We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Ranked #198 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a 2 day stop over in London and I wish I had paid the extra money and flew out straight away the first night I was dumped in a room next door to a group of noisy French students and all night they kept me up and the next night the staff put someone in my room who it turns out was a known psychiatric patient I will never return

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    29
    14
    19
See reviews for
5
12
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I love the place.

The staff were so friendly. Especially Glenn and Rachael. They made me feel at home immediately.

They made me feel so welcome and i would recommend this place to anyone.

The bar is very welcoming and the locals made me feel at home too.


I'm definitely coming back to London now.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

So I enter the hostel. As usual I get to the place early like many people do. I want to put my luggage up, or at least trying to. No one was in line and I walked in with glasses on after having puffy eyes from the morning. "take off your glasses'' the first thing he said! he was not looking at my id, no checking me in..just "take off your glasses"..i asked why, so he could see me. He was a complete jerk! it didn't make sense. He just looked at me like I was disgusting. I don't know if he just hates black women, but what can I do. I tried to ask if I could store my luggage but if anyone got behind me he would ignore me. Anyhow, this was in the first 5 minutes. I still haven't checked in.. I guess the staff is amazing to whomever they like. Where is the..recommend for non black women button?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levontra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the worst stays I had in a very long time and I've seen a lot of hostels! The rooms very so hot and sticky that sleeping wasn't really an option any more. The room I was staying (6bed female dorm) had only one tiny tiny window right at the top which didn't allow for any air circulation which meant the room was not only unbearably hot (I'd say about 40 degrees), there also was pretty much no breathable air there, O2 level = zero. The room I stayed in had no lockers although this was advertised. Turned out this used to be a staff room but they only recently turned it into a dorm. I asked to change into another room but was told that there was only another room available which apparently was just as hot. I later saw the room and turned out it was actually cooler but by that time it was already booked out. The staff wasn't really that helpful although they were very aware of the problem(s). There is no kitchen, just a common room in the basement which has seen better days, no microwave in their either. The "reception" area is right in the pub, so whenever you need something (check in, check out or other), you'll have to wait quite a while until someone can serve you. The bathrooms were mixed sex (male and female shared) and again, they were incredibly hot. Have a shower, step out and you are sweaty again. I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and as much as I want to find one good thing about this place, I can't think of anything.

I would never stay here again nor would I recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felicesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff was amazing and very friendly. The only thing I have to complain about is the cleanliness of the shower rooms and bathroom floors.
Love the luggage cages below the beds, and the key card system is very sophisticated. The chill room could smell better but hey, it's full of smelly travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse

Helpful?
Thank Giosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I thought this place was brilliant! One of the best hostels Ive stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot. As a girl travelling alone as well- its great. The staff were super lovely, really friendly, polite, remembered my name and made me feel well safe and at home ( and good for a laugh). If i needed anything they went well out of their way- including one night... An icecream haha.
The place has great character, and the bar makes amazing burgers ( chicken cheese burger- get on it)

The showers are good too because the cubicle you enter; the shower is closed off from where you would change so unlike a lot of hostels your clothes stay dry easily.

Its also in a great location, as just down the road there are heaps of great quirky stores and independant designers as well as the greenwich markets, bars and restaurants. Its right next to the station ( but you dont hear the train) and the atmosphere was great- really easy to make friends if you are travelling alone too.

So glad i found this place, all the other reviewers are just complaining about silly things. Its a hostel- and i thought it was fantastic!!!. One of the best ive stayed in. And ive stayed in a lot! I'll be back for sure.



Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyann116
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at St Christopher's in Greenwich for one night with a friend and we shared a room with four other girls. The room was very spacious and bright and the beds were quite comfi. We especially like that fact, that you can lock your luggage in a big box underneath the bed.

The hostel is perfectly located in Greenwich and directly at the station, from where it only takes about 20 minutes to get to central London.

There is a nice DVD and chill-out room in the basement, perfect for backpackers that just was to relax for a bit and chill-out from the big city life.

All bath facilities were very clean and bright as well. There is even shower-gel in the showers.

The staff was very friendly when we checked in and explained everything we needed to know in detail.

The breakfast was basic, but just fine: Toast and cerials - all you can eat. Plus, you also have the option to order from a whole breakfast menu from the bar. Of course, that would cost extra, but it is nice to have the option.

A big plus is the location of the hostel right on top of Belushi's Bar. Even though, we were too exhausted that night to go out for drinks, it looked like a very nice bar with student prices and also some good meals on the menu.

Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#414 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#236 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#394 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
St. Alfeges
St. Alfeges
#153 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Greenwich
Innkeeper's Lodge London Greenwich
Greenwich
Number 37
Number 37
#37 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Greenwich

Property: St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Address: St. Christophers Inn 189 Greenwich High Road, London SE10 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Greenwich 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's Hostel is located in South East London - just ten-minutes away from London Bridge on the over-ground train service - this is a great chill out location with plenty to see and do. Top local attractions include the Royal Observatory - the home of the Prime Meridian Line where time is set and where you can actually straddle the east and west hemispheres! You'll find the observatory on the mound in the lush surrounds of Greenwich Park, offering stunning views over the skyscrapers of the financial district, the historic Cutty Sark tea clipper ship, the National Maritime Museum and much more - all within easy reach of this top London hostel. You'll find St Christopher's Inn Youth Hostel, Greenwich conveniently located in the forecourt of Greenwich station, connected to both the London over-ground train network and the Docklands Light Railway. The hostel is just above the Belushi's bar and restaurant, which offers all guests a great selection of food and drinks. On top of all this you can explore the Greenwich foot tunnel under the River Thames, see a big gig at the O2 Arena in North Greenwich and take a ride on the Emirates Airline Cable Car - London's first ever funicular, all from from this top youth hostel in London! With friendly staff, comfy beds and the best attractions in the city on your doorstep, you can't go wrong with St Christopher's Inn, Greenwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing