We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient for regular London visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
Ranked #378 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

ABBA Queen's Gate is THE place to stay for short visits to London especially if not a tourist or at least when you are way too familiar with most of London and what the city has to offer.

This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful and cleanest of areas in London and is very quiet. The Queen's Gate street is sure one of the quiet streets in London and also in a safe neighborhood, in a stone throw distant from both the Natural History museum and Science museum but also Victoria and Albert and also very close to Royal Albert Hall. the shopping high street of Kensington as well as in about 25 minutes walk through either the Hyde Park or the Kensington Garden street (if open to public) you ll be in Bayswater which is an excellent place for those who love to experience food from all corners of the world especially Persian or Lebanese etc.

The hotel is very clean, staff friendly enough and the night receptionist more than helpful. Even in my case when I had made a mistake and booked one night, they politely contacted me to check where I was and when they couldn't reach me, they kept my stuff in the room until I was back in the hotel to re-book the same hotel room for me and I could book it using the same promotion as for previous night.

The bar is very neat, the hostess there, a lovely Spanish (Multilingual) woman is more than happy to help you with your drinks, very good tea if you ask me, and the room is quiet, large enough for 2 tall people and all with all, I just strongly recommend this hotel.

the bed was King size, but really king size, 2 meters long and almost 2 meter wide!

I sure will go back to ABBA Queen's Gate hotel, sad they don't have loyalty programs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahbanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank skintonic
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I shall keep this short and sweet. This Hotel is fantastic, Very Clean, Modern fixtures, Friendly Staff. The buffet breakfast was a treat each morning. A good mixture of both english and continental foods, numerous drink choices. The hotel is in a good location only 5 mins walk from Gloucester road tube station, And only 5mins walk from Natural History museum . I shall certianly return to the Abba queens Gate, infact I very much look forward to it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpsengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this superb hotel. Our room was a triple room and although it was in the basement it was spacious enough for 3 persons and it had all we needed including 2 LCD TVs, an Iron board, a mini bar and a kettle for tea and coffee. The staff were very nice and helpful whenever we needed to ask anything. The only things that we found a bit on the expensive side were the internet and breakfast. They BF cost Stg15 whilst the internet for 24hrs costs Stg10. Other than that all was excellent and I highly recommend this hotel without any hesitation. I myself plan to stay here again on my next trip to London. The area is simply superb with everything you need to make your holiday a truly excellent one.
I must mention this small episode before I conclude. When I arrived back in Malta I noticed that I forgot a pair of Hilfiger trousers in the wardrobe, I called the hotel to ask if they found anything, the receptionist by the name of Patrick really went out of his way to check for me and called me back an hour later to tell me that they found the trousers and that they will be sending them back by post. This is what I call truly excellent customer service, these are the small things that make us customers happy. Patrick I do not know who you are personally but I wish to thank you in this review for checking and calling back.

Room Tip: Although the triple room was in the basement, it was still excellent and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank u2fanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

just returned home from a girls trip to London, eight of us stayed at the Hotel Abba. Fantastic location to get to The Albert Hall (high heel walking distance) and the Natural History Museum just at the end of the road. Tube station very short walk away and lovely French cafe near by for fresh baked pastries.
Hotel reception staff friendly and helpful. Rooms have comfy beds and nice bed linen, iron and ironing board, good amount of wardrobe space, nice hot showers, hair dryers, tea, coffee and mini bar. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Some rooms had views onto the road at front of hotel- very little traffic noise and others over back of hotel. Breakfast £15.00 per person buffet style which we didn't try because felt to be to expensive as with 4 teenage girls who don't get their appetites up til later in the morning and party out before 10 am.
The hotel Bar disappointing as closed when returned to hotel on both Fri and Sat night (back before 12) so recommend own wine to be taken!
All in all a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms (201,301,401) between 2 lifts. Whilst we stayed in one of these rooms and not disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Abba, Queen's Gate is run very efficiently by a Spanish chain. It's in an elegant part of Kensington fairly near the Albert Hall and the major museums. The hotel is part of what must have been a rather grand house. It has been skilfully converted to provide comfortable rooms and public areas. The restaurant is tastefully furnished in black and white (as is the rest of the hotel) and is rather small. The breakfast room on the lower ground floor is windowless but cheerfully decorated in grey and red and we found it rather pleasant. The breakfast itself was very acceptable.

Our room was on the fifth floor and was quiet, a little cramped but well equipped. However it did have a rotten window frame and the bath plug didn't work.

A further downside is that wifi has to be paid for separately.

The staff were all attentive, pleasant and helpful. Not surprisingly a number of Spanish people use this hotel.

The hotel is situated a fair walk from both Underground stations and bus stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#143 of 1,077 in London
896 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#516 of 1,077 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#471 of 1,077 in London
598 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#375 of 1,077 in London
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Address: 31-34 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#245 Business Hotel in London
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
#307 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $137 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house hotel has a privileged upscale location in Kensington. Just 300 meters from The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens and the Natural History Museum. The Science Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum are 5 minutes away. Imperial College is directly across the street. Both the Royal College of Music and the Royal College of Art are just 300 meters. The Tube stations "South Kensington"and "Gloucester Road" are 800 meters away with fantastic direct connections to Heathrow Airport, Eurostar, Theatreland, the West End, the City and Victoria Station for Gatwick Airport. Olympia Exhibition and Conference Centre is just 18 m inutes by direct bus. Harrods, Harvey Nichols and the designer boutiques in Knightsbridge and Sloane Street are just a 10 minutes walk. The stylish and spacious bedrooms (90) have a chic boutique feel, are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom and shower. Features include fast and free WiFi, large windows, a mini-bar, large LCD TV and wooden floors. Facilities include the Q bar with an outdoor terrace, restaurant, room service, 2 meeting rooms for 25 persons each, an internet corner and a small fitness centre. A large variety of bars and restaurants, ATMs, grocery stores and pharmacies are in the neighbourhood. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing