We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in an expensive city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA London Earl's Court
Ranked #54 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Finding a room for a family of 4 in London was hard generally and really expensive, that's why we looked to the YHA. Earls Court was our best option with young children. It's pretty close to the very useful District and Picadilly tube lines which meant we could take the tube from Heathrow and get to a lot of the well-known attractions very easily. Earls Court is a lovely area generally. I hadn't stayed in a hostel since I was a child buy my husband's done the back-packing thing and reckons Earls Court is pretty special. Our private 4-bed room had two bunks, a basin/mirror, sufficient space to move around, a bathroom next door and (importantly in winter) a radiator that was turned on all night! I was really dreading super-efficient hotels that might insist on turning the heating off at night. Not sure that any of them would do that, but coming from Queensland in the summer made me pretty afraid of a cold bedroom! We had a little offshoot on the second floor where there were four bedrooms only (probably all set-up like ours) and they each had a bathroom next door to them. Frankly, they may as well knock the walls through and call them en suite. We basically had our own bathroom anyway. The bathrooms were very clean and light. My only complaint is the fixed shower heads that I usually find in hotels etc which leaves you getting your hair wet when you don't want it to.

Reception area is great with a wonderful choice of snack breakfasts available and a really good coffee machine. The staff bent over backwards to make my coffee how I like it after we realised that Australian coffee terms are a bit different to British. An apparent added complication is that the European continent have slightly different uses of the same terms too. I was REALLY surprised and delighted to see that all (or nearly all?) of the snack foods available were fairtrade if not organic too, yet the prices were totally reasonable. The lounge area was a nice place to share croissants, yoghurt, other pastries, breakfast bars and flapjacks and coffee with my family on each of our two mornings.

My only complaint about this YHA was that the basement 'locker room' was two floors down and we were eventually given a room on the second floor and I didn't see a lift anywhere. However, I was just pleased that they let us leave our suitcases there so early, having arrived at Heathrow at 5:30am and the YHA having a check-in time of 2pm. This allowed us to make use of our first day rather than sit around waiting to check in. We didn't use any of the kitchen facilities or even put our head in the door so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Depome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 415 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

I stayed at the YHA Earl's Court for three nights on short notice and really liked it. The staff is friendly and the bathrooms are clean. The location is really the best, though. It's located on a quiet street right off Earl's Court Road (so away from most of the traffic) and there are pubs, cafe's and most importantly, the Tube nearby. It's simple to get here on the Tube from Heathrow as well and you don't have to transfer. I'd recommend the four bed rooms for a bit extra as the noise level was much lower than the large rooms. Good spot for single and budget travelers, especially when I went considering the Pound to Dollar conversion.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skurny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Went to London for a leisure trip with one of my best friends.

Location: great. 5 mins walk to the tube station, along the ways you´ll find several small pubs, restaurants, a sandwich shop

Rooms: small to minuscule. Our room was located in the basement next to the stairs, the walls were paperthin and our french neighbours started an inpromptu party in the corridor thursday at 3a.m.... not fun :S

Price: you can hardly get any better value for money in london

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Modern Youth Hostel in a GREAT location for arriving from Heathrow because both the airport and the hostel are just off of the Piccadilly line of the underground. Safe quiet neighborhood (Porsche parked on the street nearby) with easy access to everything in central London.

Stayed a total of three nights with only two minor complaints. 1. The modern fire doors in this hostel are loud when they close. Some rooms are much better than others. 2. The bed sheets given on our third night were very dirty but the staff quickly replaced them.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dih112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

- very clean although the bathroom area smelled funny
- comfortable beds, decent sized rooms, and storage
- nice lounge area, very social
- staff wasn't always the friendliest
- good location, very close to metro, convenience stores, restaurants,supermarket, pubs
- would definately recommend for a young travelers ( < 30)
- no elevator

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank laur0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Awesome water pressure in showers, good lounge, kitchen, everything clean, outdoor garden. Good location, tube, supermarket, takeaways etc all within 5 mins walk. Hostel located in a quiet street just off the main road so not noisy at night.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellingAussie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Would highly recommend. Love Earl's Court area of London. Many ammenitities. Three negatives about facility: no breakfast (snack station way too expensive, better of going to Kebab house, M & S Simply Food or Boots) and NO LIFT! It is not fun lugging 8 million pounds of luggage up and down the stairs either at the entrance. And lastly, what is up with the lights for the private baths? Above the door way! If you are vertically challenged like yours truly it is a nightmare turning that light off and on.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank tassbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 3 in Cheshunt
74 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#107 of 908 in London
288 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#46 of 908 in London
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#50 of 908 in London
578 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 908 in London
1,199 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 908 in London
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Earl's Court

Address: 38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $32 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Earl's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great backpackers hostel, the modern facilities in this lovely Victorian building make a convenient base for a cheap city break. Whether you’re in London to explore the attractions or just attending a gig at the nearby Olympia or Earls Court exhibition centres, the location is perfect. This west London Youth Hostel offers cheap accommodation near to the vibrant city centre. The area has a cosmopolitan feel and is close to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and the Royal Albert Hall - great for a weekend break ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA London Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Earl`s Court Yha Hotel London
YHA London Earl's Court England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing