We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The stench hits you like a pile of bricks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Notting Hill Guest House
Ranked #381 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location right off the tube. When we arrived, the land lady was drunk, but kind, and showed us to our suite (haha). Opening the door, we were slapped in the face by an odor so vile, it could be described as catpeecarpet/old cigarettes/moldy/sewage. You get used to the smell after awhile, but if you leave the room for even 30 seconds, be prepared because upon reentry the stench will smack you in the face Chuck Norris. Thus, the unavoidable cycle. Oh, and the tv did not work.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bbdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 90 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's a perfect place to stay for a group of friends visiting soccer game! Actually there's a smell that really hits you from the entrance and it's a bit shocking, but you don't feel it in the rooms, which are good and clean enough! Location- JUST GREAT!! Decent breakfast and friendly staff. I'm not really sure it's appropriate for couples on a romantic journey :) ,since there are so many lovely places to stay in London, but we had a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the backside of the hotel are quieter but I don't really find that important
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvanParvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Typical London pension - medium filthy, sour smell from the carpet, minimal bathroom but friendly staff. On the good side were the breakfast and the excellent location close to the Metro station Holland Park. All in all - good value for the money if you live with the fact that it isn´t superclean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed for a 5 nights whilst on a working trip. The location is superb for access to a multitude of famous/popular sites.

The Notting hill carnival was out of this world (but thankfully it is only 2 nights a year).

The good points far outweigh the bad. Yes.. some furniture is old. Maybe milk in fridge was off.. but I enjoy the stay. The owner, Mrs Bea, was very polite and helped me immensely when I was looking for some places to find food late at night, as she cooked a meal for me at 11pm. Not what the guest house is about, but shows the willingness to please.

The noise of the traffic was quite something to get used to, but when window closed it was OK. Dont know if the tv worked as wasn't interested in it, but it was there. The radio worked well. As did the microwave and the cooker. The en-suite toilet/shower facilities are a little small, but plenty enough for one person. No good for an bunch of people to shower simultaneously.

Phone reception was great. WIFI was great (ask for the WPA key on arrival).

Therre was some noise from the guard dogs downstairs in the private area when the doorbell rang, but to be expected from guard dogs.

The breakfast was prompt, and catered for my special diet (extra large). :D

I enjoyed my stay. I'd go so far as to say I had very good value for money for the price of the room. All you complainers should seek out the Hilton.. what you expecting?

thankyou for my stay Mrs Bea, Andreas and the other cleaning lady. :D.. Appreciated.

Welsh gerchett

Room Tip: Room 8 I stayed in. Was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WelshWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The whole place reeked of a sewage odour, stairs dirty, curtains torn and dirty, in fact the whole place was filthy. TV and radio did not work, Shower and toilet was too small. Very old and dirty furniture in room. Would not recommend this place. Is in a very good area with easy access to bus and tube and walking to the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Spent 3 weeks visiting all main sites in west and cetnral london. The hotel was right opposite the holland park which is a lovelly park that is hard to believe is within london area with ponds and walks for the family. The hotel was nicely fitted with tv ad the view was over looking holland Park avenue. There was traffic 24hrs a day but with widows closed it was relatively quiet. Mrs Bee was very friendly and polite and also very helpfull with explaining the busses and tube stations and where to go for good shopping, meals and family activities. Breakfast was prompt and served to the door by Mrs Bee herself every morning.I really didnt find any issues as previously described here by previous guests. I think they were just havig a moan and wanted the earth for thier money. Perhaps thier expectations of london were too high??
I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8. two beds. all tea makig accessories with own cooker, microwave, virgi tv and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NealBainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Our first impression when we arrived was the following :
- Bad Smell everywhere in the hotel including the room
- Dirtiness : months-old dust, armchairs that probably had been picked-up from the street and were full of dog(?) hair. The bed mattress had large stains of what seemed to be blood.
- Furniture and appliances were from the 1980's

We then decided to find another hotel, even if we were only staying for 1 night.
That said, the staff was friendly and didn't charge us for the booking. Options for breakfast were many, but we didn't stay to taste them. The hotel is also really well located, very close to the Metro.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toto097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#501 of 1,075 in London
184 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#646 of 1,075 in London
206 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#350 of 1,075 in London
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ravna Gora Hotel
#310 of 566 in London
76 reviews
Notting Hill
6 Portobello Road
6 Portobello Road
#374 of 566 in London
18 reviews
Notting Hill
Juliette's Guest House
Juliette's Guest House
#143 of 566 in London
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notting Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notting Hill Guest House

Address: 72 Holland Park Avenue | London, London W11 3QZ, England (Formerly Kensington Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $92 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Notting Hill Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!!UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!! Our small guesthouse is situated right in the heart of London, with transport links close by to all over London you will have no problem seeing the sights even on a tight trip! All prices include the following amenities; free cooked breakfast delivered to your room between 07:30-09:00, free WiFi throughout the property, linen, towels, hand-made individual soaps and daily maid service. In each room you will find at lease the following; TV, fridge, cooker/microwave, wardrobe, table & chairs, free tea & coffee. If you need any advice on how to spend your time here just ask one of our friendly staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Notting Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notting Hill Guest House Hotel London
The Notting Hill Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing