We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic overnight accommodation”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #615 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Basic overnight accommodation”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

St Davids has similar look to many hotels in the same area of Paddington. A warren of corridors and stairs. Perhaps a few houses connected during time to create the hotel.
About a hundred yards from Paddington tube and rail station and conveniently placed for buses into Central London .
Forget the decor if using St David for short stay it provides comfortable bed,tele and tea etc. upon request, the bathroom(pod), gives plenty of hot water and fair shower . We faced out to the square with good view on second floor. A bit of noise from adjoining rooms but not overwhelming.
As with other views the breakfast was excellent, full English or continental or both and all cooked to order and served with a smile.
We enjoyed our stay and will return again when visiting "the smoke".

Room Tip: If tea/coffee not in room will be supplied at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connorfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    253
    80
    47
    33
See reviews for
148
140
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel is in need of refurb to all rooms.....ALL !
Outdated decor and the furniture....needs to go in the skip!
good breakfast and friendly staff.
I was working in london alone...wouldn't take wife or girlfriend and stay here for a romantic getaway....you ll end up divorced!!
Spend some money on the place.....your charging premium rates for sub standard accommodation .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the St. David's from 9/21/2013 through 9/30/2013 - and it was a wonderful place. Our room faced Norfolk Square on the first floor - ideal. The full English breakfast was well-prepared and the morning staff was always friendly. Likewise, the desk staff was so helpful and outgoing.
The location - a five minute walk to the Paddington tube station and the Paddington train station - save so much time each day. It was especially wonderful coming "home at night" as you were just minutes from your hotel.
There are also some lovely restaurants just two minutes from the hotel. The Victorian Pub is a 5 minute stroll - and it is FANTASTIC.
Would we stay here again? ABSOLUTELY.
Thanks to the staff for making our London visit so enjoyable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heroes4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked one week prior to arriving in London and my first conversation with Alex (The owner's sone) on the phone made me very comfortable right away. Stayed here for 5 days. The first couple of days was in the double room (on single occupancy) at GBP 85/night. This was on the 4th floor. The several reviews that complain about the stairs are not exaggerating. The steps are small and tricky especially with luggage. One the second night I stayed in the double room (again on single occupancy) for GBP 75 but this time on the first floor, with a small private balcony and a fantastic view of the quiet Norfolk gardens. Its quite lovely.
The rooms are serviced everyday and the beds are comfortable, the curtains seem a bit old, but thats not a big matter. The bathroom are tiny but effective.
The hotel serves a breakfast that is made by the owner and his wife manages the breakfast service herself. She is lovely. The owner (and Chef) steps out to acknowledge the guests, which is nice. The staff are from different races and the different accents are amazing to hear in one room. They are all very responsive, especially the Indian gentleman at the front desk.
The location is fantastic in terms of connectivity to anywhere. I used the underground extensively because it took one minute to get to the station.
In addition the hotel also held my bags for 5-6 days while I was travelling around UK, for no extra charge. They have their act together. I was never made to feel uncomfortable staying solo at what seems to be a family hotel.

Coffee/Tea machine is needed in the rooms though.


Good stuff.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the first floor facing the Norfolk garden to escape those stairs and get a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSuperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for a girls holiday break. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Paddington in a lovely quiet square. We were greeted by first name and given our room info by the very charming Alex on the front desk who clearly understands that good customer service is a differentiator :-)
The rooms were as we expected from these reviews. Our twin room had a double and single bed which were very comfy indeed, a wardrobe, dresser and a flat screen TV. Hair dryers were available on loan and there are no hospitality trays in rooms but there is a coffee machine in reception. The bathroom was fine as long as you didn't bring a cat to swing ! Everything was very clean and rooms were serviced every day. A full breakfast was served every morning and we were offered all sorts of variations as well as a continental alternative. This was included in the price and again the staff in the dining area were super helpful and friendly. There is free wi fi in reception and you can get any help with info or directions from front desk. My friend and I paid £80 a night so £ 40 each for our room and breakfast in Central London. This is a family hotel and it shows. I would recommend this hotel and will be staying again. Also worth mentioning the pub across the road for the best glass of wine we had all week.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues request a lower floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powellt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

St. David's Hotel is conveniently located only one block away from the Paddington station. Not a problem to get around in the London vicinity as transportation to connect to the outskirts of London were located at the Paddington Station also. This is a family-operated hotel which is nice and small. There is no elevator to the upstairs which goes up to the 4th floor. This is the only inconvenient factor besides the small bathroom in the rooms as the ventilation is not that great and there is no desk or cabinet space. The bathrooms were placed inside the converted rooms and are the size of a cruise ship cabin bathroom. Rooms are great for 1 or 2 people at the most. It is very quiet and there is wifi- service at the lobby. They ask you to turn in your key when departing the premises; therefore, they know who is in/out and they can promptly proceed with daily cleaning of the rooms. All in all, it is a nice place to stay outside from Central London and the crowds as the Paddington Station is only a block away.

Room Tip: No elevator so you may want to request a lower floor room if walking is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenpammy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently, booking at the last minute. Found the receptionist very friendly and polite. Rooms are fairly small and basic but spotlessly clean. Had TV and FREE wifi, with excellent full English breakfast with lots of choice. All staff very friendly and polite. Highly recommended and would definitely use again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#629 of 1,069 in London
746 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Property: St. David's Hotels
Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #615 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London
St. David's Hotels London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing