We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Venue, Value and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Northall

The Northall
Ranked #260 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Open seven days a week and offering all-day dining options, this sophisticated modern restaurant showcases the best of British cuisine in a world-class setting. Focusing on seasonal produce supplied by artisanal producers from around the British Isles, it offers both informal menus at accessible prices and a private fine dining area for the most exacting of palates. Suitable for all personal and professional occasions and the ideal location for pre and post theatre dining.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue, Value and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I took my aunt to The Northall on Saturday night as she was visiting from Sheffield for the weekend and I wanted to take her somewhere she would never usually visit. She was very impressed when we pulled up in a cab and the doormen greeted us!

We had the £30 set menu (this included a glass of Laurent-Perrier champagne which went down very well on such a warm night!). There were three choices per course and my aunt chose tuna carpaccio with oysters, steak and strawberry bubble dessert. I went for the ham and egg starter (just in case she didn't like her choice!), sea bream and cheese. All of the food was delicious and the portion sizes weren't skimped on. We also had a bottle of Rose Malbec (which at £37 was pretty reasonable) and a cup of tea. The total bill (including service charge) was £123.

The bar is also worth a visit for a pre-dinner tipple - make sure you check out the piano at the bar!

I cannot praise the staff highly enough - they were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and our waiter was especially lovely (he even gave me a glass of port to go with my cheese course on the house!).

And the best bit.....my aunt had a fabulous time and was suitably impressed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FairieCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at The Northall, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation of your dining experience at The Northall at Corinthia Hotel London, it certainly sounds like you and your aunt had a very special evening. The set menu has proved extremely popular, and as it is seasonally updated there is always new and delicious dishes to choose from. We are delighted you also enjoyed the bespoke cocktails in Bassoon, the perfect destination for a pre or post dinner drink. We are very much looking forward to your next visit when we can impress you once again.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    135
    40
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went with friends and took advantage of the £30 per person set menu, which is very good value. Lovely setting, nice atmosphere, attentive staff and lovely meal, particularly enjoyed the desserts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrueBlueCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at The Northall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your dining experience at The Northall restaurant in Corinthia Hotel London. The set menu is proving to be very popular, and as we update it seasonally there are always new dishes to try. The restaurant has retained the original high ceilings, which contribute to the stunning setting and atmosphere. It sounds like you had a most enjoyable meal, and we look forward to welcoming you for many more.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Jewell in the heart of the West End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great pre and post theatre menu (current special offer) with excellent choices. Service was excellent as was the food. A definite must.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ACAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at The Northall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your dining experience in The Northall restaurant at the Corinthia Hotel London, we very much appreciate your recommendation and agree that the pre- and post-theatre menu is indeed great value. We are very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and that the service standard was excellent. We look forward to welcoming you once more, especially as we update the menu seasonally for you to try new choices.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“They get it right when they get it wrong........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a belated New Years meal here in January. Three of us had the set menu including a glass of Champagne for £30. We arrived early and were asked to sit at the bar if we wished and were served our Champagne. When the table was ready the waiter proceeded to pour us another glass of bubbly as an apology for keeping us waiting. Not their fault, but Thank you very much! We ordered starters, can't remember now what we had except it was very nice. We had wine by the glass which kept getting topped up as another apology, due to a mix up with the mains. No probs, keep it coming. We wouldn't have complained even if it had been terrible! It wasn't. We had a great evening and were well looked after, although I don't know what they would have done if we had been teetotalers! Great food, would highly recommend this deal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelonatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at The Northall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your New Year’s celebration in The Northall at Corinthia Hotel London. It certainly sounds like you had a very enjoyable evening despite the misunderstanding. We have just introduced the new seasonal Summer menu, which we think you and your party would enjoy. We very much look forward to welcoming you once again to dine with us soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very good standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had been to Massimos before and were impressed so wanted to try this one as well and we were not disappointed. I love this hotel, its bars and now the restaurants too. The restaurant is very beautiful with nice tall ceiling and elegantly deorated. The food was very good and we were impressed with everything we had. The waiters were attentive and we all came away very happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at The Northall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your dining experience at The Northall restaurant at Corinthia Hotel London. The Northall was designed by GA Designs, who have retained the original high ceilings and combined it with modern décor and design. The menu in The Northall is devised by Garry Hollihead, a Michelin starred chef, who sources sustainable ingredients and uses them only when they are in season. Thank you for your compliments about the hotel and the service standards, our waiting team are looking forward to welcoming you once more.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northall also viewed

 

Been to The Northall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing