We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very characterful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queen's Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
Ranked #337 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very characterful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is close to the Albert Hall and about 12 minutes walk from Gloucester Road station. Although it is on a wide road this is not busy at night (and not much so during the day) so that even with a first floor room we had no disturbance from traffic noise. It is very obviously part of a Spanish hotel chain - most of the staff and even of the guests are Spanish which lends a very particular character to the place. Breakfast consists of a buffet dominated by fruit and cake (as well as hot dishes including Spanish omelette) and the décor is delightfully un-English. The staff were all attentive, helpful and polite and the room was clean and well furnished. All is all this was a very pleasant stay, worth the price (rather high but perhaps by London standards).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbaQueensGate, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear „Williambyrd “,


First and foremost, thank you very much for spending your time to comment on your recent stay.


We are very glad to read, that you remark our hotel, the food offer and the perfect location
around. As you well point out, Abba Queens Gate Hotel London is part of a Spanish chain of hotels, which certainly enrich us with a special character as well as a vast experience in tourism management and customer service.


We would like to thank you as well for your kind words to our staff. On a daily base our team do their utmost, to ensure that you enjoy your stay at the hotel, and it is highly rewarding to read we reached your expectations.


We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in London and hoping we can prove our high standard of hospitality next time.


Yours sincerely
Duty Manager


Abba Queens Gate Hotel London ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    434
    150
    36
    20
See reviews for
251
308
27
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Quaint location in Chelsea with just a 10 minute walk to the tube. Extremely clean, and attention to details paid on time! Staff is friendly and extremely eager to please. Accommodations were very comfortable and pleasant. We liked being nestled in a neighborhood rather than amidst the hustle and bustle of the city life, which may not be for everyone. But if you're looking for an affordable hotel that is as close as it gets to 5*, this would be it.

Room Tip: \our room did not face the street, which may have helped with such a restful sleep, but street does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbaQueensGate, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear „ SnapMom “,


Thank you very much for your invested time and your kind feedback.


It is a pleasure to read you remarked our perfect location at the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. After our recent refurbishment we have aimed to keep in our hotel the Victorian splendour of the a 19th century townhouse so that our guest may enjoy being part of such a great and quiet Londoner neighbourhood.


We were delighted to read that most certainly this has been a great asset in your recent visit to London.


It is very pleasant you also noticed our high standard of cleanness and attentions to details. Our highest aim is to make our guest feel comfortable and home, as in a five star hotel and it is very pleasant to see we did raise this level of service in your recent stay.


All in all we really appreciate this detailed and positive feedback that you decided to share with the online community.


We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Yours sincerely
Duty Manager


Abba Queens Gate Hotel London ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I honestly do not understand the reviews written about this hotel! they leave me very suspicious to say the least!!! we booked into this hotel as it was just around the corner from the royal albert hall upon arrival we were greeted (and i use the term very loosely) poorly. Receptionist didnt smile, didnt welcome us to the hotel etc,. I gave her my name and she then asked for a credit card in order to 'preauthorise' our booking.. at which point i explained that i would actually be paying in cash, so no need for my credit card, to which she replied ' we still need to authorise your payment via credit card', i once again stated that there is no need to authorise payment on my card IF i am paying IN FULL, IN CASH NOW' at this point she simply rolled her eyes and called over to another receptionist, both of whom were foreign and tricky to understand AND make them understand us'.. i explained for the third time that there is no need to use my credit card for authorisation if im paying in cash, at which point she just turned to the other receptionist and said something along the lines of 'just do it' with a rude attitude.. we were then given our room card, no information on how to use it once we had got to our room.. ive never used a room card which you have to hover over the door handle to get in.. but once inside our room,, it was freezing,, the window frames were rotten, i have photos. there was a huge gaping hole along the frame where it had simply rotted away, and the windows did not close properly because the frames were so badly damaged.. but we went to the royal albert hall, and came back at exactly 10:58, and asked if we could have some room service, we were rudely told 'no, its 11pm'.. we replied that it was actually 10:58, and again the same rude receptionist just said 'NO', so i enquired if the bar was still cooking, as it was open until 11:30, and she replied 'NO, you can ask them if they have something cold'.. just unbelievably rude to paying customers in a 4 star london hotel! the barstaff actually said it was no problem to cook us 2 veggie burgers.. but after waiting 40 minutes, and £16 later, they arrived to our room, ice cold in the middle AND uncooked, and after eating my way through nearly half of it i chewed down on a hard lump of blue plastic.. i have photos again! i just could not be bothered to contact reception to complain, after our previous 2 dealings with them, so we just got our heads down,, but were kept awake most of the night by the sounds of the traffic outside, which normally would not be a problem, but due to the rotten windows we may as well have been sleeping in the street! the staff are absolutely vile.. honestly please take my word for it.. i have no problem with foreign staff,, but when they are THIS rude, its an outrage in london, where prices are so high, that we are treated so poorly.. please just avoid this hole altogether!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyblueeyes5392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbaQueensGate, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Babyblueeyes5392,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to review and comment on our hotel. We always aim to improve our service and take reviews like yours very seriously. I apologize that your experience here was less than satisfactory.

It is a pity you never mentioned any of your concerns regarding the room at reception during your stay. As long as there is availability, our receptionists always try to offer an alternative accommodation to our clients and there is always a possibility to change the room originally assigned, should it not be to client’s standards.

I am very disappointed that you found our Front Desk staff to be unpleasant and rude. The majority of our clients leave a very positive feedback in regards to our employees on various websites, praising their attentiveness and overall customer service. I am sorry that they did not meet your expectations but I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. It is a hotel policy to ask for a valid credit card to guarantee the stay, however in cases like yours guests can pay cash upon arrival. I have investigated and ensured that new trainings are put in place to prevent a situation like this from happening again. Customer service from our front office department is usually at a high standard and now with the new training and procedures it can only improve.

Please be assured that all your feedback regarding our bar and food services has been passed to the chef and the restaurant manager for investigation and improvement. I admit the food should have reached your room hot and of great quality. Had we known about this incident on time, we could have recommended a suitable option.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. If you decide to visit London again, I will personally assure a better experience at Abba Queen's Gate Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anna Stefaniak
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel itself is quite nice - recently renovated and modern. Location wise, it is about a 10-12 minute walk to the tube - which was a little too far for convenience sake in the cold winter with snow (plenty of other quaint hotels with closer access). There are no close by shops or restaurants either - so you need to walk back to Gloucester Rd for any amenities. The wifi charge for one week was GBP30 (I was only there 4 nights - but it was cheaper to buy the week package)... in this day and age, I still cannot comprehend why hotels insist on charging for wifi, and was kicking myself that I did not check in advance. Service was friendly, room comfortable, breakfast (GB12) was a good selection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bensonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a map we had, the nearest underground looked to be South Kensington but in fact it is Gloucester Road. It's right up the side of the Natural History Museum but quite a way up on the left. I had 2 children with me and it was a bit far for them to the tube, especially when they've been out all day. There are no shops or restaurants near the hotel so this was disappointing.

Room was large, laminated floor, small entrance area which could do with some coat hooks - sadly lacking. Tv, tea/coffee facilities (no hot choc for kids, and after room had been cleaned there were not enough supplies to make more hot drinks). The room lacked sockets near the beds and the floor was very slippy if wearing socks so beware!
The bathroom had seen better days and lacked anywhere to put toiletries although they did supply various items eg., shower caps, toothbrush sets, shoe shine etc. we didn't have enough towels so had to ring for some and they were brought quickly to our room.
Check in and out was efficient and courteous. We didn't have breakfast as it was £15 each.
We paid £360 for 2 nights which is expensive but this is London. Think I will look elsewhere next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was a vey enjoyable experience. I stayed at the Abba Queen's Gate with my girlfriend in early January, for three nights. I got pleasantly surprised by the warm and cosy modern interior of the hotel (room and lobby). Rooms are spacious, clean, very good equipment and amenities. Staff is helpful and friendly. The value/ price correlation is extremely competitive, especially for London.

A very special mention to the location of the hotel, at Queen's Gate Gardens (Kensington) and 5 min walk from Gloucester Road tube station and the Natural History Museum. You can also get bus 9 or 10 to Knightsbridge and Oxford Rd (cheaper and nicer).

Overall, the best hotel I've been in London. 4 stars +.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duhku4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#238 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#427 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#419 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#181 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Property: The Queen's Gate Hotel
Address: 31-34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#242 Luxury Hotel in London
#245 Business Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
#322 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house hotel has a privileged upscale location in Kensington. Just 300 meters from The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens and the Natural History Museum. The Science Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum are 5 minutes away. Imperial College is directly across the street. Both the Royal College of Music and the Royal College of Art are just 300 meters. The Tube stations "South Kensington"and "Gloucester Road" are 800 meters away with fantastic direct connections to Heathrow Airport, Eurostar, Theatreland, the West End, the City and Victoria Station for Gatwick Airport and Olympia Exhibition Centre. The stylish and spacious bedrooms (90) have a chic boutique feel, are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom and shower. Features include fast and free WiFi, large windows, a mini-bar, large LCD TV and wooden floors. Facilities include the Q bar with an outdoor terrace, restaurant, room service, 2 meeting rooms for 25 persons each, an internet corner and a small fitness centre. Harrods, Harvey Nichols and the designer boutiques in Knightsbridge and Sloane Street are just a 10 minutes walk. A large variety of bars and restaurants, ATMs, grocery stores and pharmacies are in the neighbourhood. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing