We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
Ranked #372 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I shall keep this short and sweet. This Hotel is fantastic, Very Clean, Modern fixtures, Friendly Staff. The buffet breakfast was a treat each morning. A good mixture of both english and continental foods, numerous drink choices. The hotel is in a good location only 5 mins walk from Gloucester road tube station, And only 5mins walk from Natural History museum . I shall certianly return to the Abba queens Gate, infact I very much look forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpsengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    466
    162
    41
    25
See reviews for
271
332
34
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this superb hotel. Our room was a triple room and although it was in the basement it was spacious enough for 3 persons and it had all we needed including 2 LCD TVs, an Iron board, a mini bar and a kettle for tea and coffee. The staff were very nice and helpful whenever we needed to ask anything. The only things that we found a bit on the expensive side were the internet and breakfast. They BF cost Stg15 whilst the internet for 24hrs costs Stg10. Other than that all was excellent and I highly recommend this hotel without any hesitation. I myself plan to stay here again on my next trip to London. The area is simply superb with everything you need to make your holiday a truly excellent one.
I must mention this small episode before I conclude. When I arrived back in Malta I noticed that I forgot a pair of Hilfiger trousers in the wardrobe, I called the hotel to ask if they found anything, the receptionist by the name of Patrick really went out of his way to check for me and called me back an hour later to tell me that they found the trousers and that they will be sending them back by post. This is what I call truly excellent customer service, these are the small things that make us customers happy. Patrick I do not know who you are personally but I wish to thank you in this review for checking and calling back.

Room Tip: Although the triple room was in the basement, it was still excellent and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank u2fanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

just returned home from a girls trip to London, eight of us stayed at the Hotel Abba. Fantastic location to get to The Albert Hall (high heel walking distance) and the Natural History Museum just at the end of the road. Tube station very short walk away and lovely French cafe near by for fresh baked pastries.
Hotel reception staff friendly and helpful. Rooms have comfy beds and nice bed linen, iron and ironing board, good amount of wardrobe space, nice hot showers, hair dryers, tea, coffee and mini bar. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Some rooms had views onto the road at front of hotel- very little traffic noise and others over back of hotel. Breakfast £15.00 per person buffet style which we didn't try because felt to be to expensive as with 4 teenage girls who don't get their appetites up til later in the morning and party out before 10 am.
The hotel Bar disappointing as closed when returned to hotel on both Fri and Sat night (back before 12) so recommend own wine to be taken!
All in all a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms (201,301,401) between 2 lifts. Whilst we stayed in one of these rooms and not disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Abba, Queen's Gate is run very efficiently by a Spanish chain. It's in an elegant part of Kensington fairly near the Albert Hall and the major museums. The hotel is part of what must have been a rather grand house. It has been skilfully converted to provide comfortable rooms and public areas. The restaurant is tastefully furnished in black and white (as is the rest of the hotel) and is rather small. The breakfast room on the lower ground floor is windowless but cheerfully decorated in grey and red and we found it rather pleasant. The breakfast itself was very acceptable.

Our room was on the fifth floor and was quiet, a little cramped but well equipped. However it did have a rotten window frame and the bath plug didn't work.

A further downside is that wifi has to be paid for separately.

The staff were all attentive, pleasant and helpful. Not surprisingly a number of Spanish people use this hotel.

The hotel is situated a fair walk from both Underground stations and bus stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I noticed that lots of previous reviewers of this hotel stayed in a triple room - maybe that's because it's one of the few hotels in London where you can actually manage to find a room with three single beds. So, lots of brownie points for that alone. We were very pleased with the room too - contemporary decor, spotlessly clean,very comfy beds, nice bathroom with plenty of toiletries and a decent hairdryer and excellent bedside reading lights. The only niggles were a floppy showerhead, a bit of traffic noise and disturbance from above due to the wooden floors and biscuits with the tea/coffee facilities would have been nice for the price. The buffet breakfast was extensive and included freshly squeezed orange juice, home-made yoghurt and granola pots and some spanish touches like tortilla and churros (it's a Spanish chain) as well as all the other usual hot and cold offerings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a bracket up from your average hotel and has a great location. The room (upgraded for free) was of contemporary decor with a very large comfy bed and high ornate ceilings plus the usual touches, it did feel slightly lacking in the cosiness factor and a rug/picture on the wall would have made a good difference. That said, it did the job well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abvlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#246 of 1,069 in London
1,539 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#504 of 1,069 in London
636 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#368 of 1,069 in London
1,143 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#170 of 1,069 in London
805 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#344 of 1,069 in London
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Property: The Queen's Gate Hotel
Address: 31-34 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#245 Business Hotel in London
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
#322 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house hotel has a privileged upscale location in Kensington. Just 300 meters from The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens and the Natural History Museum. The Science Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum are 5 minutes away. Imperial College is directly across the street. Both the Royal College of Music and the Royal College of Art are just 300 meters. The Tube stations "South Kensington"and "Gloucester Road" are 800 meters away with fantastic direct connections to Heathrow Airport, Eurostar, Theatreland, the West End, the City and Victoria Station for Gatwick Airport. Olympia Exhibition and Conference Centre is just 18 m inutes by direct bus. Harrods, Harvey Nichols and the designer boutiques in Knightsbridge and Sloane Street are just a 10 minutes walk. The stylish and spacious bedrooms (90) have a chic boutique feel, are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom and shower. Features include fast and free WiFi, large windows, a mini-bar, large LCD TV and wooden floors. Facilities include the Q bar with an outdoor terrace, restaurant, room service, 2 meeting rooms for 25 persons each, an internet corner and a small fitness centre. A large variety of bars and restaurants, ATMs, grocery stores and pharmacies are in the neighbourhood. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing