We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost 5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #6 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Hotel is situated in one of the nicest parts of London, close to all amenities and public transport.
Very charming with original features it is so much nicer than chain hotels and bigger more impersonal places.
The rooms are clean and well presented but a little small but this is typical for London.
Service is excellent with friendly reception staff and waitresses in the dining room.
Only a couple of reasons why 4 and not 5 stars.
Value bread for breakfast? Really? Only another £1 and you get a really nice loaf, no need for thin sliced cheap bread.
Vegetarian option for breakfast non existent. In 2013 this is now a bit strange. Veggy sausages, cheese omelette etc cost very little.
The breakfast room was really quiet...bit of background music would have made for a better atmosphere.
Also a little noisy next to the road but very few places in London have no noise.
Other than a few niggles it was really nice and nobody will regret booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe not on the top floor or at the front near the road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    206
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
174
248
107
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Two of my children (a tween and teen) and I stayed at the Lime Tree for 9 nights in mid-April. It was a safe, relatively quiet neighborhood but close enough to many sites that meant we could walk to the Eye, Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, and many other places. And, it is a 5 minute walk to the tube (Victoria is close but Sloane is as close and easier). Our morning breakfast was relaxing and excellent, with choices ranging from the traditional English breakfast to healthier options (muesli, fruit, etc). However, the highlights of the Lime Tree were the small intimate atmosphere and the extraordinarily friendly and helpful staff. The owner couple are on sight quite a lot, and their staff are well chosen. They were all very patient with my many questions about our tourism plans. We will be back to the Lime Tree!

Room Tip: Some rooms have better internet than others. Room 5's internet was weak, but Room 25 was strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineacFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from Lime Tree. Excellent location around the corner from tube, bus and train stations. Safe neighborhood, great restaurants nearby. Can't say enough about the staff. They were so helpful and pleasant, always went out of their way to assist us, took care of everything.
They made recommendations for dinners which were excellent, gave us countless maps and directions- which were always accurate!! Even gave us special tips to see the changing of the guard. I wish I remembered every ones names- Thanks to all the wonderful staff who helped to make our first London trip- GREAT!

Room Tip: front rooms can be noisy with the window open- we closed ours and used the fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickrebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the Lime Tree Hotel in the Belgravia area of London from March 21st to April 1st. Immediately I was greeted by a friendly staff member at the entrance office and was shown to my room. My single, ensuite room was small, but cozy, and spotlessly clean. Although the shower was very small it was more than adequate and the bed was fantastic and easy to fall asleep on every night. The windows are double pane and no noise was heard outside. Belgravia neighborhood is very quiet in itself and that is why I chose the location. The breakfasts were served in a spacious breakfast room each morning by a friendly staff. Nearby were many restaurants such as Ebury Wine Bar, many pubs, and take-out restaurants in all price ranges. Within a few blocks are the Victoria Tube Station, Victoria Coach Station, and the Sloane Street Station. Also within two blocks is a taxi rank with taxis always available. It is also easy to flag down a taxi right from the front step of the hotel. The neighborhood is very quiet and as one reviewer pointed out luxury cars are frequently seen, a treat to see such wonderful cars. All my questions were graciously answered by the staff and instructions shown on a map. I used the computer near the office each day to stay in touch with friends and family. My stay at the Lime Tree was excellent and at breakfast I enjoyed many nice conversations with fellow travelers.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #6 and room #40 and both were small, but extremely comfortable. All the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

About a ten minute walk from Victoria Station, it is located on a quiet, local street that gives you a break from the hustle and bustle of London. The owners are delightful and helpful. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

well managed. clean rooms with updated plumbing. exceptionally pleasant staff. breakfast above average. lots of steps
so not for the unfit. near Victoria station. excellent restaurant next door. reasonable at 155 pounds per night on upper
floor room with 2 single beds and large bath.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

wonderful hotel, amazing staff, fantastic location. our room was rather small but manageable given we were not really in our room much. the staff were so helpful and it was extremely clean. I would not only recommend it to my own family and friends, but I will stay there again the next time I am in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCSSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#113 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#192 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Property: Lime Tree Hotel
Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing