We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Proud”
Review of Proud Camden

Proud Camden
Ranked #16 of 1,284 Nightlife in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Proud Camden is located in the 200-year-old Grad II Listed Horse Hospital in the Stables Market, Camden. Adorned by images of rock royalty throughout, the venue has been systematically designed and painstakingly restored. It retains many of the beautiful and genuine features, including the original stables that once housed the horses that were injured pulling canal barges.Throughout the day Proud Camden is the ideal place to come and relax with your mates. Hot beverages and food are available, and each stable has HD flat screen TVs with Sky Sports and Movie channels. If that doesn't tickle your fancy, we also have a vast selection of DVDs and PS3 video games you can choose from or why not be a rockstar with Xbox Rock Band. Click here for PDF of 7 different stables!The venue is transformed into a live music venue and bar from 7.30pm, with each night hosting the best eclectic music in North London.Known for its commitment to programming the very best live music- Peter Doherty, Dizzee Rascal, The Kooks, Stereophonics, and Johnny Borrell all have played intimate sets. The bar has developed a cult following and become a celebrity hang-out, with regulars Amy Winehouse, Sadie Frost, Carl Barat, and The Arctic Monkeys.Recent performers at the venue have included: Dirty Pretty Things, Lethal Bizzle, The Enemy, Lykke Li, Vivian Girls, Kissy Sell Out, Black Lips, Manchester Orchestra and I Blame Coco with thanks to London' best industry club nights.Proud's new outdoor terraced café also means Proud guests can now escape indoor gig madness to relax and enjoy the sun with drinks and food served all day. Originally an abandoned and dilapidated market shop, the glass-walled space has been redecorated to do justice to the café's epic views of the notorious Camden streets.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time in Proud”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went on Wednesday Night on a little spontaneous adventure with my friend. There was a bit of a wait to get in butttt we did line up just before 11pm! really enjoyed it, decor was cool, packed out on the dance floor and good music & cheap drinks but i think that was because of like a student thing!.. will DEFINATELY go again and I have soooooo much love for them because I lost my passport there and they have saved it in lost property for me HAPPY DAYSSSS xxx

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    70
    34
    25
    59
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Proud is awesome!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My first time out in Camden and so glad it was at Proud! Drinks are quite cheap compared to other places I go out to, staff were friendly, crowd was vibrant and the venue was too cool! Couldn't have picked a better place to spend a Wednesday night!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank generaltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Aquila" At Proud, Great Ish Night”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

New Wednesday "night" at proud, £9 entry. I had a great time, pre-warnings tho the security are not polite, friendly or approachable, the staff are not customer focused and not really helpful, get there early to avoid a 40 min queue, make sure you bring id even if you look 70 years old, long waits at the bar, not a great selection of drinks but great music, great bass, good atmosphere, the night attracts a young group of people, great banter, great outdoor bar and smoking area, great decor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MONSTER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way overpriced, ridiculous security”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went on a Thursday night - place had more security than Heathrow. Only time I have ever been asked for photo ID to get in - I do not take my passport to go to a gig, I do not want my details recorded. Bottle of Becks costs £4.50, band was late on so we tried to pop over the road to find an affordable pint - but were told we would not be let back in again. £10 minimum for card payments at bar but card machine was barely working anyway. Highly unimpressed. Luckily the band was OK but the stage & lighting substandard, band's gear just propped up at the back of a plain stage. There are plenty of other music venues in Camden, all better and cheaper than this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGroup, Manager at Proud Camden, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi,

We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit to Proud. We do ask for photographic ID upon entry to the club as we are part of a new scheme in Camden called Facewatch. We use this system to ensure our customers safety in the venue, and as we are an 18+ venue this is in line with other venues in London.

Many thanks,
Proud Camden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
285 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overpacked but awesome decor!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This is an awesome venue with individual stables to sit in each with their own theme and some with their own poles! If you go by day you can get a seat but there is no vibe, go by night and you'll queue for ages and feel like you're in a meat market. Drinks hugely overpriced for tiny glasses of vodka & cranberry. Worth checking out but I wouldn't go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudGroup, Manager at Proud Camden, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us – we always like to hear feedback. Glad that you like our venue decor! We do apologise for the long queues and overcrowding you experienced on the night.

As you visited us in October 2012 we do feel we have made significant improvements since then, hopefully demonstrated by the more recent reviews below!

We would love for you to come back and see the differences we have made.

Many thanks,
Proud Camden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proud Camden also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Proud Camden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing