We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rhodes Hotel...home sweet home...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #284 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mirandela, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rhodes Hotel...home sweet home...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was the first time in London, and the first time at the Rhodes Hotel and i recomend it for everybody that needs a nice, calm and sympathetic place to stay. Tinny but very very comfortable. The owner and the employers are very cozy and sympathetic. A big hug for them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    545
    154
    49
    28
See reviews for
405
297
132
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I were very pleased with our choice in the Rhodes Hotel. The staff did a great job, very helpful and kind. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The owner Chris added to our wonderful stay. He was fun to visit with and I even received chocolates on Christmas morning!
We will definitely return to this hotel if we end up in London again. Thanks for a super stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed this time as usual in Rhodes Hotel this december, as this has always ben my prefered place to stay in london, which we tag in my family as our second home.
we hav been using this place, for almost 10 years now. i have introduced alot of family and friends.
and i have never heard any one ,complained about this second home of mine,\.
over the years i have seen the improvements and refurbishments going on in this place. for instance the new bathrooms are so comfortable , that you can sleep in there .
i am writting this because i am aware of the bogus reports on some reviews in support of insurance claims.
i can assure anyday doubting thomas, to try this place you shall not regrets. please keep the good work the Management of Rhodes Hotel.
Abubakar Yakubu

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abubakar y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just returned ( December, 2012 ) from another visit to London and 'our home away from home' --- the Rhodes. We always feel safe and secure in this tourist hotel. We found this gem in Paddington in 1999 and have stayed there every time we are in London ever since. Actually, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! Both Chris and Maria are most welcoming and hospitible and we are treated like returning friends. All the staff is very helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are a great way to start the day. The location is perfect --- close to Paddington Station for the Heathrow Express and all those tube lines. As well, Lancaster Gate tube stop is within very easy walking distance. Hyde Park is just a 5 minute walk away.
Great people, great value, great location. It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We used the Rhodes Hotel three different times and were always extremely satisfied. The location, cleanliness, and helpful staff were all first-rate. We stored our luggage here while making side trips to Bath and Paris. We would come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpec91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First time I stayed at Rhodes Hotel was in 2007. At that time I chose it due to great location close to all major transportation, nice price and what seemed to be OK quality in the hotel. My last stay at Rhodes where 6-9th of december 2012 with my whole family. All of my three girls love this hotel. They have been here a couple of times now. Its small and charming, great service and it has large family rooms with nice and mostly new bathrooms. The last bathroom where brand new and great. The rooms are not new but they are clean and spacious compare to other hotels in London.

So do you need a hotel and get your whole family in one spacious family room? Do you need a hotel close to all tube lines in London, bus and trainstation? Do you need a clean, charming little hotel in quiet street in London? This is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteinarOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was a little worried when we arrived as the entrance area is a little shabby to say the least. But the rooms are clean and well looked after. The staff were very friendly, and the host Mr Chris couldn't have done anymore to please. He really seemed to care that everybody was happy, and went out of his way a number of times to please. The room was a little small but thats London for you, everything was in the room and if we needed anything all we had to do was ask. When i go to London I will stay at the Rhodes Hotel. Great Location close to Lancaster Gate Tube. Continental breakfast was plentiful. English breakfast available for extra charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#195 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#438 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
The Royal Park Hotel
#109 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#508 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#389 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#279 Business Hotel in London
#290 Romantic Hotel in London
#293 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Maria Crias are the third owners and have been running the Rhodes hotel since 1978. This London hotel is located in a quiet private road of a fashionable residential neighborhood. In addition to double-glazed windows, this newly refurbished eighteen-bedroom hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with a lot of modern amenities and value for money in this historic metropolis, hosting the 2012 Olympics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing