We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet neighborhood”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #594 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here a total of 7 days. The rooms are small and basic but for the price and being in London, that is what we expected. All the staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The location we find to be wonderful with Paddingtion Station around the corner for access to the trains and the underground. Norfolk Square is a nice and quiet park in the middle of the very busy London.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben and Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    244
    79
    43
    32
See reviews for
144
135
64
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a week during the Queen's Jubilee. Even though the hotel was packed with visitors, they did a great job at being accommodating. The rooms were small, but cozy. The view from our room was great - we looked out on Norfolk Square. Breakfast was nice - it was a delicious full English breakfast, but you could usually get something smaller. Yes there are lots of stairs, but it's a historic building; if you're travelling through Europe, get used to stairs.

There was one guy, Alex I believe, that was SUPER nice and helpful!!! And he was always by himself in the morning and was running around doing everything, but still had time to stop and give us some helpful advice. The other front desk staff gave us our key and that's about it...no talking, no hello, nothing.

I did not like the location. Our family spent the majority of the time doing sight-seeing and seeing plays. We had to get on the Underground and travel at least 20 minutes with many transfers if we wanted to go anywhere. There was really nothing to do in this area and I was hoping for a place where there was more stuff to walk to. We ended up walking around at night looking for a bar or something and all we found were hookah bars and closed, run-down shops. Not a great location for things to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisDorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Basic and clean accommodations. Our room was not too small but there was no space to move around after opening our 2 small carryons. Fantastic location, less than 5 minutes from Paddington station. Restaurants all around; ask for a room facing the park.
High ceilings, dark green carpet, fireplace and fan, tv and phone. Wifi in the room works at times, but they specifically say its available in the reception area. Mattresses v springy.
The staff and owners were very helpful and warm. Morning breakfast choices are English (tea/coffee, orange juice, white toast, butter, jam, fried egg, bacon, sausage, beans) or continental (cereal or croissant but the croissant isn't fresh baked).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park. Ask for ensuite toilet if you don't want to share bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slowtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I am disgusted by this hotel, I was bitten by bed bugs and we saw a rat in the kitchen. When I complained they wouldn't listen and argued with me. However it is a good location as very close to hyde park. The rooms are small, the beds moved around the room, very basic, Lot's of stairs. I was so itchy due to the bed bugs and had several bites on my legs-which is so gross. The hotel is close to restaurants and a train station.

Room Tip: a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica_HCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights at the end of our 2-week UK trip. The staff is friendly
and helpful. One desk clerk offered to do our credit card in dollars or pounds. We were
greatly amused by the many Dickensian features of our room: high ceiling with nice mouldings,
small fireplace, lunar green carpet with fleur de lis designs, large two-pane window which opens
out from bottom with hinge at the top. My husband described the bathroom as "a sort of console built into the front wall that you literally climb into, pre-fab, like someone parked a
bathroom trailer in your room." Ha-ha! Breakfast is very basic ( I loved the garnish of toast
sticks stuck in the scrambled eggs! Ha!) but decent. Wonderfully close to Paddington Station
and taxi queue there for going all over London. I would stay there again just for the laughs.

Room Tip: First floor means one floor up from ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

stayed at St. David's for 5 nights in early June. Only caveats were the lack of bedside lighting for reading and the total lack of coat hooks. There was cupboard to hang things but a door hook or two would have been nice for coats and towels. My advice: bring own plastic hangover door hook and small reading lamp. Also, first floor in England means 2nd floor in US. If can't climb stairs ask for ground floor room.
Great breakfast, great location block from Paddington Tube station and bus stops. And like everyone else says: the staff is superb. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jim482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Married couple, stayed 4 nights in June
Essentials:
Positives: good location, hard-trying personal
Negatives:
Rooms above 2 floor require a little alpine experience (step stairs – see photo), ask explicitly for lower location if you haven’t been on Everest without oxygen but beware, we saw some people coming out of the basement.
Some of the rooms are with shared toilets (not ours, thanks God!). They say in England its a common practice.
Bathroom vent fan runs like forever and is powerful (and noisy) as shuttle Discovery on start, mornings are like Rockets Summers in Bradbury’s “Martian chronicles” (to stop use the secret white switch under the ceiling).
Simple hygiene arithmetic: 1 soap for 4 days for 2 guests (no shampoo). Did somebody mentioned Oliver Twist?
Cheep but lavish, cholesterol-wise breakfast, awful coffee (ah, Wien!)
Internet chair (I didn’t stand a chance to sit there and use the net but saw it, it’s there, it exists!)
Problem with hotel’s POS terminal on checking out – didn’t recognize my MasterCard even if it was used without problems hours ago and all over the world. Had to draw cash from the nearby (200 m) ATM (no problems with same card there, 11 pounds additional tax). Not entirely rude mustached character on reception forgot to write a receipt for the cash payment and had to be nudged.
Summary: price of 100 pounds is too big for the quality (or lack of it), nothing more than a sleeping over place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yuli_stoynov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#783 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#602 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Hotel
#656 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#632 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Property: St. David's Hotels
Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London
St. David's Hotels London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing