We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped, overpriced and slow!”
Review of Kimchee

Kimchee
Reserve with OpenTable
Kimchee is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,041 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Holborn
Description: Authentic korean food in the heart of london. Set in sumptious interiors, Kimchee provides a beautiful atmosphere in which to enjoy elegantly presented Korean cuisine. Set in mid-town (on High Holborn, between Holbron tube and Chancery Lane tube); Kimchee presents a lively atmosphere in which to share a business lunch, a group outing on a late weekend lunch, or sip some fusion cocktails over some sharing platters on a night out.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cramped, overpriced and slow!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

With Asian dining, when the place is so good and deservedly popular you've no real choice but to begrudgingly accept that you've got to wait in line to enjoy the experience. When the dining experience is poor in terms food, service and value you feel royally ripped off. If you spend £60 on a meal and still feel hungry afterwards there is something not right. Our experinece was this. We decided to try it out having been told about it by a friend. We had to wait 15 minutes to be seated (having been told on the phone in advance that they don't take bookings). This wasn't an issue as we had time to mull over the menu and decide on the 3 mains and 4 sides we were going to order. We were seated in a both for 4... unfortuantely I was with my wife and there was already a party of 3 there which meant we had to share a table. Again this is common in some Asian eateries - however the annoying thing with this place is that it tries to be a cross between a Wagamamma and a Mango Tree. The prices aren't anywhere as cheap as a noodle bar and the service is no where near as efficient. Moving as side to this. The owners have packed way too many tables in - there is literally a 2 ft gap between you and the next table to which guests and waiting staff have to shimmy through. The result is that your food is in danger of being knocked off whenever anyone comes or goes, and also you can hear and smell your neighbour with an unnerving degree of intimacy. Lastly DO NOT under any circumstance order the Budae Jjigae - a spicy hotpot of kimchee, tofu, noodles, beef and "sausage". The "sausage" is Spam - yes that is Spam meat, the variety that isn't even served to prisoners any more. There also was hardly any beef or noodle for it to be described as a beef/noodle dish (think of half half the noodle content of a Pot noodle and you will have an idea of the noodles in a main dish).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1976WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    351
    132
    63
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Korean food”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went there on a Friday night arriving at 6pm. There wasn't a queue at this time but about 30 mins later there was. I would recommend getting there early or being prepared to wait for a table as you cannot book unless you are a group of 6 or more.

The tables are similar to that at Wagamama's where you sit with other dinners on long tables but they are quite spacious.

For starters we had the vegetable tempura and dumplings. The tempura was average but the dumplings were very good.

For mains i had the spicy chicken from the BBQ and my girlfriend had the tofu udon. The chicken was very good. The udon was also good especially as I don't usually like tofu. The portions are generous.

Be warned the food comes out quickly and in no order, our mains came just before the starters.

For dessert we had the chocolate rice cakes which are like 4 mini donuts and the green tea ice cream, again large portions at a good price.

Overall it was a good meal and I would recommend it to others but perhaps not the best choice for vegetarians unless you are a big tofu fan....

The bill came to just under £60 for two people, with two starters, two mains, two dessers and four cocktails.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikash1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in London!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

First time I went there with a korean friend, because she missed korean food. It was so delicouse! Always when I'm in London i eat at least one time in kimchee!
If you'll eat at Friday or Saturday evening you may have to wait for a table, but it's worth it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tschaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good food and value for money outweighed by the terrible service.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food is delicious and the prices affordable.

Unfortunately, the staff really need to work on their manners and general customer service. The fact that the place is so popular (usually a minimum queuing time of 15 minutes) has made the staff arrogant and impolite, simply trying to process as many people as possible, without caring about being friendly. They also tend to forget orders and misestimate waiting time.

Recommended for the really tasty food and generally nice atmosphere but do not expect any quality whatsoever when it comes to service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worst experience in a restaurant.... EVER! Ruined our Christmas meal”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This was by far the worst experience we have ever had.... I've never left a review for anywhere before but felt I had to for this.
We had a table booked for 12 people weeks in advance includin paying a £60 deposit.
We arrived on time and were made to stand and wait for 30 minutes before we even got seated....on seperate tables so our group of 12 annual get together was split in half!
We waited another 30 minutes for our order to be taken.
Desert was brought to use twice even before we had our soup.
The food was a mess and an hour and a half after arriving we had starters, mains and deserts all put in front of us at the same time..... Our drinks and water were not brought to us until the end of the meal. They charged us extra for things that never even arrived even after asking 5 times!!!!
All the staff could say was 'well we're busy!'
They seemed very angry we asked for service to be taken off the bill... They were lucky we even paid for our little bit of food.
Utterly disgraceful, terrible management and horrific attitudes from all the staff who just clearly don't care about the reputation of the restaurant or about ruining an annual Christmas meal for a close group of friends!
NEVER Go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimchee also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Kimchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing