We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Royal Adelphi Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #831 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 31, 2008

I have stayed at the Adelphi a few times before, but my latest visit was the first time for a number of years. The place is still the same, a little tired, a little shabby but its clean and for £55 a night for a single room with a breaksfast thrown in you cant go wrong if you a single traveller on a bit of budget and want a central place for the night. My room was a little old hat, no ensuite but a small sink and a tv 80's. The bathroom was next door so no real problems. Pleasant friendly staff and a 24hrs bar.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Royal Adelphi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2008

The location really is outstanding - you step out the door and are in very close walking distance to the theatre district, Covent Garden, Leicester Square, and Soho. Embankment and Charing Cross train stations are a minute away. Other conveniences are super close (supermarket, chemist, net cafes), and it's safe to walk around there at night because it's so busy - a plus for a lone traveller. However, the place itself is pretty old and dusty and a little bit firetrap-ish!

I stayed at the Royal Adelphi twice with three weeks between and got two different rooms. And I found the quality and size of the rooms varies significantly.

The first room was tiny and the window was right near the building's air-con unit or something that made a really loud whirring noise all night. Plus, the shower was pretty low water-pressure and fairly grimy. But the second room I was in was much quieter and larger - especially the bathroom, which was also much better quality. Go figure.

Breakfast was fine - nothing fancy. The staff were friendly enough - especially compared to what I was expecting after all the warnings I got from people about how surly London is meant to be!

Like most big cities, London is a pricy, pricy place. So, while 75 pounds is pretty pricy in my books (thank you exchange rate!) - especially for a place so old and unkempt - I was hard-pressed to find better accommodation for this price in such a perfect location. And when it comes down to it, if you're in town to see the sights, you're not really gonna spend all day in your hotel room.

And it really helps to be close to all the things you're going out to see - you can come and go as you please all day to drop off your shopping or to have an afternoon nap before the theatre.

Provided it's inhabitable and safe - which the Royal Adelphi is - the location maketh the lodging.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kladmius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Dear fellow travellers, your reviews led me to book this hotel but I was severely let down. It is London afterall so my expectations were low but this place is really dreadful. Sticky carpets, threadbare bedspreads, curtains and lumpy mattresses that haven't been changed since the 50s. Totally unacceptable standard for a hotel operator. Mould on the bread at breakfast. We fled as soon as we could lock in another hotel, and then took a very long hot shower.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roomaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

This is my second review of this hotel. Via my user name read this in connection with my earlier review save me repeating myself.

This was the 5th time in 12 months I have stayed at the Royal Adelphi and I love it. This hotel is about location not 5* luxury. Work colleagues have also now started to stay at the Royal Adelphi due to it's fantastic central location for the room rate.

Jackie the receptionist as always was very pleasant as are the other reception staff, it is just that I have forgotten their names.

Ask for a room at the rear, the front of the hotel can get noisy. Their is no air conditioning but the in room fans seem to do a good job once you fathom out how to use them.

The hotel has internet access and I recommend you visit walkit.co.uk which you can the see where the sights are from your hotel. Print out the route and save tube and bus fares. The hotel is so close to all the main sightseeing attractions if only you knew how to walk there by the shortest route.

A pub right next door to the Royal Adelphi called the Princess of Wales has an excellent restaurant on the first floor open between 12 noon and 10pm. Well worth checking out for a pre-theatre meal.

If you accept this hotel is a bit down at heal for decoration and furnishings, for price it cannot be beaten especially with a continental breakfast included in your room rate.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HotelValueHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Adelphi Hotel on Villiers Street in London from May 22-May 26, 2008. We had a room with a private bath and double bed. The location was absolutely perfect - across the street from Charing Cross station, about 150 yards from the Embankment tube station, and a very short walk to Trafalgar Square. The hotel was clean, the complimentary continental breakfast was very good (assorted breads, bagels, muffins, fruit, tea, coffee, cereals, juice) and a full English breakfast was available for a charge of 4 pounds per person. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was somewhat small and it certainly wasn't a 5 star hotel in terms of amenities; but our bathroom was very clean, sheets and towels were clean and fresh each day. One suggestion, ask for a quiet room when you make reservations. Our room was located on the front of the hotel (on Villiers Street) and our window overlooked a local bar (the Ha Ha bar and grill) which was pretty noisy into the early morning hours (especially Fri and Sat nights). In spite of this, for the money this was an excellent hotel at an outstanding location in central London. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank musicalchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Not the most fabulous hotel I've ever stayed at....probably one of the more basic.
The hotel is not fantastic but it is clean with a comfy bed and fresh towels each day. Soap/shampoo are provided but we didn't use them

The breakfast is just ok, just a range of breads, croissants, preserves and cerial with orange juice and tea/coffee.We only had beakfast the first day then gave it a miss Tea and coffee provided in the rooms

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It in a small street with Embankment Station at one end and Charing Cross Station at the other. A 5-10 minute walk will take you to Trafalger Suare, London Eye Covent Garden, Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey. The stop for the open top Original Tour Bus is 2 mins away at Embankment. The Strand is located at one end of the street with a huge range of shops, bars and restaurants not to mention the theatres!!

Plenty of places to eat and drink including Starbucks, Costa Coffee, Princess of Wales Pub, a wine bar, Italian restaurants, a bistro, Jpanese fast food and loads more are located in the same street, In saying that we were never disturbed at night and slept very well

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, looking after our luggage when we checked out. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

If you're expecting the Ritz-Carlton at this price and location.... don't go to the Royal Adelphi Hotel! As for the realists, if you need a place to rest, take a shower and want to be in the heart of the city so that you can easily walk anywhere... this is for you! Clean, Very Friendly Staff and location, location, location! Stairs and cigarette burns are worth complaining about... please! There is not a better place in London for the price and location!!! Think of all the $$$ you save by being in the perfect location to walk the entire city! After all, who on earth goes to a beautiful city like London to sit in a hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMcP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#175 of 1,072 in London
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Adelphi Hotel

Address: 21 Villiers Street, London WC2N 6ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $92 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Edwardian hotel with multilingual staff; situated within walking distance of Trafalgar Square & Covent Garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Adelphi London
Hotel Royal Adelphi
Royal Adelphi Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing