We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #615 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent the last week of March at the hotel. It is well situated, close to Paddington Station and London Underground. It is also within walking distance of the hop on / hop off tour bus.
Friendly, helpful staff who are always available.

Breakfast is as good as they say it is although when we went the hotel was pretty packed so dinning room got a bit busy on the last day that we were there.

Overall well worth the stay for those who want a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    253
    80
    47
    34
See reviews for
150
140
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It is a small hotel with very simple rooms. highlights the excellent location, the bathroom spotless, the friendly staff and the breakfast plentiful.
My room was on the fourth floor, walk up the stairs with a heavy suitcase could have been complicated but received help from the hotel.
Near the hotel there are several places where you can eat, or just walk around to Hyde Park, and Paddington Station is 5 minutes walk, connecting to London Tube and train services.
It was my first time in London an was really easy to get there. I reccomend it if you are looking for something simple, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bernardita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at St. David's Hotels based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We chose based on location, price, and that the breakfast is included.

The staff at the front desk were always very warm and accommodating. They provided us recommendations for restaurants in the area, and also were willing to watch our valuables during the day while we were out enjoying London.

The breakfast was very good, and kept us full for quite some time during the day! The earlier you get downstairs for breakfast, the less time you have to wait!

The room was about what we expected. Very simple- a comfortable bed, and a nice view over Norfolk Square. No elevator, so be prepared to take your bags up flights of stairs. The carpet didn't really fit the size of the room (there were air bubbles under our bed). It also didn't look like it had been vacuumed recently. The bathroom was nice to have ensuite.

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel, and would recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was a great experience to stay at this family run hotel. My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. Very close to Paddington station, good location, within walking distance of Hyde Park & Marble Arch, accessible from Heathrow easily by train. The staff were warm, friendly, helpful. The rooms are very basic with just enough space for two people and luggage: crudely refurbished. However, the breakfast was adequate, served by the hostess and her temping helpers, (although we wish they served hot milk for tea/coffee without us asking for it), and the free wi-fi in the lobby was a bonus. Overall, the best bargain for bed & breakfast with great accessibility!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms while checking in, the stairway is too narrow to carry heavy luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaviS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Room was clean, breakfast was wonderful and the staff were fantastic. My wife and daughter had the flu for a day and they were well taken care of. Thank you so much for the great experience in London.

Room Tip: It's a long way up to the higher floors so if you need to ask for something lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The St David's hotel is on a park a block away from Paddington station. The location is good, especially if you want to catch an early train to Heathrow. The rooms are small, but comfortable with en-suite shower units available. There is an excellent full English breakfast included. Everyone on staff is very pleasant and there is 24 hour main desk staffing. It actually seemed like Fawlty towers crossed with the Kumars at #42, especially at breakfast.
Definitly a good place, since we were just in London for 2 days on a layover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Grove, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

9 of us were looking for a London hotel--something not expensive, and not downtown as we were driving. Found this on Tripadvisor--and it was adequate. It's close by Paddington Station for the Tube--which gets us around town. A little hard to find if driving--and parking is a problem. They had us park at St. James Church--about 4 blocks away. No lifts--trundle your bags up 3 stories. Lots of good places to eat nearby. The "full English Breakfast" was adequate--one egg, some ham, a roasted tomato--toast, tea or coffee, OJ. Not the tastiest I've had, but adequate. The room was old--the bath/shower was in one corner--it looked like it had been ripped out of a 1960s vintage jetliner. I'd consider staying again--but if I had to spend any time in the hotel, I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: English is a second language for most of the staff--so they were a bit hard to understand, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erniegann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#822 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#625 of 1,069 in London
747 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Property: St. David's Hotels
Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #615 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London
St. David's Hotels London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing