We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Cycle Tour”
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Europa House Hotel
Ranked #806 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Chose this hotel as it was close and convenient to Hyde Park and Marylebone station.
Situated in a very nice area, along with lots of other hotels. Good selection of local shops, restaurants and Pubs, near Paddington Station.
Hotel staff could have been more welcoming. After all, a smile doesn't cost anything.
Room was decent, a little outdated, but good value for money for a twin room with enough space for our two bicycles and luggage.
Choice of breakfast was Full English or Continental and included in the price. The staff were trying to explain what a Full English comprised of to a foreign overseas couple, being foreign themselves, they just about did an adequate job, but could have been a little more understanding.
Overall, good value for money, location and would probably stay again.

Room Tip: As we had bicycles, we were lucky to been given a room on the ground floor. There is an outside yard...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surrinder k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Europa House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 311 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Far too expensive for what you get; no shampoo; but there was a small cake of very poor soap. Although the sheets were clean you should not look at the pillow under the case and certainly not under the sheets.
Breakfast was cold but we were told by the not at all nice girl that if we wanted hot we should have come at 7:30.
I have had far better rooms in this area for half the price.
Certainly would never go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

27/4/13 Booked one night's accommodation in this hotel because it was close to Paddington Station - quick exit on the Heathrow Express. When we arrived we were told that our room had water damage and they had booked us into another hotel around the corner and they had already paid this other hotel and wanted me to pay before I saw where the hotel was. I refused and advised I would pay once I had seen the other room. The other room was in St David's hotel which was at the top of 3 flights of stairs and was so small that you could not open the door properly because the cupboard was in the way. We could not lay our suitcases down because there was not enough room on the floor, the bathroom was of course tiny and in a cupboard and the room decor was so old that the paint was peeling off and the one chair in the room could not be sat on because the only place there was room to put it was under the homemade shelf that the telly sat on. To add insult to injury I went back to Europa to advise that I was not happy to pay 135 pounds to stay in a dump and was told that I would need to speak to the manager who was not at work until tomorrow morning after I would have caught my train to the airport. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceilidh1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We paid around £120 and got a dingy damp room with no proper lightening, the toilet was so small(2 foot by 2 foot) that one can only stand. The bed was terrible and my wife could not sleep all night.The behavior of the asian person at the reception was fully of attitude and air.I am myself an Asian but sad to see such behavior from an asian in London. Avoid this hotel at any cost.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saydatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was tainted by the level of service. We work hard to ensure that our guests are well looked after during their stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will of course reprimand the member of staff that failed to live up to our service standards. To compensate you we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you decide to stay with us in the future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

What a dump!
We had booked a room before arriving to London, and upon arrival it wasn't ready yet; so, no problem, we left our luggage in the lobby and went out. When we returned to the hotel at night, our luggage was still there, and the guy at the desk didn't even know which room was for us.
They assigned us a room in the basement...it was dirty, the towels had strange stains, there was no soap in the bathroom, the walls were full of humidity (even near the electric plugs) and there were moths flying around (we didn't dare to look under the bed).
We notified the guy about the towels, and he brought a few more...which were dirty too! He wasn't even able to solve a basic problem like getting us a power adapter for those strange british plugs; instead of it, he told us that we should buy it in a store!
The owner (a spanish guy) and the desk guy are arrogant and don't even stare at your eyes when you talk to them, as if the hotel was a Sheraton or Four Seasons, come on!
Luckily the area around is full of hotels, so we went out, found a decent one for the same price, requested our money back (they only charged the first night) and left, because we wouldn't have spent a single night in that hole!
Avoid this place at all costs if you want to have a good time in London, don't let them ruin your stay in this wonderful city!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariblus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering the best level of service possible and have been doing so for the last four decades. We have taken all your feedback on board and we will make the necessary changes to ensure that this does not happen again. In compensation, we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you decide to stay with us in the future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have spend a weekend there on the 25Th of January, and we had a good service for our money. Of course, the rooms are" small, but the beds are good, the breakfeast is included and not bad at all.
There is one or two places in front of the hotel were you can leave your car (10£ for that service)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat23149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words, it is a real pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay during your time in London. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. As a returning customer, you will enjoy a 10% discount if you book directly with us. All the best to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean and comfortable but our room was overlooking Sussex Gardens that meant it was really noisy all night as the glazing is poor. On both mornings we went for breakfast at the opening time of 07:30 only to be told the staff had not arrived!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMXDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I can assure you that we have taken all your feedback on board and will strive to improve the points you mentioned to ensure that all our future guests have a pleasant experience. We look forward to possibly welcoming you in the near future. Please note, that as a returning customer, you will enjoy a 10% discount if you decide to book with us directly. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kingsway Park Hotel
#862 of 1,072 in London
291 reviews
Queensway Hotel
#824 of 1,072 in London
319 reviews
Albro House Hotel
#663 of 1,072 in London
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Hotel
#618 of 1,072 in London
583 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#500 of 1,072 in London
511 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#428 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $83 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing