We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find the entrance....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #186 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
293 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Difficult to find the entrance....”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

At first sight you will not immediately notice the entrance of the hotel (a door next to the entrance door of pub Fullers). If you walk (or take the elevator) to the first floor you will arrive at reception. We were warmly welcomed and quickly checked in. The rooms are for London standards not even that small. Tasteful decorated and with free WIFI. We payed 198 euro per night without breakfast. Location is great. Only a few minutes walk from Westminster Abbey and the Big Ben and St James underground station. The only remark we would like to make is that it looks rather easy to walk from the street/pub (without being noticed) to the hotel floors (but we did not check the security procedures). Pub food was ok but not exceptional good and with slow service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    504
    78
    33
    15
See reviews for
220
507
57
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our first hotel in a 5 week trip of 3 continents, and we still look fondly back on it.
Fantastic location right on the doorstep of so many London attractions and shopping.
The reception staff were great, advising on shopping and transport, particularly introducing us to the underground. We are happy to do a lot of walking, and most sites were within our walking range.

The room was small, and we expected that, but nicely decorated in an olde world theme in keeping with the establishment. Bathroom was excellent.

Breakfast was much better than we expect of a continental in Australia, and worth lingering over. The pub was pretty crowded and we had pies sent to the room. Fast service and delicious.

Value for money was good, maybe that's the exchange rate at the moment, but I would be happy with the pricing anywhere, let alone London.

The hotel is within the London congestion zone, so you have to pay to drive there. We hired a car for day 1, drove to the hotel and dropped the bags, then took the car to the hire depot by Victoria Station and walked back, then picked up another car on day 3, picked up our bags from the hotel and left London. Worth the fee (pay online, you need the registration number) but parking near the hotel is difficult.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAtraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visited The Sanctuary when utterly dead on our feet in the centre of London. The name of the establishment was not lost on us as we were totally exhausted.

What a lovely pub/restaurant this is. It's warm, cosy and friendly. I've been to London many times and found it often cold and hard-nosed, especialy since being from the North I'm seen as a 'tourist'.

The menu is of a wide variety, and my wife and I both struggled to pick a favoured dish as we found several we wished to try. The girl behind the bar was welcoming and friendly, which makes a nice change in London. She gave me options of potatos with my pie, and when asked what she though went best, said that since we were in London, it had to be pie and mash really. I was inclined to agree.

My wife chose the fish and chips, and was rewarded with a large fish, in nice crispy batter, and a good amount of nicely cooked chips. I had the chicken and chorizo pie, which came with mash and veg. The pie was full or good quality meat and the mash was lovely and smooth.

A quality meal at a decent price. A real haven in a city full of rip-off merchants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocknrollnobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here overnight, for a two day holiday of West End shows and sightseeing. The hotel is literally two minutes walk from St James tube station and delightfully in the other direction less than five minutes from Parliament square and Westminster Bridge. The cleanliness standard was very high, our room was boutique style, and although small ,had everything we needed. Heating in the room was easily controlled by us, and the there was plenty of hot water next morning for the excellent shower. I think our room had recently been refurbished. The reception staff were very helpful and even the chambermaid was on hand to replenish tea, coffee, milk etc. Clean comfortable robes and slippers were provided .We did not experience the food as we ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, the main road is at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank boulevard2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was extremely pleased to see that they were able to get my husband and I into one of the rooms with the canopy bed. It was our honeymoon and we wanted it to be romantic.

I was, however, displeased with how tiny the room was. There was no wardrobe or dresser for us to put our clothing, so for 8 days we had to live out of our luggage. It was tight and cramped and uncomfortable, so we didn't spend any time in the room except to sleep.

The absolute worst part of the entire ordeal was the fact that they did not provide alarm clocks, so we had to use their wake up service on a morning that we had to leave at 4:45am so that we could catch our train into Paris. The hotel staff did NOT do the wake up call, and we were woken up when they called to inform us that our taxi had arrived! We literally had 5 minutes to get up and get ready so that we would get to the train station in time. That meant no shower for either of us. We were FUMING mad! The staff tried to make up for it by leaving a fruit basket and bottle of wine on our bed, but we don't drink wine.

Overall, it is not a place I would stay at again. I wouldn't tell someone not to go there, but I won't go back. Every person has a different experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarisaD169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Definitely gone downhill since my last stay! Arrived and waited to be greeted because the reception staff were talking amongst themselves in Spanish or portuguese? Didn't acknowledge me until I interrupted! Cleanliness standards still high in the hotel. And can't fault the location of this place obviously, but the staff in the pub seem to have developed a don't care attitude. I was looking forward to a pint if London Pride but it was off? I took an ESB instead but it was cloudy! Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. It's a shame as this hotel used to offer good service, great location and and a great pub! Sadly, looks like only the location is left.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Montgomery2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for business. It was conveniently located for the tube and Westminster etc. the rooms were modern and very clean. complimentary toiletries and accessories were great. service in pub downstairs was very attentive, though breakfast was expensive in comparison to the normal evening menu. Would definitely stay here again when in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pljonesey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,947 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#228 of 1,067 in London
570 reviews
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#483 of 1,067 in London
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Property: The Sanctuary House Hotel
Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Westminster lies the Sanctuary House - a warm and inviting hotel that offers fine food, great hospitality and top class accommodation. Our 34 beautifully appointed bedrooms feature all the comforts of home. All our stylish bedrooms are extremely well appointed, with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing