We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service”
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #6 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

As others have said, the Lime Tree has the feel of a B&B. We stayed there five nights in April, 2014.

Our room was at the top of the stairs on the third (in the US, fourth) floor. "Up with the angels," as the man at the registration desk/office told us. There's no lift, but the climb up is good exercise. If stairs are a problem for you they suggest reserving a room on a lower floor. Staff is available to carry luggage for you.

Our room was one of the smaller ones but comfortable with a nice bathroom. The shower stall seemed brand new. The breakfasts were good, from the full English to fruit and porridge. Simple and nicely served in a bright breakfast room.

The hotel is in Belgravia, a ten minute walk from Victoria Station. It's even closer to the Victoria Coach Station, if you use a motor coach from or to the airport. The neighborhood is quiet and safe, with a nice coffee shop, Tom Tom's, across the street and the good Ebury wine bar/restaurant next door. The Thomas Cubitt pub/restauratnt is half a block away. There are other restaurants nearby but we only sampled those three, going back to the Ebury and Cubitt a time or two.

With the Victoria tube station so close the Lime Tree serves as an excellent London home base. Buckingham Palace is in walking distance and other sights not much farther.
The owners, who work in the hotel much of the time, and staff are genuinely friendly and extremely helpful and informative. They helped us with advice on restaurant choices, routes, and getting tickets to a few of the bigger attractions so we could avoid long lines. Best of all, their helpful attitude and cheerfulness helped us relax and enjoy our London stay.

We enjoyed our stay at the Lime Tree and have no trouble recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akadka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    208
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
176
255
108
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A great hotel at a reasonable price. It is not cheap but a good value for the location. There is no A/C but I travel to London mostly in the fall, winter , and spring. The breakfast is excellent. It is owned by a wonderful young couple who work very hard to make your stay a good one. It is in Belgravia with good pubs and restaurants very near. If you are shopper, Sloane Square and Kings Road are nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santiago2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Lime Tree Hotel for a week and really enjoyed my stay. Great value, gorgeous building and tastefully decorated. Room was small and there's no elevator, but the friendly staff and hearty breakfast more than made up for it. The neighborhood is nice and a short walk from Victoria station.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank USA-Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at the Lime Tree as a solo traveler. The hotel was in a nice, safe location with easy access to Victoria station.

The best part of this hotel was the delicious Full English breakfast. I didn't have to eat again until dinner time!

The staff was friendly and efficient. The owner of the hotel walked from table to table in the breakfast room, chatting with guests which I thought was a nice touch.

Be aware that there is no air conditioning.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phenobarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spend a week in London with our granddaughter at the Lime Tree. Loved it!! Just the right combination of B&B and boutique hotel. The rooms were nice and well done - no a/c - but this is London. We highly recommend the Lime Tree. The staff is incredible. Alex, Matt and Lauren were very helpful. They helped us with tour reservations and and train schedules. The breakfast is very nice and a just great way to start the day. The Lime Tree is in a great part of London. Easy access to Victoria Station and Sloane Square. You can get anywhere you want to in London on the underground from either location. The walk to Sloane Square is really nice. A very nice area to walk at night. Great restaurants close by, particually around Sloane Square. Thy The Antelope Pub. Excellent. We will definitely stay at the Lime Tree the next time we are in London. Lime Tree has arrangements with a Limo service for easy access to the airport or you can take the tube to Victoria Station which is great if you don't have much baggage. The only bad thing about the Lime Tree is eventually we had to leave and return home to Florida. Drats!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are small but no smaller than other hotels we have stayed in in London. The staff does a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for 7 days in June and experienced 3 rooms: a very nice single, an ok top floor double and a stunning second floor double. All are good sized and the open windows and fans helped on warmer days. I did have wifi difficulty in the fourth floor room, which was annoying. Staff was wonderful and accommodating - even moving our bags from room to room for us. Rooms were comfortable and clean and I slept very well. Rooms on the front of the building are not too noisy - it's in a wonderful, relatively quiet neighborhood in easy walking distance to Victoria and Sloane Square tube stations. So much is in walking distance, especially if you like to walk, which I do. I even ran St. James's Park a few times, too. I found out about the Lime Tree from Rick Steves - as most guests had, judging by the books of other guests and all the Americans. Lots of Americans stay here, if that's a concern for you. The breakfast room got a little too loud on a number of occasions with all the Americans. I ate early and didn't have a problem getting a table in the breakfast room, but it is small and others had to wait. Overall, I'd definitely recommend the Lime Tree and stay again. I know enough now to request certain rooms!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty navigating or taking lots of stairs, request a lower-level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Exceptional location near iconic London sites and shopping (Harrod's and designer boutiques) in safe, posh neighborhood. Owners Charlotte and Matt, as well as all of the staff members, are very friendly and accommodating. Two breakfast choices: continental/cereal or full English with eggs and meat. Wonderful restaurant, the Thomas Cubitt, around the corner (ate there several times). Wine bar next door and coffee shop across the street. Well-reviewed in Rick Steve's and Fodor's, and we enthusiastically agree! We plan to return soon!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in the back, however we had a second floor room facing the street and the double-p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,732 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#195 of 1,067 in London
3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#117 of 1,067 in London
2,057 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#310 of 1,067 in London
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Property: Lime Tree Hotel
Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing