We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job perfectly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Ranked #502 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Did the job perfectly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for a one night stay whilst we visited London for a concert at the Royal Albert Hall, and with the concert being on a Friday night, I wasn't having much luck with low prices. I paid £65 for the 'small room', knowing full well after looking at various photos and reading reviews, that it was probably going to be a bed in a matchbox. But with us only staying for one night, it didn't really seem to matter, and cleanliness is something that concerns me more than size.
The hotel itself is small, with only around 30 rooms in the whole building. You can imagine that spending more than two nights there would begin to feel a bit 'cabin fever'-ish, but for one or two nights, it's perfect. The staff on reception were pleasant and there were always others scurrying around cleaning the hallways and stairs; the hotel generally was clean!
We were pleasantly surprised to find that actually the room was bigger than expected! Yes it was small, but there was enough room to move around the bed, space for a long desk, mirror and buffet, complete with kettle/tea/coffee and a hairdyrer, a small but functional cupboard space (that also had a safe, but at an additional extra), a TV and a bathroom with a heated towel rack full of clean towels. Handwash and a shampoo/shower gel was also attached to the wall, however we'd taken our own anyway so it didn't seem to matter. There was also user controlled air conditioning/heating too, but we didn't use it as the temperature in the room was warm enough for the chilly evening and we had no problems!
The room was clean, as was the bedding and the towels, which was fab. The price we paid also included breakfast, which was surprising and we weren't expecting much at all to be honest. The breakfast room was in the basement, and although small, we managed to get a table. The breakfast was actually sufficient enough and to say it was included in the price, it was good enough for us! It included: orange juice, a coffee machine that made lots of different types of coffee, tea, white and brown toast, croissants, bananas, apples, a variety of branded cereals and a selection of jams and cheeses.
The only downside that I could say about the stay was that we could have done with two pillows each instead of just the one. But otherwise, couldn't fault it for a short stay considering what we paid!

Pros:
-'Small' room isn't as small as expected;
-Clean;
-Includes: TV, tea/coffee, towels, hairdryer, soap, mirror, cupboard with hangers;
-Included breakfast is a great little plus;
-Staff are pleasant;
-Stones throw from Hyde Park, 5 minutes walk from Queensway tube station and all the shops/restaurants on Queensway, 15 minutes walk to Bayswater tube station.

Cons:
-Pillows are thin, could do with two tbh;
-Probably not a great hotel space-wise if spending more than two nights there, and probably not as suitable for families with young children;
-Sometimes the lift creaking can be a bit noisy, but it's not that bad really;
-No amazing views, but not really a problem for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaffdeBaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed E, Owner at Comfort Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear KaffdeBaff

Thank you for your most favourable and honest review.

This is very useful and important feedback and I think many of our future guests will find this a very accurate report. Where the hotel has its limitations, we try to fully compensate this with all the benefits that you have described.

With Kind Regards

Sayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    271
    132
    39
    23
See reviews for
103
277
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room was the smallest we'd ever stayed in. Bathroom was okay except for the sink was the smallest sink I'd ever seen. We were in the level below the street and could hear and feel every subway going by, which wasn't that big of a deal as we were only going to be sleeping there anyway and the trains served as a wake up call every morning! The continental breakfast was sorely lacking. We stayed 4 nights only because the price was right compared to what else we could find, and now we know why. There are plenty of dining options within a five or ten minute walk of the hotel, the Hop On Hop Off bus stops are very convenient along Bayswater and plenty of taxis available. Paddington Station was only 10 minutes away.

The fire alarm went was set off by a "steamy shower" at midnight the last night there (which wouldn't have been so bad if we hadn't been getting up at 5:00 for our flight home), and the hotel had to be evacuated.

I can only recommend this hotel if you are looking for something a step above from a hostel and definitely do not get a room below street level!

Room Tip: Don't accept a room below street level because of the subway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elc2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Well, in answer to my own questions, this hotel is simply downright cramped and too small.

Having stayed in Comfort Inns across the UK and the US, I must summise there was nothing comfortable about my stay at this hotel. I think particularly guests from the US and Canada need to think very carefully before booking this hotel, as the standards they are accustomed to in North America are far superior to what is on offer in this Comfort Inn.

I can only describe my supposed double room as tiny. Thankfully I was travelling alone, for if I had been accompanied, it would have been a claustrophobic and uncomfortable experience as the room and en-suite are simply too small. Although the room is adequately furnished, as other reviewers have noted, there is very limited space to hang clothes and no chest of drawers space (I ended up just hanging my suit and leaving other items in my case).

Although the bed, pillows and duvet afforded me a good night's sleep, it was the smallest 'double' bed I have ever experienced. Again, acceptable for one person, but two guests sharing would have been very cosy indeed!

The en- suite was unbelievable! Slightly longer, but of similar proportions to an aircraft lavatory! Joking aside, people of a larger build may struggle to utilise the lavatory, sink and shower facilities. All ablutions need careful planning, as there is no where to move, place towels, soap bag etc etc.

I must say that as far as the room sizes are concerned, I have stayed in better Premier Inns for the same price.

I know I only booked a hotel with a continental breakfast, however, the breakfast was hugely disappointing and other UK Comfort Inns offer better. Basically the breakfast was unhealthy, carbohydrate based junk. White bread, full cream milk, cereals etc. It wouldn't take a great deal of thought to add some protein and healthier options like hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, skimmed milk, honey, whole meal bread etc. and indeed other Comfort Inns manage this well.

Net Promoter question: Would I recommend this hotel to family or friends? Never!

Please do your research before committing to booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimC108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed E, Owner at Comfort Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Tim C,

Thankyou for your valuable feedback regarding the Comfort Inn Hyde Park.
Unfortunately due to history of this building and the architectural design in Bayswater space with a lot of London Hotels is restricted. Our aim was to utilize as much space as possible with a high standard of furnishing and finishes. This is the limitation of London and why space is so expensive.

We appreciate your comments regarding breakfast and are pleased to inform you that we have taken the decision to add Wholebread, Yoghurts and Skimmed Milk to the Breakfast Selection.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The room was exceptionally small even by European standards. The bathroom was the size of an airplane lavatory with the addition of a small shower. The sink was so small and close to the wall you could hardly wash your face or brush your teeth. The hair dryer was hard wired into the wall at the desk in the room with NO mirror. The breakfast was horrible. We will not return.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the many other hotels in the same area. Rooms here were too small to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Some will say that this hotel is not great, and it isn't. Hence my overall rating of 3. But please keep reading! We stayed one night in this hotel with the intention of not burning our pockets, and this was perfect. The price was comparable with the travelodges of the capital city and had a few minor perks on top!

As mentioned in the title, this hotel is located 2 minutes away from the metro station Queensway, on the northern edge of Hyde park. It has within 5 minutes restaurants, fast foods, small grocery stores, newspaper stores, currency exchange shops,... and a huge park!

With respect to the hotel itself, it was clean, and although it was advertised as being a small room, we managed to stay in it as a couple with two big pieces of luggage without any problems. The room was nicely decorated, if not on the plainer side, and the bathroom had a modern style. Actually, the only thing that we would complain about is the sink which was very small. The hotel is on a fairly quiet street, so there was little road noise.

Included in the price, which is rare for these type of hotels, was a self-service breakfast. Fairly plain, but had everything people would need (fruits, bread, jams/honey, cereals, milk, tea, coffee). And finally, the staff was friendly all the time we were there. I would definitely return there if they keep their prices as low as this!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeremy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

just spent 3 nights at this hotel with my husband and our 6 year old grand-daughter who the trip was for, as it was her first time visiting London.
Everything was very basic and i expected a little more for the cost.... the room was very small + cramped for the 3 of us. Small unit for hanging clothes but no drawer space at all and had to leave our clothes in the suitcase!! the room was in need of a good lick of paint! the continental breakfast was ok but not a lot of choice (same things each day) only white bread and full milk! the milk for the cereals and the orange juice were room temprature (warm) and not cold.
On the plus side all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a great location with bus and underground stations very close by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this small hotel which is a classic example of what can be done with a small space within a typical old European building. They have cleverly utilized each space to the max. Everything is pretty modern, very clean and needless to say, Hyde Park!!!! Location is magnificent steps away from the Park. Queensway just a block away, with a variety of restaurants. It is a fabulous option for a budget hotel; air conditioning (which isn't available at many hotels) clean; decent price and location, location, location. Basic breakfast, but more than enough. I would gladly return.

Room Tip: The small rooms are really small. We just had a weekend bag but if you have any more luggage you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DKnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Troy Hotel
#593 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#521 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#280 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#498 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Hyde Park

Property: Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Address: 73 Queensborough Terrace, London W2 3SU, England (Formerly Park Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #502 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Hyde Park is newly renovated in March 2011. This hotel offers an excellent tourist location base to explore London. The Comfort Hotel Hyde Park is located just stones away from the famous Hyde Park and it's museums with only a minute to the park. Walking distance of 10 minutes to Marble Arch, Oxford Street and a short 10 minute commute to Westfield's Shopping Centre. The hotel location is perfect for sightseeing, shopping, dining, business and entertainment which is the heart of London. Walking distance to connect on to the Central Circle District, Hammersmith and city and the Bakerloo Lines. Free Continental breakfast available seven days a week. The reception office is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hyde Park Hotel London
Park Hotel London
Comfort Inn Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing