We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here again”
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #308 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Here again”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I wrote my first review about this Hotel a few years ago and thought it's time to write another, since I've been there numberous of times and there has been a few changes. For example there is this new annex building, in which I've been now twice - last time was in October. This new annex building is newly renovated and looking good. I earlier missed the air conditioning, but that is there also. Only one big downside in this hotel is it's breakfast room. It was ok for the main building itself, but now with the annex building it's a way too small and crowded all the time. It is also very hot in there, because there is no air conditioning. The hotel desperately needs a bigger breakfast room WITH air conditioning. Breakfast itself is moderate, but ok. I suggest you'd pay four pounds more and get English breakfast. That'll keep you going!
As we all know, the rooms are small, but they are clean, which is the most important thing and they are nicely decorated in my opinion. The staff is always nice and friendly! Location is just perfect with Piccadily station just few hundred meters away and also only few blocks from the Hyde Park. it takes only 10 minutes to walk to Oxford street.
I go to this hotel maybe once or twice a year with friends to watch football in London and it just suits for us perfectly. I must say, that if I was to travel with wife and kids, Iäd probably take another hotel with bigger rooms, but if I was short of money, this is still not a bad option.
I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    627
    184
    53
    31
See reviews for
490
328
166
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel November 22. 2011.for 3 nights. Clean room, excellent bed and linen - bathroom small but perfectly formed - clean towels - soap/shower gel/hairdryer. Fine breakfast - plenty of variety and well stocked - excellent care and attention. Staff more than helpful - offered left luggage service/maps etc. Very convenient area - we used our bus passes (over 60`s) and found buses to all popular destinations were very near to the hotel. Plenty of eateries close to hotel.A direct bus from Kings Cross to hotel/Oxford Street etc. Will definately use this hotel again when visiting London - a clean and comfortable place to sleep/shower and breakfast. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Rhodes Hotel is ideally suited to those travelling into Paddington, as it is a 10 minute walk from the station, and about 5 mins to Lancaster Gate tube station. We stayed here 2 nights in November 2011, and would happily do so again. It is possible slightly dearer than others in the vicinity, but still represents good value due to its cleanliness, location, and room size.

We were given different rooms for both nights (not their fault as we extended our stay after booking online), and in both cases the rooms were comfortable and ethernet cables were provided on request for free internet.

All in all a pleasant experience and definitely on the list should we need to stay a couple of nights in London again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mea98pkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a good stay in this hotel.
We wanted to have a hotel close to the Subway (Underground) and from Paddington Station to use the "Heathrow Express". And following the reviews, we chose this hotel. We were pleased that we found a clean room, good mattress, bathroom renovated and clean, which is essential for us, along with a good rate.
The negatives are the size of the room, people should be careful not to get on a high floor, because of the stairs and the breakfast is very simple. We were offered the possibility to pay for a better breakfast, which was not reported in the reservation.
But these points does not disqualify the hotel and I recommend it.
When I return in London, I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodrigormendonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Upon arival i was informed i had been moved from a double deluxe to a family room, which seemed a bit strange just for one. The hotel has no lift,but the offer was made to carry them. The reception area, landing, stairs and dining room was decorated in a most horrible fashion and in desperate need of change. When i got to my room i was quite simply astonished. The room had a double bed & 2 singles, the carpet and curtains were new and modern spotlights. The wardrobe area was so small, and would have been no good for a family.The kettle's cable was too short for it to reach the socket from where it was,but ok. The room was spotless and clean. The bathroom was very contemporary, with power jets and multi coloured lights in the bath/shower.No shaver socket though.

Room Tip: My room was on 3rd floor, back room and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2011

2 adults and 3 children - no problem at Rhodes Hotel! great family room, nice breakfast and a genuine atmosphere....we will be back Chris!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed in the hotel with my two sons (12 and 14) for three nights. We arrived early and left our luggage to the reception. When we returned the helpful staff had carried our bags to our room. It was located just around the corner: few steps away from the main building. The breakfast-room is a little small but the breakfast was big: you could eat as much as you wanted. The owner even brought the kids small candy-bars.
The whole building was totally renovated a year ago. The room was clean and it was cleaned up daily. No cracks on the wall, no bugs, working air-conditioning, new flat-screen tv, new beds, halogen lamps in the ceiling and a shower that gave a steady stream of warm water.
Location is good: Paddington station and Lancaster Gate underground-station are within walking distance. There are some pubs, restaurants and small grocery stores nearby. We will definitely return. Hard to understand some of the critical reviews: how many hotels in London does NOT have small rooms.

Room Tip: Room in the basement floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#203 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#473 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#397 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#561 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#278 Business Hotel in London
#289 Romantic Hotel in London
#291 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhodes Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing