We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
38
135
147
64
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
135
147
64
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamerican embassyhyde parkbit datedoxford stfantastic locationreception areafew minutes walkshort stayearplugspubs
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 476 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Hotels in central London are very expensive so getting a decent double bed for less than £100 a night is almost impossible.

The Marble Arch Inn offers the dbl room for £85 so we decided to give it a try! We got a room at the top floor(the 4th or 5th) and the stairs are very narrow with no elevator available(not for everyone if you have heavy bags). The room was very small but clean and good, with shower/wc, hairdryer, coffee/tea machine, flatbed TV and a small fridge(something I really liked!). There was even a converter for the UK electrical system which came in handy for charging our mobile phones.

The staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast is a simple basket of yogurt, juice and cereals. Not a lot but OK. You can take the basket to your room the night before and keep it in the fridge overnight if you wish so.

The location of The Marble Arch Inn is great. Just 5 minutes from Oxford Street, Sainsbury's is a 3 minute walk and a pub is just across the street. This is quite good for £85 a night if you can bear with the very small room. We stayed 2 nights and will definitely stay again if on a short stop in London.

You get very well your money's worth with the exception of the free internet which was crappy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

It's in a good area and not too far from the tube. But the rooms are very small and the 'breakfast basket' is just ridiculous. The 'shower cubibles' in the rooms seemed old and slightly unhygienic too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmyslemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 reasons: proximity to the Tube and the hotel being relatively cheap. The staff were generally helpful, and the breakfast is very basic but still edible (although we eventually went to Macca's because they had a better internet connection!). The place is a bit of a rabbit warren; the room is small by any standards, and the bathroom is miniscule, you have to try hard not to get water from the bathroom into the bedroom - but at least we didn't have to share. We had a view of an enclosed 'courtyard' - it was just an empty space, too small for anything. One day we could clearly hear someone having...umm...intimate relations one floor below, so it's not a quiet place. If you're on a budget you could do worse. If you're loaded - don't bother, even if you want to skimp!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is a decent budget hotel. You can hear everyone else very clearly through the hotel walls and you can barely fit inside the tiny bathroom. This is all to be expected for the economic price. Yesterday morning we left for a day tour and left two things folded on our bed. When we returned both of our items are missing. We completely torn up and looked through all of our luggage bags and cannot find the two large items. We discussed this with the management and nothing was resolved. This is very upsetting!!! Please, do not stay here, I know hotels are expensive in London, but I recommend that you splurge a little.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truck006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble49, Manager at Marble Arch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We want Trip Adviser to remove this review because it is completely false and damaging to us.

The guest booked the room for 4 nights and after the second night told us that they do not want the room cleaned as they have left some papers or brochures on the bed. Our maids did not enter the room until after their departure.

Our chambermaids have been with us for over 15 years and we never had any complains of anything missing from the rooms.
We categorically deny the charges of theft and request Trip Advisor remove the review from the listing.

Thanks and regards#

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March 2011. The best thing I can do is list points.

Good points

Its so central. Oxford Street, Hyde Park and the Edgeware Road are minutes away, all you could need for shopping, entertainment, green space and food. Easy to get to and close to all sorts of public transport.

Its incredibly quiet considering where it is, perfect silence at times good if you want a good nights sleep after a late night.

I liked the breakfast basket, it allowed me to stay in my room and not be tied down with breakfast times.

Comfy bed.

The staff i saw were friendly especially the lady on reception she was really nice and friendly and cheerful, brightend my day up.

In the reception area there is a vending machine and lockers for valuables.

24hr reception and buzzer entry.

The bad.

Everything was small and cramped made worse by the fact i am a big stocky man.

The shared shower i couldnt use as personally found it too small and claustophobic as was one of the shared toilets. Luckily there was enough room to strip wash in the larger toilet and my room.

Overall it provide a quiet safe comfy space to stay for a couple of nights I would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get an en-suite room
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevoplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews