We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, great staff!”
Review of Marble Arch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marble Arch Inn
Ranked #301 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my 18 year old daughter, we stayed for 4 nights. The staff provided us with information and directions to all the places we wanted to visit. Good wifi service. We felt very save walking from and to the tube station which is like a 4 or 5 minutes walk, very close! You can walk to to the Oxford Street which is the best street to shop. I loved this place, very clean. The room was small and we had to share the bathroom but we were never there, we only came here to sleep. There is a great place to eat very close by called The Tyburn. Good food and good prices.
If you want to go out at night.... I recomend going to PACHA! We had a great time there and if you take the tube at midnight to go there it is the Victoria Station and like a 1 minute walk, because it is right there. To come back just take a cab and it was €12.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Many thanks for your genuine feedback. We really appreciate that and hope that it will encourage other visitors to enjoy this hotel when they are in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Marble Arch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 456 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

this is a basic hotel in an excellent location.
oxford street shopping and marble arch underground station are 5 minutes walk away,the american embassy is only a 15 minute walk away,we had an appointment there early in the morning so this hotel was perfect.
we stayed in room number 1,it had a double bed and a single bed.the room was small but there was a tv and tea&coffee making facilities so we where happy!
everything we needed for a one night stay in london.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Many thanks for your kind and honest words.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that it will be useful to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Convenient, functional, clean, a 24 hour manned reception and a good place to lay ones head with a small number of drawbacks. Excellent value for the budget traveller. I stayed in Room 10.

The hotel is easy walk from Marble Arch Underground station (right out of station, first right, third left and hotel is on the left) Oxford Street and Hyde Park. It is two minimally converted town houses. The reception is physically manned 24 hours with friendly staff. The rooms are on 3 floors up a narrow staircase, which may pose difficulties for those with mobility problems or heavy luggage, and are small - but adequate as long as you do not want to spend a significant amount of time in them. I had a twin room which had a large fan (no air conditioning), TV, tea and coffee making facilities, and hair dryer. A towel and one small slab of soap is provided (but no shower gel etc). There are no chairs or table, although there are two large bedside tables and a small open cupboard with plenty of hangers. The en-suite toilet and shower was small (mind the step as it is slightly above the level of he bedroom) with a very small sink and small mirror (but the bedroom had a full length mirror).

There was minimal noise overnight from the road outside, but internal noise proofing is poor and people walking on the floor above and coming and going of guests in adjacent rooms will be very intrusive to some.

Wifi is provided but I did not use it as I use mobile broadband and there is a good 3G signal.

Breakfast is provided, which I did not have, but no other meals - not a draw back as plenty of assorted restaurants available close by.

I would certainly overnight here again and it is ideal for those who want a cheap accommodation in central London without any of the trappings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Many thanks for your detailed response which will allow other guests to make reasoned choice about where to stay in London.
Although our rooms are small, we offer very clean and comfortable accommodation in an excellent location.
We have taken note of your other comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Marble Arch offered a great price and a decent location for our first time in Europe. The room was very dirty, though. There were hairs all over our sheets, pillows and sinks. I laid towels over the sheets and pillows to sleep at night. The room was very, very small (compared to what we were used to in the States). Our room had a shower next to it and a toilet downstairs. We knew this was a possibility when we booked, but didn't quite fathom the inconvenience of having to go down the flight of stairs for a middle-of-the-night bathroom break. We were supposed to have Free Wifi, but it never worked the whole trip, so most of our mornings were spent at the KFC a few blocks away trying to figure out our daily activities. There was a Sainsbury's grocery store very close, which offered cheap sandwiches and great breakfast options. They stay could have been much worse than it actually was, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

We are very surprised to read about your stay at the Marble Arch Inn. Yes our rooms are small and most are en-suite and some are basic. This is very clearly advertised in our website.
As for the cleaning we have the same chambermaids for the past 15 years and our rooms are very clean as we take this aspect very seriously. We have not received any complains about our cleaning. On the contrary, we get lots of positive feedback about how clean the place is.

Small but very clean in an excellent location at very reasonable prices is a compliment that we hear most.

As for the WiFi, we have free WiFi and all you had to do was to ask the reception for the login details. Once again we do not have any problems with our WiFi network.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Being back in London after 20 years didn't dissappoint. My husband and I made a short trip to london for 4 days and because we wanted to do as much as possible on a minimal budget, we decided to find a place that is central. We found Marble Arch Inn on tripadvisor and booked it online. Although the room was super small and the bathroom was just a cubicle, it was clean, warm - we stayed there from Jan 21-25 temperature around 0 C - the staff friendly and helpful. A special thanks to the Romanian student who was manning the reception at night, sorry I cannot recall her name now. She helped us with the quickest way to heathrow from the hotel. What's most appealing about this place is its location! It so central that we could walk to Oxford Circus, Regent Street, so close to the Marble Arch underground station, a 10min walk. I paid about 60pounds a night and it was well worth it. It's also close to some very nice pubs and wine bars/restaurants. London has changed so much, its alot cleaner for one and they make it so easy for tourists to find our way around london. We had some old 20pound notes that is no longer used and we got it changed for new notes in a Nat West bank on Edgware Road with not fuss and there was no need to queue either. Cannot wait to go back to London again, with the kids the next time and hopefully I don't have to wait another 20 years!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonesM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words. We take pride in our service. Although our rooms are small and very clean, we make it up in many more ways like our friendly service, excellent location and reasonable prices.

We have tried to maintain a healthy balance between space and facilities that our guests like in our the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A small bed and breakfast in central London, very close to Marble Arch underground station, and closer to a Tesco and Sainsbury's. The location was the greatest thing about this hotel. Then it was super clean and the staff was very helpful with all queries.

The only slight negative thing was that space was very limited, but we were expecting that from previous reviews. We had a room for 5 with an ensuite in the basement and it was very good for 5 nights. So, if you are looking for a central hotel in London and you're on a budget, I would definitely suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chag_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Arch I, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your response.

We have tried very hard in Victorian Buildings in Central London
to maintain a balance between space and facilities that our guests would
prefer to have in their room. Hence some of the rooms have limited space
but include all the facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#791 of 1,072 in London
76 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#154 of 1,072 in London
1,414 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#308 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#83 of 1,072 in London
1,693 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#181 of 1,072 in London
219 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#28 of 563 in London
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Arch Inn

Address: 49-50 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 5QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $92 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marble Arch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and refurbished hotel with a warm, friendly hospitality which is second to none, matching the stylish facilities and quality service to the perfect location. All rooms with Remote Control Colour Satellite Television, Direct Dial Telephone, Clock/Radio, Central Heating, Hairdryer, Tea/Coffee Bar, Travel Electrical Adaptor and Wash Basin. We offer clean and comfortable rooms with all the facilities at very competitive prices. We assure you that your stay will be relaxing and enjoyable. Marble Arch Inn has a twenty four hour Reception. From the moment you arrive, at any time, our friendly and well trained staff will ensure you are looked after with only the highest level of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marble Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble Arch Hotel London
Marble Arch Inn London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing