We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, avg room”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #656 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is superb with stone throwing distance from Paddington station. The room comes with free breakfast but you hv to pay 3 pound each day for wifi or use wifi at the lobby. Not suitable if you come with big bags as there is no lift and stairway is very narrow. I stayed on third floor where i found it was quiet at nite, sufficient heating in the room. The room was typically small and so was the shower room. Everything is basic, but it's okay for me since i stayed only for just one nite before catching the train in the next morning. Breakfast was decent

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank zakBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for St. David's Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 596 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a comfortable and well-priced hotel. From the first moment you enter the hotel, you feel like home, mainly because of the friendly, helpful and kind treatment received from the owners & staff. The location is a plus, with easy access to national rail and underground.
The breakfast is included. Although the menu is not extensive, the food is tasty and the waitresses are very attentive and flexible when it comes to prepare your food.
The room (twin room with en-suite shower, basin and toilet) was nice too: small, clean and warm. The bathroom is a little tiny but it's OK.
I have to highlight the excellent performance of Alex, the guy at the hotel reception, he's kind and eager to help. I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hirocim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Back in St Davids for medical appointment St Marys hospital , and as always such a caring attitude towards all their guests, which is so important and welcome, especially under the circumstances. .
These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel owners for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Thank you so much you were fantastic, yet again. God Bless you all..

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolandamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a very comfortable budget hotel. Why is it a budget hotel? There's no elevator, the carpets are worn, and the rooms are small. However, the rooms are kept very clean, the price includes a delicious full English breakfast, and the beds are comfortable. Everybody on the staff is pleasant and very helpful. You don't have to worry about a heavy bag; someone will carry it up for you. Whenever I had a question about how to find something or how to get somewhere, someone drew me a map. Norfolk Square is quiet; I had a room overlooking the street and the only night that was at all noisy was Saturday. The hotel is less than five minutes from Paddington (by foot) and about the same distance from St. Mary's Hospital.

Room Tip: Eat at San Marco, which is at the end of the block. I had dinner there almost every night. Their f...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelor5509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at this small hotel for four nights (Mo-Fr) during the winterholiday and it was a positive experience. I had my two teenage girls with me on their first trip to London ever, and found this hotel perfect for our stay. It was value for money; easy to find and very close to Paddington, big English breakfast served at the table wich kept us going the whole day shopping and sightseeing, very friendly and helpful staff - they ordered tickets and had helpful tips for our stay. The room we had had nice beds, a tiny bathroom an a TV+ a fan :-). Fresh towels and cleaning every day. We would prefer a wooden floor to the carpet, but that is hard to find in any hotel in London... We had a room facing the park and it was quiet and nice. Hard to believe we were in the middle of a big city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingrid66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hi, Just got back,intomSydney after a 2 week break in London. I stayed at the St David's for the whole 2 weeks. To begin with, the location is excellent , literally out of Paddington station, walk up and out onto the footpath, cross the road , turn left at the first corner and you are at the from door of the hotel , literally 2 minute walk, so convenient for when you get back after a full day of being out and about. There are bus services all over the place, going to all parts of London. I was ablemto visit the London Zoo, Regent St, Oxford St, Kings Cross, St Pancras, British Musuem, and more and more , all from Buses direct , and all located around the streets of the hotel . Of course as mentioned above, the tube is also just down the road , but I preferred using the bus, less crowded, and you getbtomsee more. Also , as a tip , if you ate in London for a week , try and get a Weekly Oyster pass for £30, it gives you unlimited bus usage all over the place , any time , any day , and zones 1,2, on the tube . In regards to my room , I was in room 306, a great little room , overlooking Norfolk Park, it's own separate shower and toilet. The room was cleaned every day, new towels , rubbish removed, and , nice and warm when I got back in the evening, after , spending most of the day out and about freezing and cold. Also , the window opens as well, so nice to get some fresh air in as well. On a final note, and I leave the best for last, the Big Enhlish Breakfast that I had each morning, in different variants, and or sometimes continental , was very very nourishing. Fresh cooked eggs, beans , grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon , toast as much as you like , tea, OJ, really good, the same meal and quality would cost you at least £8 pounds to eat outside, believe I had a good look around, lol . And all included, great stuff. I hope that this review does help people , as London , is a very expensive place, and where we all as travelers can save, is a good thing. Cheers

Room Tip: The higher the floors , the more steps, aaaaahrr
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank billy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose St David's Hotels based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were looking for a budget hotel to stay close to our daughter for the first weekend of our trip to London. St David's ticked all the boxes as far as needing a quiet place to sleep, hot shower, and decent breakfast. In fact St David's pillows were the best I have ever slept on in any hotel. The shower, while hot and with plenty of water pressure was the only let down, with the hose not having a proper holder, and so you had to juggle the shower head little. Breakfast for the two mornings we were there, was plentiful and well cooked. The full English breakfast didn't skimp, and took you well past lunch time before needing to look at food again. The hotel had a really friendly feel, and every time we returning we were greeted at the desk, asked if all was well, and if there was anything we needed. The location was perfect for us. Not only close to our daughter, but it was a stone's throw from Paddington Station. We caught the Heathrow Connect, so was very simple to negotiate. The location was in beautiful Norfolk Square, which was lovely and quiet and had a very pleasant feel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#814 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#665 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#645 of 1,072 in London
756 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #656 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $102 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London
St. David's Hotels London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing