We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhodes Hotel, London”
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #308 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rhodes Hotel, London”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I recently wrote a blog-post of my stay at this wonderful hotel in London. I hope you find it helpful.
Chris, the owner, provides wonderful service. There is a very nice included breakfast and he actually sat and chatted with me a few mornings which was very pleasant. The shower in my room initially had only very hot water coming from the pipes, but almost as soon as I told him about this, it was fixed. I love to travel solo, but it can be dangerous. I knew, without a doubt, that if I had run into any trouble, Chris and his wife would have seen to it that I was helped. It was a lovely feeling of security and I tremendously enjoyed my stay. I plan to return August 2014.

The rooms are small, but there is free internet and a little refrigerator. Chris told me they have rooms that will sleep from 1 to 6.

Highly recommended.

http://impressionsblog.com/2013/05/13/would-you-like-to-see-my-hotel/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    627
    184
    53
    31
See reviews for
490
328
166
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Rhodes Hotel offered good value and excellent service in London. Deluxe double was a worthwhile upgrade and gets you a good sized room in London. Continental Breakfast was a nice addition. Found the staff to be particularly helpful and responsive.

Location is excellent for nearby tube or train station (Paddington) as well as Hyde Park. City centre can be easily walked to in around 1/2 hour

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Dave9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed for one night, i had a work do nearby. The room was spotless, the water brilliantly hot and for the rate i paid i couldnt believe you could get a hotel like this in central london, let alone a comfortable one! Stephan the front of house manager was very helpful, i can recommend this hotel to anbyone looking for a good deal in London

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I booked two rooms (2 parents + 2 children).
The best price was by booking at the hotel.
I asked to have them close and indeed we got two rooms on the second floor close to each other. The rooms and the shower are very minimal.
Since we arrived very early we got a quad room at good price just until our rooms were ready.

The internet was fine to all 4 phones+ laptop.
The breakfast was very good (includes drinks, an egg, cheese and sausages)
The hotel is very close to Paddington underground station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this hotel online for several based on reviews and proximity to Paddington station - taking the Heathrow express was great, even coming in at 9:30pm! The manager was very responsive to emails in advance. I expected a small room and was pleasantly surprised with the deluxe double. (I had originally wanted a balcony room, but those are smaller.) We were in the main house and a few flights up - the room was a very decent size with a sofa, faced the street and was very quiet. We had a great night's sleep. The A/C operated very well and was quite. The breakfast was included and it was very good - the breakfast staff was extremely friendly and attentive. There was a variety of breads, sandwich meats& cheese, yogurt cereal and fruit. No need to get the special English breakfast - we got that once to try, but there is more than enough with the regular breakfast. The WIFI did go down 1 time, but a quick call to the front desk and they rebooted and it was up again. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main hotel - a deluxe double is plenty big for 2 people and has a sofa. Email in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Rhodes Hotel is among many within walking distance of Paddington Station. We selected it because of proximity and price and responsiveness to our questions. We found all the staff incredibly helpful and friendly, assisting us with typical tourist questions as well as several more complicated issues. Our room in the annex was comfortable: good bed, small but renovated bath, and quiet and effective AC. Sound communication among rooms can be a problem; the first night we were there all was quiet. The second night we were disturbed by people opening and closing doors to their rooms--nothing outrageous and nothing very late. Breakfast, though not elaborate, was fine for our needs; good coffee, fruit, breads, and cereals. We would probably return, but certainly ask for a room on the lower floors and one whose entrance was apart from others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle17NewtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel itself is nice and clean, the breakfast is nice but there are a few major problems with the hotel:
1. Our room wasn't in the main building of the hotel but rather in another building located a few minutes' walk from the main one.
2. Our room was at the 4th floor of the hotel with no elevator. The staircases are narrow and it's not easy to bring the luggage upstairs. Also. every time you want to go back to your room you need to climb 4 floors, and it's not easy if you're not fit.
3. The wi-fi in our room was bad. Most of the time it was slow, and we had a lot of reception problems, and it kept disconnecting all the time.

Room Tip: make sure your room is not at the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nir56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#203 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#473 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#397 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#561 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Business Hotel in London
#289 Romantic Hotel in London
#291 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing