We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Swedish pop group in sight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
Ranked #376 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Abba, Queen's Gate is run very efficiently by a Spanish chain. It's in an elegant part of Kensington fairly near the Albert Hall and the major museums. The hotel is part of what must have been a rather grand house. It has been skilfully converted to provide comfortable rooms and public areas. The restaurant is tastefully furnished in black and white (as is the rest of the hotel) and is rather small. The breakfast room on the lower ground floor is windowless but cheerfully decorated in grey and red and we found it rather pleasant. The breakfast itself was very acceptable.

Our room was on the fifth floor and was quiet, a little cramped but well equipped. However it did have a rotten window frame and the bath plug didn't work.

A further downside is that wifi has to be paid for separately.

The staff were all attentive, pleasant and helpful. Not surprisingly a number of Spanish people use this hotel.

The hotel is situated a fair walk from both Underground stations and bus stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for The Queen's Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 998 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

I noticed that lots of previous reviewers of this hotel stayed in a triple room - maybe that's because it's one of the few hotels in London where you can actually manage to find a room with three single beds. So, lots of brownie points for that alone. We were very pleased with the room too - contemporary decor, spotlessly clean,very comfy beds, nice bathroom with plenty of toiletries and a decent hairdryer and excellent bedside reading lights. The only niggles were a floppy showerhead, a bit of traffic noise and disturbance from above due to the wooden floors and biscuits with the tea/coffee facilities would have been nice for the price. The buffet breakfast was extensive and included freshly squeezed orange juice, home-made yoghurt and granola pots and some spanish touches like tortilla and churros (it's a Spanish chain) as well as all the other usual hot and cold offerings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a bracket up from your average hotel and has a great location. The room (upgraded for free) was of contemporary decor with a very large comfy bed and high ornate ceilings plus the usual touches, it did feel slightly lacking in the cosiness factor and a rug/picture on the wall would have made a good difference. That said, it did the job well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abvlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fully refurbished, all new and stylish but I would not call it luxury. Standard rooms are quite small but nice and cleaned, staff is very helpful and when in need I was promptly helped. Breakfast has everything that you normally find in all hotels of this category plus some nice "touches" such as a freshly squeezed orange juice. Central location within easy reach from underground station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Generally I had a good experience at the Abba Queen's Gate Hotel. The staff were friendly and always ready to help. I had to change my room, since it was really cold, 104. However, my new room was much better and much warmer. The cupboard at least had shelves, which my previous room didn't have! The breakfast had a variety of basic choices, but the restaurant was rather stuffy and below ground. It was a good experience.

Room Tip: Don't choose 104 in winter time!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAN3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We picked this hotel to be in Kensington. At first we were skeptical of the area. However, it turned out to be great. The tube was five minutes away, the area was well-healed. There were lovely restaurants and pubs for those rainy nights you were just too tired from the days sightseeing to go far again. There was s post office to change money right there too. Our room was very large by European standards and our three adult children stayed in a triple that was huge too!Everyone was helpful and we good walk to many parks and museums. All in all a great choice!

Room Tip: Try for a window, a bit noisier but you get a feel for the city, otherwise ask for quiet!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrose524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a great stay at Abba Queen's gate. The hotel was easy to find with the Trip Advisor City Guide App. The location was great for my purpose, only a 5 min walk from Exibition Rd.

Harrods was within walking distance, and so was a lot of nice cafes and restaurants. The breakfast could have been better, but they served good food from the bar.

I would stay there again..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmedby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#251 of 1,072 in London
1,550 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#517 of 1,072 in London
637 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#375 of 1,072 in London
1,159 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#155 of 1,072 in London
839 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#345 of 1,072 in London
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Address: 31-34 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#245 Business Hotel in London
#266 Luxury Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
#322 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $162 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house hotel has a privileged upscale location in Kensington. Just 300 meters from The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens and the Natural History Museum. The Science Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum are 5 minutes away. Imperial College is directly across the street. Both the Royal College of Music and the Royal College of Art are just 300 meters. The Tube stations "South Kensington"and "Gloucester Road" are 800 meters away with fantastic direct connections to Heathrow Airport, Eurostar, Theatreland, the West End, the City and Victoria Station for Gatwick Airport. Olympia Exhibition and Conference Centre is just 18 m inutes by direct bus. Harrods, Harvey Nichols and the designer boutiques in Knightsbridge and Sloane Street are just a 10 minutes walk. The stylish and spacious bedrooms (90) have a chic boutique feel, are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom and shower. Features include fast and free WiFi, large windows, a mini-bar, large LCD TV and wooden floors. Facilities include the Q bar with an outdoor terrace, restaurant, room service, 2 meeting rooms for 25 persons each, an internet corner and a small fitness centre. A large variety of bars and restaurants, ATMs, grocery stores and pharmacies are in the neighbourhood. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London
The Queen's Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing