We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Superb Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanctuary House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #206 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Superb Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is an excellent hotel situated in a very convenient central location within a short walking distance of London’s top attractions including Westminster Abbey and Big Ben.

Despite its location, the hotel is very quiet, and after eating a delicious dinner in the pub downstairs, we slept incredibly well in the pristine and comfy bed.

We stayed in a standard double room which was bigger than I expected it to be with everything you need close at hand. There were generous amounts of toiletries, coffee and tea and ultra-fluffy towels and bathrobes in the room too.

The staff were amazing: helpful, polite, friendly and approachable and you get the impression they are a really strong team who enjoy their work.

I was in London for one night only for a job interview, and the enjoyable and peaceful night’s stay meant I felt totally relaxed and refreshed the next morning.

I would definitely recommend this hotel (and the lovely traditional style pub downstairs) and I will be booking in here for my next trip to London without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We hope that your interview went well, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    474
    71
    30
    14
See reviews for
198
466
50
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice small hotel with 34 rooms in the heart fo London. Fuller's Pub on ground floor offered excellent full English Breakfast which was included in room rate. Westminister Abbey less than 5 minutes away. Walked to many destinations from hotel including Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. The Tube a block away. Local pubs in area offer good food and great beer! Try the Fish & Chips at Fuller's it was very filling and Fuller's beer very tasty! Rooms were small but very modern with full range of amenities. Had room on laneway side which was very quiet. Lift to 5th floor very helpful after long day slugging around London. Take the boat ride from Westminster bridge (about 15 minutes) up the Thames to Tower of London for great views of cityscape and comical tour guide.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterPaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

After long hours of sightseeing, we agree that nothing beats a nice home cooked meal with a pint of our outstanding cask ale.
And what better way to start the next day with our big variety of breakfast.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel and location - and pub adjacent to hotel. Good for anytime of day and true English Pub food. Interesting clientele. Staff at hotel are very accommodating and eager to please and ensure a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your nice words.
We hope that everything was at your satisfactory and hope to see you again in not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This relatively small hotel, 5 floors totaling 34 rooms overall, is perfectly situated in the heart of London's Westminster burrough. It sits on Tothill Street atop Fuller's Pie & Ale House pub. We couldn't have asked for a better location for a hotel. We were within walking distance of many major spots in London which were on our list during this visit, including Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament building, the London Eye, Buckingham Palace, Harrods Department Store, Westminster Abbey, The Mall, and Trafalgar Square among others.

The hotel lobby and check-in desk are on the 2nd floor. We had brought with us enough luggage for our 17-day trip, so the tiny elevator was challenging, but doable.

The room we had was a regular king size single room. The bedding was extremely plush, which made it super comfortable after an entire days worth of walking. The room itself was a tad on the smaller side, but I guess that ended up being ok because we didn't spend much time in the room at all except at the end of our sightseeing days. We had our king size bed, a small desk with a chair for writing, and an additional chair for lounging. The a/c unit in this room was arctic if you wanted it to be.

Now the bathroom, here's an interesting room. It included a full tub and shower. The shower was not fully enclosed though. Most showers in the States are enclosed to keep the floor from getting wet. Not here though. There was a small glass partition, maybe a foot or so wide, and the rest of the bathroom was open to the shower. Yes, it is safe to say that the floor was hit with a deluge of water after my shower. It is a challenge for me to shower and not splash. How do the British do it?

Fuller's Ale & Pie House is located on the ground floor of the Sanctuary House Hotel. This is your typical London pub - certainly one of hundreds! I learned quickly that the customs are a bit different in London compared to back home in the US. Back home you either find your own table or are directed to an available table when you arrive at just about any restaurant or bar. Here though, you order your drink at the bar and only then find your way to a seat somewhere. That took me a few minutes to figure out... valuable minutes spent without quenching my thirst with London's finest - London Pride ale.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orestes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We hope that the bathtub with a shower overhead was not a disappointment to you, and hope you also enjoyed our ales and had a pleasant time in our pub.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penmaen-mawr, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

For a 3? establishment the Sanctuary House exceeded our expectations by far. The reception staff were always polite and attentive. The room was almost spotless. There were plenty of bathroom accessories such as the moisturiser and soap and shower gel and conditioner and a sewing kit and a manicure set. Bathrobes and slippers and a turn down service. Coffee, hot chocolate and 3 types of tea with the biscuits. Television signal was not great in room 103 but it didn't spoil our stay.
We ate dinner in the real ale pub below and would heartily recommend the fish pie. The handpull Discovery ale lacked any head and lacing but tasted good all the same. Next time we visit London we would love to stay here again as it is minutes walk from Buckingham palace and Downing Street and Westminster Cathedral and Big Ben. We were right in the middle of everything there but it was still quiet at night

Helpful?
1 Thank Tristian G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your kind and appreciated review.
We are glad that our hotel exceeded your expectation of a 3 star hotel, since we are always trying very hard to achieve higher standards.
It will be our greatest pleasure welcoming you back to our hotel if you ever wish to visit London again.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location, right by the tube and all the main attractions. Clean hotel. Modern, tastful bedrooms with lots of free things - teas coffee,biscuits, 2x water bottles (sparkling and still!) shampoo,conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, sewing kit, manicure set, slippers, gowns and big soft towels.

The staff are extremely pleasant, helpful and caring towards their customers, they even come round and turn don the beds/turn on lamps/close the curtains etc!

The pub downstairs is lively with a good atmosphere, doesn`t stay open too late so it isnt too noisy at night. The food there is amazing! Absolutely delicious and reasonably priced too.
We didnt bother with breakfast though because it looked very expensive.

We will definitely go back :D

Room Tip: No need to go deluxe - the standard rooms are enough! Unless you want a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

It is always a delight to have such a pleasant response from any of our beloved guest, in this case you.
Thank you for noticing our wonderful staff, great food, and also those little personal touches that made your trip memorable.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel from Aug 12-Aug16th. We booked it because of its location. Close to everything. The hotel staff was lovely and so were the rooms. We had forgotten something in the safe and before i had emailed them they had emailed me about it and were mailing it back to us at home.
The Pub downstairs was very nice and convenient also, but very slow. So don't be in a hurry.
Would go back to this hotel again if we had the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear hotel guest,

We are very pleased that your stay at our hotel was a delight and it has been our pleasure to assist you with the items that you left behind.
We are also glad that you found our restaurant very nice and convenient. We are constantly training our staff in order to provide the best customer service.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#39 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#227 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Property: The Sanctuary House Hotel
Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Westminster lies the Sanctuary House - a warm and inviting hotel that offers fine food, great hospitality and top class accommodation. Our 34 beautifully appointed bedrooms feature all the comforts of home. All our stylish bedrooms are extremely well appointed, with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing