We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly - but just far too hot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #591 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly - but just far too hot!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is in a lovely area, very friendly and lovely rooms. However the heat hits you like a sauna and there is no way to regulate it. I had to have my window open - even though it was October, but even that did not cool the room down enough. Even after a cold shower - it was difficult to sleep.
When I commented to the staff - it appears that it is set at deliberately hot temperatures -"because no-one likes to be cold".
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    254
    145
    67
    41
See reviews for
72
249
28
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to London for the secret cinema and thought we'd splurge to stay in a hotel to have some privacy. We went on lastminute to choose a secret hotel as I had done it before and had got some good deals. We paid £139 for a night so it wasn't exactly cheap. When we arrived at the hotel, the supposedly luxurious boutique hotel was very crowded and crammed because there were several workshops/courses going on and the reception area was tiny. We checked in, and got given a room in the basement, with little natural sunlight and the view was the back of the kitchen. It was boiling so we opened the window for some fresh air, and could just hear people shouting in the kitchen. It wasn't bothering us too much as we were going out anyway. What was really bad was, in the morning, we both got woken up by what sounded like elephants stomping above our heads. It turned out our room (No.4) was right below the restaurant so there were constantly footsteps and things being dragged about. We got woken up at 8 and couldn't sleep again until 10 something when the breakfast presumably fininished. Mind you, it was a Sunday and we had gone out til late the previous night so we really wanted a lie in. Just as we were falling asleep again, the house keeper knocked to ask if she could come in to tidy up. Hello? Don't they have a record of who's checking out? We muttered some energy to say 'no thanks' (and really what we wanted to say was 'go away'). The staff blatantly knew they hoodwinked us because when we checked out they didn't ask at all how our stay was. I bet they knew that if they asked, we would have told the truth! What a nasty treatment we got just cos we went through lastminute.co.uk!

Room Tip: Anything but Room No. 4! Avoid the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath_Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Yoknapatawpha
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location couldn't be better: in the quiet, leafy Bloomsbury area, close to the British Museum and the West End.. The hotel is situated in an elegant Georgian building and is beautifully furnished. The rooms tend towards the small; some of them are bijou to the point of being cramped. But the service is first rate and friendly. There is even a secluded garden where, on the rare occasions when the sun shines in London, you can enjoy a quiet drink. We've stayed here several times and would recommend it to anyone who wants convenience, elegance and good value.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room first. Some are VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuentinYoknapatawpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What can I say, I am writing this review from my room having just recovered from the wall of heat and inability to open a window without assistance before wedging a magazine to keep it open.

Having ordered a fan to assist cool me down, and at the same time order an iron and board (and there was me thinking this was a business hotel) I have discovered that having plugged my laptop in to charge I need to remove the router or tv plug to obtain another socket.

To calm me down I have ordered two bottles of beer, nachos and a Thai chicken curry. Room service asked whether I wanted the bottles open or not, I thought not, assuming there would be a bottle opener available... no such luck. With regard for the food, I would suggest you think of the worst mexican and Thai restaurant you have ever had the misfortune to eat at, then think no, there must be somewhere worse in the world... and you would be right, it is here! All of that for £30!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am now settling into a nights sleep on what must be one of the softest mattress in London hotel land. As the title of the review descibes, this hotel is that bad it motivated me to write this review. The only positive I would say is that despite the internet costing £20 for 24 hours, it is actually fast!

In short, £575 for three nights, its pretty poor, actually its not, its very poor. I have stayed in The Grange St Paul's before and thought I would give the chain another go - the service and food in that hotel is equally poor, and to make matters worse, ddespite it being an ultra modern building, you can not get a mobile signal anywhere - all in all I will never stay in a Grange hotel again and would not recommend any of them to you. Try the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, I know I will be staying there on future visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in room 108. On the other side of one of the walls in this room are the tracks of the elevator shaft, which was constantly going up and down keeping us awake for most of the night. They really should not have made this area into a room because of this. The bed was barely larger than a single and far too soft. The room was so cramped and oppressive. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location just off Russell Square, a couple of minutes walk from the British Museum. My bedroom was very small, but the bed was comfortable, the ensuite bathroom well equipped and smartly decorated and the whole room very clean. The location is noticeably quieter at night than other London hotels, with minimal traffic noise outside after 11pm. The room was warm, but the window opened easily to regulate this when needed.

Staff were friendly and attentive and couldn't have been more helpful when ordering taxis, looking after luggage etc. The room was made up promptly when I went out. Some of the bar and communal areas are perhaps in need of some renovation, and overall it isn't as hyper smart or chic as some, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker18_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our room was tiny, but clean and decently furnished. It was overheated. Opening the window solved the problem. We looked out on a quiet garden courtyard. The staff were very nice and accommodating. We had dinner in the hotel 3 times over 10 days. We were usually the only patrons or among a few. Service was excellent and the food was very good for the price compared to places where we ate out. We also had high tea which was much better than one we were given at the Wallace. Fantastic location.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a courtyard view for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#578 of 1,068 in London
309 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#285 of 1,068 in London
800 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#501 of 1,068 in London
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#610 of 1,068 in London
175 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#574 of 1,068 in London
160 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall
Grange White Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing