We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very convenient for regular London visitor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queen's Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
Ranked #323 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very convenient for regular London visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

ABBA Queen's Gate is THE place to stay for short visits to London especially if not a tourist or at least when you are way too familiar with most of London and what the city has to offer.

This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful and cleanest of areas in London and is very quiet. The Queen's Gate street is sure one of the quiet streets in London and also in a safe neighborhood, in a stone throw distant from both the Natural History museum and Science museum but also Victoria and Albert and also very close to Royal Albert Hall. the shopping high street of Kensington as well as in about 25 minutes walk through either the Hyde Park or the Kensington Garden street (if open to public) you ll be in Bayswater which is an excellent place for those who love to experience food from all corners of the world especially Persian or Lebanese etc.

The hotel is very clean, staff friendly enough and the night receptionist more than helpful. Even in my case when I had made a mistake and booked one night, they politely contacted me to check where I was and when they couldn't reach me, they kept my stuff in the room until I was back in the hotel to re-book the same hotel room for me and I could book it using the same promotion as for previous night.

The bar is very neat, the hostess there, a lovely Spanish (Multilingual) woman is more than happy to help you with your drinks, very good tea if you ask me, and the room is quiet, large enough for 2 tall people and all with all, I just strongly recommend this hotel.

the bed was King size, but really king size, 2 meters long and almost 2 meter wide!

I sure will go back to ABBA Queen's Gate hotel, sad they don't have loyalty programs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahbanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    410
    137
    34
    21
See reviews for
236
286
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I shall keep this short and sweet. This Hotel is fantastic, Very Clean, Modern fixtures, Friendly Staff. The buffet breakfast was a treat each morning. A good mixture of both english and continental foods, numerous drink choices. The hotel is in a good location only 5 mins walk from Gloucester road tube station, And only 5mins walk from Natural History museum . I shall certianly return to the Abba queens Gate, infact I very much look forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpsengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this superb hotel. Our room was a triple room and although it was in the basement it was spacious enough for 3 persons and it had all we needed including 2 LCD TVs, an Iron board, a mini bar and a kettle for tea and coffee. The staff were very nice and helpful whenever we needed to ask anything. The only things that we found a bit on the expensive side were the internet and breakfast. They BF cost Stg15 whilst the internet for 24hrs costs Stg10. Other than that all was excellent and I highly recommend this hotel without any hesitation. I myself plan to stay here again on my next trip to London. The area is simply superb with everything you need to make your holiday a truly excellent one.
I must mention this small episode before I conclude. When I arrived back in Malta I noticed that I forgot a pair of Hilfiger trousers in the wardrobe, I called the hotel to ask if they found anything, the receptionist by the name of Patrick really went out of his way to check for me and called me back an hour later to tell me that they found the trousers and that they will be sending them back by post. This is what I call truly excellent customer service, these are the small things that make us customers happy. Patrick I do not know who you are personally but I wish to thank you in this review for checking and calling back.

Room Tip: Although the triple room was in the basement, it was still excellent and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank u2fanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

just returned home from a girls trip to London, eight of us stayed at the Hotel Abba. Fantastic location to get to The Albert Hall (high heel walking distance) and the Natural History Museum just at the end of the road. Tube station very short walk away and lovely French cafe near by for fresh baked pastries.
Hotel reception staff friendly and helpful. Rooms have comfy beds and nice bed linen, iron and ironing board, good amount of wardrobe space, nice hot showers, hair dryers, tea, coffee and mini bar. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Some rooms had views onto the road at front of hotel- very little traffic noise and others over back of hotel. Breakfast £15.00 per person buffet style which we didn't try because felt to be to expensive as with 4 teenage girls who don't get their appetites up til later in the morning and party out before 10 am.
The hotel Bar disappointing as closed when returned to hotel on both Fri and Sat night (back before 12) so recommend own wine to be taken!
All in all a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms (201,301,401) between 2 lifts. Whilst we stayed in one of these rooms and not disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Abba, Queen's Gate is run very efficiently by a Spanish chain. It's in an elegant part of Kensington fairly near the Albert Hall and the major museums. The hotel is part of what must have been a rather grand house. It has been skilfully converted to provide comfortable rooms and public areas. The restaurant is tastefully furnished in black and white (as is the rest of the hotel) and is rather small. The breakfast room on the lower ground floor is windowless but cheerfully decorated in grey and red and we found it rather pleasant. The breakfast itself was very acceptable.

Our room was on the fifth floor and was quiet, a little cramped but well equipped. However it did have a rotten window frame and the bath plug didn't work.

A further downside is that wifi has to be paid for separately.

The staff were all attentive, pleasant and helpful. Not surprisingly a number of Spanish people use this hotel.

The hotel is situated a fair walk from both Underground stations and bus stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#371 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#239 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#339 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#386 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#218 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Property: The Queen's Gate Hotel
Address: 31-34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Luxury Hotel in London
#245 Business Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
#322 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house is about 500 metres from Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park. It features a small gym, spacious bedrooms, and a bar with patio for snacks and tapas. Stylish bedrooms at the refurbished Abba Queens Gate have air conditioning, large windows, and a mini-bar. Each has a chic design, with a wooden floor and LCD TV. Set on a pleasant London street, Abba Queens Gate London Hotel is about 8 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road Tube Station. The Natural History Museum is about 350 metres away, and the V&A Museum is an extra few minutes' walk down Cromwell Road. Harrods department store and the designer shops at Knightsbridge are 15 - 20 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing