We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Choice for My London Home Base”
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #6 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another Choice for My London Home Base”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just around the corner from Victoria Station, I usually stay up the road closer to Eccleston Street but decided to give this Rick Steve's recommended hotel a try this trip. This little neighbourhood has everything. A quick walk from Victoria Station for those flying into Gatwick, several restaurants, a grocery store and my favorite little pink bakery.

For those of us from across the pond who are used to wide open spaces, you should never expect a lot of space in London in fact expect very little unless you have a lot of money to spend. With this in mind, you need to look for quality and not quantity. I found the Lime Tree delivered. Clean, well decorated and a beautiful little back garden to take a break in after a long day wandering around London.

Any feedback is no fault of the hotel and will be addressed in my next visit. The hotel sits on a busy little corner so I would recommend a room in the back. The breakfast room is small so expect a wait or come earlier or later in the morning but I had a nice cup of tea in the back garden until there was a table available.

But the major difference with this hotel is that the staff are genuinely interested in and appreciative of their guests. From the day I booked, they emailed and kept in touch. They asked about my day when I returned from my day out. Bags were carried to the room. This can't be said of all London hotels. Family run definitely makes a difference. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room in the back overlooking the garden will be quieter than a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    210
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
176
259
109
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Typical of this type of accommodation, lots of rooms tightly packed across 2/3 floors...neat and tidy with out being stunning. Ours was on the landing of a flight of stairs but had no trouble with noise etc. the room was very tight with 2 adults and 2 teenagers especially with four suitcases but comfortable enough. The room had no aircon so it was a little stuffy on some warm nights. Breakfast was traditional B&B fair in a room to the side of the entrance hall. We had to wait a few times for a table which was frustrating, but they were a full house each night of our stay.

The location was a five min walk from Victoria station where 3 or 4 of the tube lines intersect, and only 10-15min from the start of the west End

Would recommend this to anyone but bearing in mind, this close to the centre of London you won't get super spacious rooms

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a recent trip to London we stayed at the Lime Tree hotel and everything about it was excellent. Good location for walking to many sights and close to Victoria Station (from there you can get most anywhere). Our room was large, clean and airy. To start our day each morning we had a lovely meal in the breakfast room. Last but not least the staff, wonderful. They were helpful, cheerful,and made our stay a very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and loved it! The staff was very friendly, they served a fabulous breakfast and we liked that it was a 5-7 minute walk from either the Victoria station or Sloane square (preferred Sloane square,not nearly as hectic as it isn't adjacent to train station)
The beds were very comfy, the room spacious for our needs, bathroom in no.2 was tiny, we didn't mind, but the entrance to the show is literally about 15 inches wide, so if you are large or overweight, you won't be able to get in. My hubby is 6'4 and it was a tight fit but doable. Our room overlooked the courtyard,slept with window open and fan on, didn't hear a thing! We'd stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMacPortland_Or_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very attractive B&B, spotless, great service in rooms, at front desk and in breakfast room. Location exceptional. Easy access to transportation, Great places to eat and shop, next to Victoria station but a block away so none of the hustle bustle disturbs you. And close enough to take advantage of the shopping and other places for information.

Rooms can be small but high ceiling makes it feel comfortable. Good luggage storage area, excellent location just off elizabeth street. Sansbury Local and wonderful ice cream place around the corner. Lots of excellent places to eat including The Ebury wine bar and restaurant and Baker & Spice sidewalk Cafe. Lovely and imaginative seating on street corners. Elegant Belgravia neighborhood. Great value and great staff makes you feel like you are special and are staying at a much more expensive place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed at the Lime Tree for 5 nights in May 2014. Helpful friendly staff, Nice clean rooms, 3 minute walk to Victoria Coach Station, 10 minute walk to Sloane Square tube station. Only possible draw back for some people is that there isn't a lift, so if this is an issue ask for a room on the ground floor. Breakfast is included. Many tours leave from Victoria Coach station, which as previously mentioned is a 3 minute walk from the Lime Tree. Would we stay here again? You bet.

Room Tip: No lift so select a room on the ground floor if this is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We (Mom, Dad and 28 year-old daughter) stayed at the Lime Tree Hotel for 6 nights the first week of June, and found it to be an amazing experience. The location is perfect: 3 minute walk from Victoria Coach station (National Express from Heathrow) and within a 10 minute walk of the Victoria Underground, which provides easy access to many London attractions. The neighborhood is quiet and has several family owned restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance.

We were in Room 4, with 3 single beds, 2nd floor and a lovely garden view. The room is a good size for a European hotel with two end tables and a chest of drawers for storage. The bathroom is small (shower, toilet and sink) but understand that this is an average size for Europe. There is no counter space in the bathroom but mom and daughter took over the top of the chest for creams, makeup, etc. Remember to bring your own wash cloth. We learned that Europeans do not provide them and have 3 brightly colored ones we travel with. Be forewarned: the bathroom sink in this room is on an elevated tile base. A couple of stubbed toes will get you to be careful approaching the sink! We kept the bath mat rolled over the edge after the first whack.

Another warning for those who pack heavily: there is no lift (elevator in American). The stairs are steep and narrow which can make it difficult to get large heavy luggage up to and down from the room. Don’t be afraid to ask for help from the staff; they’ll be more than happy to lend a hand.

Speaking of the staff, they are extremely friendly, kind and helpful. Clearly, their goal is to make your trip as wonderful as possible. They will make reservations, supply maps and directions and welcome you back from a day of sightseeing with a cheery smile. Same goes for the dining room folks who serve up a hearty breakfast (included in the price) with a smile every morning.

Bottom line: if we ever return to London, we would not hesitate to stay again at the Lime Tree Hotel. You should consider it too.

Room Tip: Room 4 is great for 3 people. If you are not able to negotiate stairs or need a large bathroom, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjskns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,755 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#190 of 1,068 in London
3,986 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#107 of 1,068 in London
2,075 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,068 in London
827 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#310 of 1,068 in London
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Property: Lime Tree Hotel
Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing