We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Parkwood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkwood at Marble Arch
Ranked #31 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the Parkwood”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This review is a bit late, thought I had done it! We have stayed in the Parkwood in August 2009 & September 2011 and loved it. The staff are very helpful, nothing is too much trouble, one example is that we needed breakfast a little early one morning for travel plans and this was no problem. Many other little things like this that make it a pleasure to stay here, for us this is so important when travelling. When returning to the Parkwood for the second time there was such a sense of having friends in a big city where we don't know anyone, just lovely.The room is small but very comfortable and a quiet location considering how close it is to central London. Very easy to get around. The breakfast was great. BUT the news has got out! we can't get back in this year as booked out in July. However the Parkwood staff have answered our email enquiry promptly and have suggested an alternative and this sounds like it will suit our needs and we have made a booking, so many thanks to the staff for the suggestion. From Steve and Janet ( Radcliffe/Mackenzie)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    274
    77
    31
    11
See reviews for
191
184
102
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A professional colleague recommended this hotel to me in 2008; I enjoyed my stay so much I've returned to it on subsequent visits to London. A small hotel on a quiet street in the Marble Arch area, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Comfortable room, wonderful breakfast. Very decent price for the area. The Underground is just a couple of blocks away, and bus stops on Edgeware Road. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 79WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A delicious breakfast every day included. A quiet and clean room. Excellent pricing for the location-close to Hyde Park, Harrods, and Buckingham Palace, and on Oxford Street--the best shopping in London. A traditional London hotel. If you're looking for a North American style hotel, this is not the place, but an excellent place to experience the culture of Britain. I would recommend to anyone and would stay again. Management is excellent and friendly. Only drawback for some people would be the shared bathroom for most rooms and no elevators/lifts so not for people with mobility concerns.The management make this point clear in all advertising/correspondence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plash133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London_Hotels_011, Owner at Parkwood at Marble Arch, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We would like to thank Plash133 for the very complimentary review but wanted to just correct one minor reference to the "shared bathrooms for most rooms". We only have 4 guest bedrooms that don't have their own private en-suite bathroom and those rooms have 2 public bathrooms for their use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to the Parkwood Hotel in September 2012 and I really like the hotel , the location is very close to Oxford Str the rooms were clean , the breakfast was good and very friendly staff .Very value for money , defintly will be back in future . Carmen Busuttil Malta

Room Tip: As there is no elivator tru to book early to book 1 st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Friendly staff, good breakfast and a superb location with a view on Hyde park. prices are really fair for London and there are only little few drawbacks like drafty windows which are to be expected from a listed building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHoese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

London is an expensive city, especially when it comes to accomodation. Therefore it is great to find a place within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Hyde Park and Marble Arch for a reasonable price.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the fact you get a cooked breakfast each morning, as well as cereal, juice etc is a major bonus.
However if you don't like stairs this probably isn't the place for you. My wife and I had to climb two flights of stairs with our suitcases and 5 month old son - and we weren't on the top floor.
Also the room was very hot and stuffy but once you opened the window it wasn't too bad.
In short it's not a fancy place but you don't pay a fancy price. And the location is excellent and surprisingly quiet considering where it is. Good value for those on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robkanandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Fantastic base from which to explore London. 5 minute walk to Primark & M&S and hop-on-hop-off bus tours. After a full day of shopping or touring, the Parkwood is so conveniently close to return to, being serviced by many bus routes & the Tube. Fantastic English breakfast - eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, toast, coffee/tea, jams, cereal, fruit, milk - who could ask for a better way to start the day? Most importantly, it provided my family of 5 - 2A & 3C - a family room big enough to stay in comfortably! Yes, yes, the stairs need some getting used to, but what a small price to pay for the convenience of having us all in one room. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff - from checking theatre ticket availability, to checking bus-stop routes, to booking transfers. Thank you Parkwood for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippy143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#157 of 1,068 in London
1,406 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 554 in London
613 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#54 of 554 in London
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#20 of 554 in London
574 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#27 of 554 in London
220 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#9 of 554 in London
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood at Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood at Marble Arch

Property: Parkwood at Marble Arch
Address: 4 Stanhope Place | Marble Arch, London W2 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkwood at Marble Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best of UK" Award Winner, 2009-2010! The Parkwood occupies one of the best locations for a good-value hotel in London - next to Oxford Street and Marble Arch on a fairly quiet street, just 50 yards from Hyde Park, in a section of London known as Connaught Village. "Frommers" NB- Free breakfast if booking is made from the hotel's own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Parkwood at Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood At Marble Arch Hotel London
Parkwood At Marble Arch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing