We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and unclean, ok for one night tops”
Review of Hyde Park Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyde Park Hostel
Ranked #648 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We taught this hostel was going to be much worse because of all the other reviews.
There are not enough toilets and showers and also those are really old and not too clean. We stayed there only for one night and it was really cheap considering that the Olympic games were in London at that time. It was very noisy though. People were running around the whole building all night so we didn't get much sleep. We had a private room and it was small, but ok. I've seen that in shared rooms there are 3-floor bunk beds and it's really crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokicaMaribor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in July 2012 in Room 37. This room has 3 bunk beds and was very clean, matress bit thin by comfy all the same, reception gives you sheets & you make the bed & strip it again when you leave & put the sheets in the laundry cart in reception. A £10 deposit is to be paid when you get the key card which you then get back when checking out. No lockers in room but they're in reception for £2 each, towles were available for £5 so take your own! Overslept so didn't have chance to shower (check in from 12pm & check out at 10am). The toilets definatly need redecorating &, cleaning more regularly. The building is in a lovely street & if the outside were redecorated this would bring the bulding up with the rest of the street it looks very tatty, inside was basic but ok. Excellent location at bargain price. nearest tube stations are Bayswater & Queensway. I think some reveiwers on here have been really harsh about this place, i have stayed in far worse!! The staff were pleasant, just be sure to take photo ID as they want this when checking in (I'd never known this before but receptionist said its normal).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was the dirtiest, mouldiest, loudest hostel I have ever seen in my life. It was so bad. We were put in the room next to the front desk and front doors. ALL NIGHT drunk people were going and going and the doors slammed so loud it shook me in the bed. I had to go from the first floor to the fifth just to find a shower that worked... Windows were wide open but couldn't close, and you could see into the room across from you, no curtains=no privacy. THE WORST experience ever. I will never ever recommend this is anyone. I have never seen so much black death hold in a place. The building should be condemned. When we arrived we had to yell at the front desk just so we could check in as there was no employees to be found. They only accept cash, no credit. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE

Room Tip: Good tip... NEVER stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is by far the worst hostel I've ever stayed at.
The only good thing was the location.
The rooms were way over crowded. I mean, they had triple high bunk beds just so they could cram more people in. I've never seen that before. Really hard to get in and out of in the middle of the night, heck even during the day.
The staff was rude and unfriendly.
There was no WiFi or breakfast included.
You couldn't pay with a credit card.
The bathrooms were disgustingggg!!!
Never will I stay here again, and I would NOT recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The female dorm room 54 on the ground floor is just nasty. Dirty carpet that is never been vacuumed, wet walls with molds and crappy bunk beds with dirty mattresses. The rooms upstair might be better but still crappy. I will not stay there even if they pay me to stay!!! The receptionists were bad trained and money-oriented, bad manners and bad service. The location is fine, but you can find others hostels around in the area as well, do NOT bother to even look at this one!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the ground floor are meant for baggers! Smelly, sweaty and nasty...living on street wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

..the only Good thing is - location.
One and only good thing.
Windows - you can not open, the watter flushing instead of down - up..
I found myself standing in the pund of the floating toilet watter...? ! ?
Have to say more? It was cheap, allright.. But, c'mon, is it so difficult to keep the place safe and clean??? This was the worse hostel i've been into. The worse of the worsest.. And unfriendly stuff. Totally... Rotten.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

This hostel, in my opinion, is not worth going to even given the price. The staff is extremely nasty and prone to getting into arguments with patrons - I observed two such incidents while waiting to check in alone! It made me nervous to even APPROACH them with a concern. While a staff member checked me in, he was ranting to another employee in Urdu (he didn't realize that I understood it) about how he hates certain groups of people. I spent very little time in the hostel itself as there was such a negative vibe and ended my stay two days early - and my checkout was delayed because the staff member doing checkouts got into yet another fight with a customer.

Additionally, the bathrooms were not the greatest (no locks, no soap, no towels, constantly clogging toilets - and good luck getting a staff member to assist you if they're our of TP). Would NEVER stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSolomon311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#612 of 1,075 in London
554 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#382 of 1,075 in London
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Astor Queensway Hostel
#101 of 908 in London
243 reviews
Notting Hill
Talipot Apartments Hyde Park
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#37 of 908 in London
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hostel

Address: 2-6 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #648 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $239 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Park Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Hyde Park Hotel London
Hyde Park Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing