We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean rooms”
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #334 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was looking for a cheap, clean hotel close to a metro station and the shopping areas King's road, Marylebone, Regent street, etc and chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews here. First of all, the location is convenient and the hotel and room were clean. The bathroom was quite small, but modern. The twin room itself was also small (a bit too small to our liking and we didn't have a view so that didn't help), but the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. We slept well although it was a bit warm due to the fact that we couldn't turn off the heating completely because the knob was stuck and we didn't want to use the airco.

Breakfast was not very interesting, the ladies were very friendly but the food and coffee/tea just weren't very tasty. On the other hand it is complementary and if you are okay with toast and jam or yoghurt and muesli I guess you're alright.

Next time when I'm staying in London with I will look for another place, there's not much wrong with Rhodes hotel, but I don't think it's a 'little gem' either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisRhodes, Manager at Rhodes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rhodes Hotel London for your stay in London by using our non-refundable deal exclusively available on our own web site. We would also like to thank you for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We would like to say that the room you stayed in is 14 square meters with an exceptional height of 3.75 meters, has wood (Oak) flooring, a large window (1.20 x 2.20 meters), regular pocket hypoallergenic mattress, 3 feet beds and a shower measuring 80x90 cm (opposed to the standard normal 75 x75 cm size). In addition to these it includes features like continental sockets (Legrand), plenty of lighting dimmable plus blue night lights in the bathroom, under floor heating, cabinet with extra lighting. The central heating has a thermostatic valve for ease of use, plus air conditioning remotely individually controlled. We have 24 hours reception readily available to help the guests.
All our rooms including bathrooms are displayed on our web site individually with full room view (not partial view). We also have 3-D view of rooms and guests can view the room(s) again at the time of making a reservation.
Our net rate below £ 45 per person (which you paid for this room) includes breakfast which consists of orange juice, tea/coffee/chocolate , Brioche chocolate rolls , croissant , Nutella, variety of cereals, variety of four different fruits ( Melons, apple, oranges, banana s), range of yogurts including natural yogurt ,honey, ham ,mature cheddar cheese, toast (brown or white ), cakes, prunes, peanut butter, vegemite, marmite, butter, marmalade, jams, raw walnuts, crystal sugar etc. Breakfast is served longer till 10.00 am.

With all these facilities at this rate, we assure that we offer value for money to our valuable guests with quality service. However guests always have the choice of opting for a 4/5 star where they are charged £52.00 for English breakfast, Seasonal fruit platter for £ 17.00 and choice from bakery for £ 9.50 plus service charge of 12.5% (Total £ 88.31) excluding cost of the room.

We would like to thank you once again for your stay and would like to offer you a 25% discount for future direct booking or offer you one night complimentary stay if you found a better 3 star guest accommodation with such similar facilities and at the same rate which you paid.

Kind regards


Tipu S Khan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Rhodes Hotel is a cozy, well-located gem in London. Near Paddington station and a couple of metro stations, you can get anywhere from there easily. The rooms are small, but more than adequate, with nice modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. And you simply cannot beat the staff! Very friendly and helpful, making you feel right at home. I can't recommend Rhodes Hotel enough and going forward will stay there every time I visit London.

Room Tip: No lift, so plan to climb stairs or request a lower level room. My room was 62 steps up, but after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Traveler95409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed with family and then again on my own. Staff were very accommodating and happy to store luggage. Reception open 24hrs which is handy. Breakfast was great and the lady serving breakfast very friendly and generous. Location is ideal - close to to Paddington for Heathrow express and less than 5min walk to 2 tube stations. Lost our camera and when police called the hotel to tell them they had it, reception called us to notify us as we didnt get home until late and they were worried they would miss our deadline for collecting it.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Good location for Hyde Park. Friendly staff and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was included and enough choice to keep you happy. Rooms a bit small, our room had a Jacuzzi bath. Bed a bit small. We had a balcony with chairs and table.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisRhodes, Manager at Rhodes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your stay in Rhodes Hotel London.

We are a quality bed and breakfast in Paddington and offer variety of rooms.

Our standard sized rooms have standard beds and guests with extra height can always choose our Deluxe Rooms with queen size beds with small price difference.

All our room categories are described on our website with pictures of individual rooms and with 3D tour.

By booking directly with the Hotel you can even get better rate using our non-refundable deal and can communicate your requirements directly with the Hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again in near future and would like to thank you once again for staying with us.

Kind regards

Tipu S Khan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our family room was compact but very comfortable. This small and friendly hotel is in a fantastic location. The decor is charming and unique, and everything works well - comfortable beds, great shower, clean cupboards. Generous buffet breakfast with cooked breakfast for a small extra charge, and friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. Just round the corner from Paddington tube and mainline. The ladies serving breakfast were very friendly and efficient. Obviously it's more of a home from home place, don't expect anything fancy, but who really needs a choice of four different juices and cereals. They had nutella, peanut butter, marmite and vegemite as well as jam. There isn't a pool or fitness centre, obviously, I couldn't cancel the ratings below.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I come to Rhodes hotel every now and then for a weekend or at the end of the weekend when it is quieter and cheaper.
Last time I booked a single room and asked for a quiet room not overlooking the main road. I was given a double room which overlooked the road but had double glazing ( not particularly sound proof )
I slept ok but not wonderfully because of the noise.
I was given a room with a jacuzzi bath. As always the room and bathroom is spotless with bath foam, clean towels. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets clean.
No carpet on the clean floor which is a bonus, sign that at least the floor had been washed before I arrived.
Breakfast is ok. Coffee, bread, jams, butter, milk, fruit, all provided and fresh.Not 5 stars quality but you can skip lunch if you want. Lots to eat. You pay only a few quid for full English breakfast.
Staff very helpful and always smiling even if busy in the kitchen with a queue of people waiting.
Receptionists are amazing and also smiling and professional. Thank you for taking my bag upstairs all the time I am on last floor!
The owner is friendly and now that he knows me, he always spends time telling me the most amazing stories of his life. He is an interesting person.
Happy Christmas to all the staff of Rhodes hotel!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mouette63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#225 of 1,075 in London
2,197 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#430 of 1,075 in London
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Hotel Columbus
#497 of 1,075 in London
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Business Hotel in London
#289 Romantic Hotel in London
#291 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $89 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing