We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franx Continental Cafe

Franx Continental Cafe
Ranked #2,942 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just come back from a 5 night stay in London's Covent Garden and used Franx on three days out of the 5 to have breakfast and it was great. The place is clean the staff excellent and the menu is wide. My husband had the full English which came with two rounds of toast and tea or coffee and I had something a little lighter for example a croissant with cheese and ham or bagels with salmon and cheese. The coffee is lovely the place is really busy so everything is fresh and it is used by loads of locals. If you are staying in one of the nearby hotels that don't offer breakfast or if you want a lovely sandwich/roll/salad or pastry this place is great. Glad we found this lovely deli.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maradardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    32
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Almost Perfection, no, actually it was perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Monday Nov.,12th. Hungry for food we stopped at this attractive cafe
& hoped for the best. In choosing the no 2 b'fast we chose well. Cooked to perfection with a little special addition, oregano on the grilled toms. Service was totally unexpected! We were kept informed of the progress of b'fast being cooked. Staff very attentive, making sure we had exactly what we wanted, even though they were obviously very busy. Various customers from offices popping in to collect snacks and drinks as well as persons from other occupations, plus the obvious tourists, like us. On the edge of Shaftesbury Ave, this establishment is ideal for almost anyone. Keen fans of value for money 'Spoons' b'fasts, we now though would have no hesitation in seeking out Franx cafe instead.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 151Mike151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
804 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Excellent value and quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

£5.95 for a full breakfast and tea in the centre of London - can't be bad!!
Good quality food, efficient, friendly, very friendly service. we used to go to Wethrspoons for their breakfast on our regular jaunts to the Big City - not any more though!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PARIS522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardglass, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, Good service and good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Only had breakfast in Franx for 3 consecutive days in early September. Plentiful, well cooked, clean and good service. It is used by the locals quite a bit. There is a wide selection on the menus and very reasonably priced. Staff are efficient and busy. Would recommend and will use again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
118 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great value, good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

My husband introduced me to Franx as he had been coming here for years since living in London and loved it. I love it here too now - it offers excellent value, good tasty food. Breakfasts, omelettes, sandwiches, jacket potatoes and more. Clean, friendly service, a good variety and huge portions. Recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kentcouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franx Continental Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Franx Continental Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing