We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and quiet”
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #324 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this hotel online for several based on reviews and proximity to Paddington station - taking the Heathrow express was great, even coming in at 9:30pm! The manager was very responsive to emails in advance. I expected a small room and was pleasantly surprised with the deluxe double. (I had originally wanted a balcony room, but those are smaller.) We were in the main house and a few flights up - the room was a very decent size with a sofa, faced the street and was very quiet. We had a great night's sleep. The A/C operated very well and was quite. The breakfast was included and it was very good - the breakfast staff was extremely friendly and attentive. There was a variety of breads, sandwich meats& cheese, yogurt cereal and fruit. No need to get the special English breakfast - we got that once to try, but there is more than enough with the regular breakfast. The WIFI did go down 1 time, but a quick call to the front desk and they rebooted and it was up again. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main hotel - a deluxe double is plenty big for 2 people and has a sofa. Email in...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Rhodes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Rhodes Hotel is among many within walking distance of Paddington Station. We selected it because of proximity and price and responsiveness to our questions. We found all the staff incredibly helpful and friendly, assisting us with typical tourist questions as well as several more complicated issues. Our room in the annex was comfortable: good bed, small but renovated bath, and quiet and effective AC. Sound communication among rooms can be a problem; the first night we were there all was quiet. The second night we were disturbed by people opening and closing doors to their rooms--nothing outrageous and nothing very late. Breakfast, though not elaborate, was fine for our needs; good coffee, fruit, breads, and cereals. We would probably return, but certainly ask for a room on the lower floors and one whose entrance was apart from others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle17NewtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel itself is nice and clean, the breakfast is nice but there are a few major problems with the hotel:
1. Our room wasn't in the main building of the hotel but rather in another building located a few minutes' walk from the main one.
2. Our room was at the 4th floor of the hotel with no elevator. The staircases are narrow and it's not easy to bring the luggage upstairs. Also. every time you want to go back to your room you need to climb 4 floors, and it's not easy if you're not fit.
3. The wi-fi in our room was bad. Most of the time it was slow, and we had a lot of reception problems, and it kept disconnecting all the time.

Room Tip: make sure your room is not at the top floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nir56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Rhodes hotel for one night in Sept with my usual two Bayswater/Paddington choices being unavailable.

Situated in the typical white fronted Georgian building the rooms were in good condition, having undergone a recent refurbished. My room was very small but clean and had all necessary facilities. The staff were very helpful and eager to provide a good level of customer service.

I paid £79 for the night, which is some £40 cheaper than my usual preferred hotel in the area. Certainly will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Oakhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Dominique Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Incredibly nice place for a short stay considering the low price. Perfectly equipped, clean room, great staff, no reason to complain, the metro is 5 minutes away and buses going everywhere in the city center are numerous. Perfect choice to my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oneoone042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip. Needing something last minute this hotel appealed due to the price. I originally booked single room but requested to upgrade on arrival and was able to do so for a moderate fee. The double rooms are not located in the main building but a short distance away on another street. Rooms are small and basic but clean. Fridge and tea making facilities included. Bathroom very small but modern. Location is great with a few minutes walk to either Paddington or Lancaster gate tube stops. Local pubs and restaurants nice and friendly and cater for everyone's tastes. Would be happy to stay here again for similar trip but if with a partner would pay more for nicer accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muzz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#221 of 1,072 in London
2,177 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#428 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Stylotel
#599 of 1,072 in London
775 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#500 of 1,072 in London
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Business Hotel in London
#289 Romantic Hotel in London
#291 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $100 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing