We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astor Victoria Hostel
Ranked #61 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very nice hostel, great location and very nice and kind stuff. We spend Christmas night there and it's was organised a dinner and a small party. Wifi is somethimes slow but when you are on vacation it is not important so much. Breakfast ok, you also have a kitche to use so you can make your own lanch or dinner. When we come back to London it's the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petril25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 523 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked a room here last minute with a friend as we were leaving London the following day and wanted to be close to the train station. Seemed to be a cheaper option so we took it for the night. BAD DECISION. The staff were uninterested in helping us and appeared to be more interested in talking to and "hooking up" with each other. It was late by the time we got there but we had to do laundry (which was overpriced and right next to the kitchen). A male and female staff member were sitting down there in the dark together, and when we wanted to sit and wait for our laundry to finish, they demanded we leave for the sake of some neighbour they didn't want to disturb (a "rule" which apparently didn't apply to them). The kitchen was absolutely disgusting anyway. It smelled strongly of alcohol, and there were at least thirty empty bottles strewn across a table. When we were forced to sit upstairs, we attempted to use the "free" wifi. Another huge disappointment as it did not work. When I brought this to the attention of a staff member, he said that he was aware of the problem, which is apparently an ongoing issue (although online it said they did in fact have free wifi and there were signs throughout the place saying they had "new free wifi"!). He showed me his cell and said he uses some other random wifi that doesn't belong to the hostel. It still didn't work for me and he didn't care at all. It would be nice to know beforehand if a service which is promised to customers is actually unavailable. The showers were also disgusting and the rooms were very small. I would never recommend this hostel to anyone, even for one night. Go somewhere else - anywhere else but here! Ended up getting into a bit of an argument with the staff before we left and asked for a manager's contact info as we were very unhappy with the place for reasons I could go on about. They refused to give it to us, saying it would be impossible to get ahold of a manager. I don't know what kind of business they think they run, but it sure isn't a good one. Worst hostel experience during my entire trip! Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This Hostel is a little on the dingy side and had facilities in strange locations, for example the sink for the bathroom was in the centre of the sleeping area. The staff were also a little inflexible and refused to take a ten euro note instead of five sterling as a deposit for the key card, happy to send me out into the street at 3am to look for an ATM instead.

Also, not recommended for the taller traveller. I'm just over six foot tall and my feet extended beyond the length of the bed.

Otherwise, sheets were clean and location was good. It's about fifteen minutes walk from Victora Underground station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eoghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If all you need is a bed to sleep in and a cuppa coffee in the morning, this will do the job. It is about 10mins from Victoria Station which is convenient to see London's main attractions and getting to and from the airports. Big fully equipped kitchen for those on a budget. Metal beds/lockers can be noisy. Great TV room for meeting people.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The location is awesome, 15 min walk from Victoria Station, 5 min walk from Pimlico. The rooms are clean and cozy, the toilets are clean, we had wifi signal everywhere, the staff is helpful and the environment is great. Is a bit expensive of compared to others, but I think it was worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo_Nacif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Second time in London and again I choose this hostel!
Offers everything a backpacker needs: basic and clean beds, lockers, clean bathrooms, hot showers, nice breakfast (bread, milk, tea, coffee, cereals, jelly, butter and peanut butter).
Great location (10 minute walk to Victoria Station or Plimico). All for a honest price.
And let's face it: you're in London, don't need more than that.

(-) Cons: You need to pay for wi-fi, is a third-party server (don't belong to the hostel, I think). And use the internet on computers also do not come cheap... :/

Room Tip: If you have a heavy backpack, choose the rooms on the first floors. The hostel has four floors and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natália R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Why I would not recommend this place is because it is not safe. One night we were asleep in our tiny 4 man dorm when 4 men swiped their key card and got into our room. I woke up while they were searching the room (looking to steal?) and left when I yelled at them. I reported it to the staff after they left, The staff said a group of people had cards to the rooms and we were lucky because other people had stuff stolen. We got new cards issued but we never felt safe after that. I know you are meant to lock up your valuable in backpackers but it should be safe when you are there, we never self safe after that. The area is ok, cute food markets close by, but would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Walrus Hostel
#39 of 929 in London
518 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#33 of 929 in London
1,237 reviews
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#44 of 929 in London
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 929 in London
628 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 929 in London
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Victoria Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Victoria Hostel

Address: 71 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $32 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Astor Victoria Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astor Victoria is the largest of our budget accommodations, split across two adjoining building. The atmosphere can be described as laid back and an ideal place to meet new friends. We have been operating here for close to 15 years, with the Victoria hosting the after party for Astor’s roaring 30th Anniversary at Pacha. This hostel is one of the best London Hotels near Victoria Station, and is a just a short walk to the River Thames, and many art galleries.Stay at the Astor Victoria and you will be sure to have a thrilling time! With two large kitchens in the basement, this young hostel has plenty of space to meet other like-minded travellers. You'll find Free Fast Wi-Fi, Reception is open 24-hours for late check-ins and we provide everything else including free safes, towels for hire and padlocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astor Victoria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Victoria Hotel London
Astors Hotel London
Astor Victoria Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing