We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Liquid History Tours
Ranked #1 of 231 Food & Drink in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Liquid History Tours offer small group walking tours & private tours to London's finest pubs. Follow in the footsteps of Dickens & Shakespeare as we stumble down the "Street of Shame" and enjoy a drink in ancient alehouses, timeless taverns and opulent gin palaces whilst listening to the quirky tales along the way. A historic day out guaranteed!
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The best bike ride tour we did in Europe.
We did the Hampton Court Palace tour.
John was a fantastic guide. He is very knowledgable about the history in the area which makes the tour very unique with all the details and facts about centuries ago.
The bikes were awesome with their wicker baskets and british helmets.
The ride along the Thames was unforgettable. The little towns, the pub stop, the nature, the palace. Priceless.

(We are a family of 4: children age 10 and 12)

Thank Angiedepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindthegaptours, Owner at Liquid History Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Amazing that you rated this as the best cycle tour experienced in Europe, so many thanks for the kind words and for sharing the day with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bike ride"
in 89 reviews
"pub tour"
in 61 reviews
"london pub"
in 62 reviews
"guide john"
in 47 reviews
"historical pub"
in 30 reviews
"walking tour"
in 96 reviews
"visited pubs"
in 19 reviews
"street art"
in 79 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 62 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 39 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 43 reviews
"great tour"
in 75 reviews
"pub crawl"
in 22 reviews
"points of interest"
in 17 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 27 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 17 reviews
"small group"
in 27 reviews
Filter

1,476 - 1,480 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

England's green and pleasant lands were show cased on this beautiful trip. Ever the sceptic me, always looking for something different, was totally bowled over. With the perfect Summer weather that we (thankfully) had, this was the bicycle tour of English picture postcard stuff.

We met John, our easy going but very well organised tour guide at Taplow Railway station, and met the rest of the group who travelled out from London. We were a mixed group - Australians, Brazilians, Poms and South Africans. The 'Miss Marple' style bikes were waiting for us in a trailer at the railway station and the fun began as we all took charge of our new mode of transport. How liberating not to worry about gears - these bikes are modern versions of how bikes used to be, from zero gears to the wicker baskets.

The cycle tour took us along Thames river paths, through beautiful meadows, past ancient churches, and into Tudor villages. The scenery was stunning and John was a veritable fount of information. The morning stop over for tea at Dorney Court Gardens was a real pleasure, and the scones were fresh and fantastic. (My wicker basket was straining a bit after stocking up at the gift shop with gifts - not scones, although it was very tempting.) The stop at the Olympic Lake in the grounds of Eaton was also very interesting and rather inspiring.

The pace of the tour was just right - there was no big rush, but we moved at a decent pace. My 11 year old stayed up front the whole time with John which left me time to cycle and chat - this will give you and idea of the pace!

The bikes were locked up in Windsor and John took us on a walking tour of Eton which we thoroughly enjoyed. So much information- so much to look at - so little time! The tour finished at Windsor Castle where John left us and we were left to the tender mercies of the audio tour, which was actually very good, if not a little too detailed in places.

The hurly burly of the Castle and the hoardes of tourists (just like us) were a sharp contrast to the peaceful morning cycle, and whilst we enjoyed the Castle, the highlight of the day was in fact the peaceful and absolutely lovely morning cycle tour.

The only change that we would have liked would have been to cycle all the way back to Taplow to have a breather after all the noise and queues of the Castle Tour. Otherwise, weather permitting, this is a gem of a tour and ticks the boxes for those looking for something different and to be treated like a visitor and not just another tourist.

Thank you John, for a wonderful day and great memories.

It was just fantastic.

Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindthegaptours, Owner at Liquid History Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Epic review and what a glorious day! Scone lovers always welcome, and glad you savoured the informal small group atmosphere. Lovely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We must have chosen to do the EAT London tour on the hottest day of the year! I bought two vouchers as a Christmas present for my boyfriend and we finally got round to taking the tour in July. Our guide was John and it was brilliant! Most of the tour takes place in Brixton, which I think worked really welll. Brixton Market is much more 'undiscovered' in comparison to Borough so it's something quirky for visitors and it's also much less busy than Borough, which was very welcome on this extremely hot day! All of the food we tasted was shared between the two of us, which was good, as I was stuffed enough by the end! You get plenty of little treats along the way plus a nice insight into the local history and culture. The tour finishes at Borough where we had the best cheese toastie I've ever tasted and a glass of prosecco, which was very welcome!

1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindthegaptours, Owner at Liquid History Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Ah...the famous grilled cheese sandwich washed down with a sparkling prosecco mint fizz. A lovely finish to a lovely morning. Thanks for joining us on the gourmet adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a wonderful day! Although the state rooms at Windsor castle were closed on the day of our visit there were plenty of other very interesting things to see and do. John from mind the gap was very knowledgeable about the area and made useful suggestions of sights to see and activities to enjoy. We visited the castle and loved wandering around the grounds as well as seeing the dolls house art gallery and king George's chapel. We then strolled through the town and spent a wonderful hour by the river. Mind the gap organisation was superb; the bike ride was great and the amount of time spent exploring was spot on. We will definitely try the Hampton court bike tour. A fantastic idea and wonderful day out. Many thanks to John and Alex at mind the gap. Shirley and richard

Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindthegaptours, Owner at Liquid History Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Sounds like you had a comprehensive exploration of Windsor and a super day out. Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were booked onto the Drink London walking tour on 20th July a gift from our son for my husbands 50th Birthday present. We went along with my husbands brother and sister in law and were meet at London Bridge Train Station by our guide for the day Erin. A lovely pleasant lady who after introductions to break the ice lead us to our first pub. I had read reviews and did a little research prior to booking and was greatly encouraged, however Erin certainly brought it all to life. Not only did we learn historical facts about the pubs but also amazing snippets along the way, which I won't spoil for those of you yet to book. We all absolutely loved the opportunity to share this experience with the many people in our group from around the world. We had many a toast to my husbands 50th Birthday and ended the day with a private gathering in the last pub - Princess Louise. Many thanks to Erin and all the lovely ladies and gentlemen in the group for a very memorable day. We will most certainly be recommending this tour to our family & friends. Try & enjoy.

1  Thank debs288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindthegaptours, Owner at Liquid History Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thanks for sharing your 50th birthday celebrations with us, and enjoying the history coming alive whilst sharing a few drinks along the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liquid History Tours also viewed

 

Been to Liquid History Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing