleep and breakfast for £10 less!
Such a shame because we have used LastMinute's Secret Hotel deal before and this was our first disappointment. A pity it had to be on such a deplorable scale.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the first floor or above and check the size and position of the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vpj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a deak on this hotek but I would never pay full price. The hotel looks very grand and the rooms are well presented. However our room was in the lower ground floor and our window looked out onto a wall and to the side was a door to what we think was the kitchen so had to have the curtains closed at all times (good job we weren't in the room much). The bathroom was nice enough but the bath didn't hold the water and was very high which made getting out of the shower dangerous. The restraunt seemed reasonably priced for dinner (not for breakfast 22.95!) However it didn't open until 6.30 which is a bit late for those heading to the theatre. Considering this is classed as a 4* hotel I would have though they would have had more services available to guests mainly out of ordinary toiletries available to purchase to savr us traipsing around London in the middle of thd night!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pound01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night, arriving at 01.30 following a late arriving train. The receptionist was friendly and efficient, sorting out the check in quickly so that we could get to bed. The room itself was nicely decorated and, despite being modern, retained some of the period features of the building. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a great night's sleep.
The hotel is well-located, just off Russell Square, and 2 minutes walk from the nearest tube station.
We would definitely recommend this property, we made our booking through one of the "secret hotel" websites and so didn't pay anywhere near the normal rate so it was excellent value for money...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MW13_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel reception is well organized, the staff is friendly and always helpful. The baggage was immediately picked up by the hotel boys and had been delivered promptly to the assigned room. The room itself was well equipped, but too small. I was not able to sit down on the offered chair because the space between the desk and the bed was to narrow. The bathroom was also very small but functional.
The location of the hotel is pretty nice for people heading of for the British Museum. Also the Oxford Street (shopping) and China Town (eating) are in a walking distance.
The hotel's offering for breakfast or too expensive (about 24 British Pounds) and the alternatives for that are just around the corner. So I picked the breakfast outside (about 8 BP).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Detlef W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and was told that we could leave our bags until our room was ready. The room we had was on the lower floor so the view was restricted. However the room itself was bigger than expected and clean. The towels were changed even thou we were only there for two nights.
The continetal breakfast was lovely and the staff were quick to refill our tea/coffee when ever required.
The location was ideal and has three stations nearby for the underground and its about ten min walk to kings cross station.
We will be staying again the next time we stay in london.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The website mafe it look quite promising but the hotel is only mediocre, if even. The staff is rather uninterested in servicing. We had an extra bed in, and the mattress was completely inappropriate for use: That is just the way it is, said the concierge. I guess he was just right...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#553 of 1,077 in London
558 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#572 of 1,077 in London
332 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#361 of 1,077 in London
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#390 of 1,077 in London
2,182 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#586 of 1,077 in London
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Address: 2-5 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $94 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall
Grange White Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing