We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location can't be beat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanctuary House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #206 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The location can't be beat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a very quaint boutique hotel right down the street from Westminster Abbey. The pub downstairs adds to the charm of the hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious and clean. My only criticism of the hotel was that when we were there, the air conditioning was out. No one notified us of this until we inquired about the stifling heat in the guest room area. We were promised a fan but none ever arrived. We were placed on the top floor of the hotel which made the heat worse and we were only able to open the window about 1 inch. We are from the Southern US and are used to the heat, but don't enjoy sweating while sleeping. I would still stay here again but I would hope that the management would be kind and inform guests about things such as this in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with the air-conditioning.
If you would like to contact me directly, I would be delighted to discuss the matter with you.
It would be our pleasure welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    474
    71
    30
    14
See reviews for
198
466
50
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Sanctuary House was a great find for our week in London. Located in Westminster we could walk to all the sights or jump on the underground. Upgraded to a superior room which was worth it for the extra space for a week. Breakfast was more than adequate and they served gluten free, Not many restaurants in the area but plenty of pubs full of office workers. Walking distance to The Thames and ferry, Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park and all the big sights. Staff were very helpful with any inquiries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, and that the breakfast was up to your needs.
Thank you also for recognising our wonderful staff, and hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute booking - the room was of good value and clean, with a comfortable bed, had courteous staff, and a good location for West end shows. Hotel was close to a tube station so very convenient. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHowgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your kind words on your review.
We also appreciate that you would recommend us to your friends, and hope to see you sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very pleasant staff, beautifully appointed room with spacious ensuite bathroom. Quiet and very central being a five minute walk to Westminster Abbey and one stop to Victoria Coach Station from tube station one block away. The pub next door served good meals making it very handy at the end of a day of sight-seeing. Also get a 10% discount on any subsequent stays with no expiry date!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to The Sanctuary House Hotel. Please do not forget to use your discount for your next or any future bookings at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is an excellent hotel situated in a very convenient central location within a short walking distance of London’s top attractions including Westminster Abbey and Big Ben.

Despite its location, the hotel is very quiet, and after eating a delicious dinner in the pub downstairs, we slept incredibly well in the pristine and comfy bed.

We stayed in a standard double room which was bigger than I expected it to be with everything you need close at hand. There were generous amounts of toiletries, coffee and tea and ultra-fluffy towels and bathrobes in the room too.

The staff were amazing: helpful, polite, friendly and approachable and you get the impression they are a really strong team who enjoy their work.

I was in London for one night only for a job interview, and the enjoyable and peaceful night’s stay meant I felt totally relaxed and refreshed the next morning.

I would definitely recommend this hotel (and the lovely traditional style pub downstairs) and I will be booking in here for my next trip to London without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We hope that your interview went well, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice small hotel with 34 rooms in the heart fo London. Fuller's Pub on ground floor offered excellent full English Breakfast which was included in room rate. Westminister Abbey less than 5 minutes away. Walked to many destinations from hotel including Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. The Tube a block away. Local pubs in area offer good food and great beer! Try the Fish & Chips at Fuller's it was very filling and Fuller's beer very tasty! Rooms were small but very modern with full range of amenities. Had room on laneway side which was very quiet. Lift to 5th floor very helpful after long day slugging around London. Take the boat ride from Westminster bridge (about 15 minutes) up the Thames to Tower of London for great views of cityscape and comical tour guide.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterPaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

After long hours of sightseeing, we agree that nothing beats a nice home cooked meal with a pint of our outstanding cask ale.
And what better way to start the next day with our big variety of breakfast.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel and location - and pub adjacent to hotel. Good for anytime of day and true English Pub food. Interesting clientele. Staff at hotel are very accommodating and eager to please and ensure a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your nice words.
We hope that everything was at your satisfactory and hope to see you again in not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#39 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#227 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Property: The Sanctuary House Hotel
Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Westminster lies the Sanctuary House - a warm and inviting hotel that offers fine food, great hospitality and top class accommodation. Our 34 beautifully appointed bedrooms feature all the comforts of home. All our stylish bedrooms are extremely well appointed, with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing