We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly and a great value”
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #6 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Lime tree hotel is a wonderful hotel for a visit to London. Book early due to its popularity. It's well located with a friendly, helpful staff that wants you to have the best experience possible. They ask if they can assist with directions, make reservations and offer maps taking the time to highlight routes. Breakfast is hearty, delicious and served efficiently by the staff. Morning papers are available to keep up on the news.
I stayed in room 11 on the main floor, a triple with a garden view. Great wifi service. The bathroom is a shower only and a bit tight with the door, but I've had much worse in the UK. Comfortable bed. The floor creaks a bit when someone is on the stairs, but that's part of the charm. My travel adapter died while I was there and they had a drawer full in the office available for loan with a 5 pound deposit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 697 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Totally agree with all the positive things folks have to say about the Lime Tree Hotel. We stayed there for 10 days in May 2014. However, there were some quirky qualities to the place. First of all, they only gave us 1 hand towel for 2 of us. When we requested a second, we were told that was an unusual request. I guess they expect people to share one hand towel. In our 30 years of traveling we have never encounter this. To make things even more puzzling, they gave us 3 bath towels?! The mirror in the bathroom was set over the toilet and not over the sink, making its usage cumbersome, not to mention the lack of lighting over the mirror. There was another mirror in the room, but it too was not lighted and was not full length. The bath tubs are new and clean, but oddly shaped (long and narrow). The tubs also lacked a rubber mat to insure safety. They were a bit stimpy on bathroom products (shampoo and body wash). If we had half a bottle used, they would not leave another until we had used it all up. When we inquired about having an iron brought up to our room, we were told due to fire regulations guest could not iron in their rooms. They had to come down to the first floor public lounge and iron. Needless to say, we decided to live with our wrinkled clothes. Each room had a safe. We stayed in two different rooms. The first room had the safe inconveniently mounted in the corner of the room on the floor! The instructions for using the safe were in the hotel booklet in the desk, NOT mounted near the safe. But even the instructions were confusing. They said to start by pushing the bottom in the back of the safe door. We had the hardest time finding the damn button. Turns out it should have read to push the button in the inside door hinge! Still, despite these quirky ordeals, we enjoyed our stay for all the reason given by other reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJMfromtheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is everything we were looking for in London. Excellent location near Victoria Station and Buckingham Palace. The neighborhood is full of little pubs, cute shops, and restaurants. But best of all the property is clean, comfortable and the staff couldn't be more welcoming. Breakfast is delicious. Grab and drink and relax in the walled garden out back. We love Lime Tree and will return again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoppingcruisequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our family of six stayed in two rooms at the Lime Tree Hotel for four nights, and we would do it again if we had the chance. The rooms themselves were roomy, clean, and well-maintained. The breakfast (both the hearty Traditional and the lighter Continental) were a wonderful way to start the day. The staff was incredibly helpful for any questions or recommendations. And the location was ideal, in a quiet neighborhood but with reasonably short walks to multiple Underground stops.

I cannot recommend more strongly - simply a great hotel option in London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wolfonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

You will see a lot of reviews here that talk about the quality of this hotel / B&B. It is absolutely accurate - my two teen-kids and I stayed for four nights in a triple room, and it was really great.

The hotel is good, but the reason you should stay here is location. Other than being close to Victoria and really helpful buses like the 11, you can walk and walk and walk to so many places. We walked past Buckingham Palace to Westminster and on to places like Soho, and also walked to the Science Museum / V&A and Harrods. The huge advantage of this is that you get to see some parts of London you wouldn't otherwise see, and also discover shops and places you wouldn't otherwise.

Can I offer some tips?
* There is a tiny sandwich shop near Slone Square station (5 Holbein Place) called Ramellis. I can highly recommend the fresh and inexpensive cheese-melt focaccias!
* The staff can help with booking things like London Eye, Madam Tussauds etc. This is helpful if you are worried about tickets etc.
* The reality is the Belgravia isn't the cheapest place to eat as a general rule - think about eating elsewhere and travelling back after (eg, we ate in Chinatown, in Soho, and elsewhere and travelled back on bus or tube).
* It really is pretty straight-forward to get here on the tube from Heathrow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I really loved this B&B and so glad I found it. The location is wonderful...in a quiet residential area but close to restaurants. Also, it's very close to Victoria Station so you can easily get anywhere in London. Everyone working there was so nice. We only stayed 2 nights and still they remembered which room we were in at breakfast. Breakfast was really good and filling...perfect before walking all over the city! There were 3 of us...my husband, my adult daughter and me. We decided to stay in the family room to have a little more room even though there was a triple available. The room was very pretty and comfortable. I will recommend this B&B to any friends that travel to London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the Lime Tree for a week in March. We had a wonderful stay and recommend this hotel. It is well kept and in a great, quiet neighborhood (Belgravia). The staff was very helpful in offering advice also. We were on the top floor and had some concerns about the stairs, but it ended up working out fine for us.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank TravelBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#115 of 1,076 in London
2,108 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,076 in London
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#319 of 1,076 in London
1,655 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#109 of 1,076 in London
747 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $85 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing