We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marble Arch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marble Arch Inn
Ranked #351 of 568 London B&B and Inns
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Smal room for 3 People. The bathroom were very small. Had room on 1 floor and we notice the trafic very well. Otherwise its ok. Can og and stay there again. Tv didnnt work.
I think they could do someting With the colors, missed a closet

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank siffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We thank you very much for your response and your suggestions.
We checked the room and there was nothing wrong with the TV. Perhaps you had to switch on at the power point.

We have made a note of the noise and wish to inform you that we have replaced all the windows with double glazing panels.
We are going to refurbish the hotel with new and neutral colours in the spring of this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    118
    138
    60
    86
See reviews for
88
143
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were a group of 5 friends and stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. The hotel was ok it was always clean and the location was perfect 2 minutes walk from oxford street (main shopping area) and 2 minutes walk for the underground. The only two drawbacks were that we had to upgrade the room from a 5 person room to 6 person so we could have some space cause the first was extra small. And the wifi is horrible. all else was up to standard for the price we have paid. If I will visit London again for shopping I will consider to use this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drijs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and positive feedback.
We would love to have bigger rooms but we are in Central London Victorian buildings which do not
allow that. Our excellent location and clean rooms compensate for all that.

As far as the wi-fi is concerned, we are in the process of upgrading the system but will have to make
a nominal charge in order to allow enough bandwidth for all our customers and to prevent misuse with
several devices operating in each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Location is very good.

But:
1) Room is extremely SMALL and overpriced.
2) Hotel in website mentioned that BB basis, but when you check-in the say that it is only "Bed Basis".
3) I never seen such “small shower”, you hardly move in it, really.
4) Phone in the room doesn’t work if you would like to reach receptionist or in an emergency case.
5) There is almost no space in the room to move.
6) Seems that owner split 1 rooms into 3-4 rooms and re-designed in order to make a revenue.
7) No elevators and so small stairs, you need to carry luggage by yourselves.
8) From room you can hear what is happening in all other rooms and room above.
9) Staff grooming - No Grooming at all
10) Check out time at 11:00am and they start to call you an hour in advance for check out

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Location is very good. But: 1) Room is extremely SMALL and overpriced. 2) Hotel in website me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nurgul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
This guests were an extremely fussy guests and had a complain about everything. She did not want to abide by any rules or policy. Our check time is 11 am and we called her at 11.20 am and she eventually checked out at 12.30 pm. If our phones were not working, how could we
call her ?

All our staff have been with us for many years and there are many reviews about their politeness.
If her comments were true we would be bankrupt by now instead of being almost full throughout the year, with a large percentage of repeat guests.

Some guests are never happy and are there to complain regardless of what they get. They should have paid a lot more and stayed in another hotel instead of paying our tariffs and expecting five star facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Walsall UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

A perfect location for a tatty and tired hotel.
I booked a double room and stayed here for 1 night on 4/11/13 and it was just about ok.
The room was very old & tired with an en-suite so small that it flooded the toilet area. It was a room full of beds comprising of 2 double beds and 2 single beds leaving a real shortage of living space.
My recommendation to other travellers is pay a little bit more and choose a commercial style hotel where you will know exactly what you are getting for your money.
I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevegouldby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
This guests booked a double but we upgraded them to a family room for 5 people.
It is a very big room where a lot of our families stay and are very happy. We do not know why the customer has to complain when they are being upgraded.

We have taken note of the other points raised and will address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Probably the smallest room in the world for 85£/night !!! without breakfast. True, we are in Marble Arch area, but not in the chique part of it though. True, it is 5 min walk from the famous Primark megastore, but that is the only positive note, together with a friendly reception.
For the remainder, if you like to sleep in a 8m2 double bedroom WITHOUT toilet nor shower (and like to go upstairs therefore), then this is your pick. For us, never again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are very surprised with your review.

You came to the hotel on a Saturday for a room and my manager explained to you that London
is very busy and we have only 1 room left. We showed you the room and agreed the price with you
and you said to him that you are very grateful that you have somewhere to sleep.

After that to write a false review is unethical as you were not forced to take the room but willingly
agreed and were grateful for the room.

Like every hotel we have all types of rooms, as indicated on our website and literature, but they were all full.

These types of very clean rooms are very popular for visitors on a tight budget who only come to the hotel to sleep and happy to spend the rest of the money shopping at Primark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

when I entered the room was very surprised.The room was so small as closet for clothes.I never seen such a small room.Firs we wanted to changet hotel, but we stayed.As we only slept there, we were pleased.The room was quiet and clean.The hotel is in the heart of London.If you are non afraid of a very small space hotel just for you:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank EglePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

Like most hotels we have some small rooms but we also have some decent rooms with ensuite bathrooms. Please ask for a bigger room next time you book with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friends and I absolutely loved our stay at Marble Arch Inn. The staff were friendly and certainly helpful. The room was, as expected, small, but comfortable and the location is brilliant (couple of minutes away from Oxford Street and Marble Arch underground station). Housekeeping was great; the beds were made every day, the towels changed and coffee/tea supplies topped daily. I would definitely visit again and recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcattard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We thank you for your very kind words and hope that it will help other guests choose us when they travel to London.

We look forward to seeing you and your family / friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 568 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#47 of 568 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#353 of 568 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Marylebone
London Kings Hotel
London Kings Hotel
#58 of 568 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Arch Inn

Property: Marble Arch Inn
Address: 49-50 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marble Arch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and refurbished hotel with a warm, friendly hospitality which is second to none, matching the stylish facilities and quality service to the perfect location. All rooms with Remote Control Colour Satellite Television, Direct Dial Telephone, Clock/Radio, Central Heating, Hairdryer, Tea/Coffee Bar, Travel Electrical Adaptor and Wash Basin. We offer clean and comfortable rooms with all the facilities at very competitive prices. We assure you that your stay will be relaxing and enjoyable. Marble Arch Inn has a twenty four hour Reception. From the moment you arrive, at any time, our friendly and well trained staff will ensure you are looked after with only the highest level of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Marble Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble Arch Hotel London
Marble Arch Inn London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing