We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Europa House Hotel
Ranked #730 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean and comfortable but our room was overlooking Sussex Gardens that meant it was really noisy all night as the glazing is poor. On both mornings we went for breakfast at the opening time of 07:30 only to be told the staff had not arrived!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMXDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I can assure you that we have taken all your feedback on board and will strive to improve the points you mentioned to ensure that all our future guests have a pleasant experience. We look forward to possibly welcoming you in the near future. Please note, that as a returning customer, you will enjoy a 10% discount if you decide to book with us directly. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    94
    76
    42
    33
See reviews for
66
105
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Pretty basic room, shower curtain kept sliding into middle, shower took long time for hot water to come through, no plug for sink. Breakfast plentiful, but staff have to realise everyone doesn't want to eat everything on menu. Most of staff friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothyg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all your feedback. We are in the process of changing the breakfast menu. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. As a returning customer you will have a 10% discount if you decide to book directly with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

A small bed and breakfast in a wonderful place in the city, the staff were very good, rooms clean and breakfasts were great just too little to choose from - English breakfasts!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated. We have taken all your feedback on board and are in the process of reviewing our breakfast menu to cater for a wider choice. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. As a returning customer, you will get a 10% discount if you decide to book directly with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed for five nights in room 3 at the ground floor. The room is small, spartan and rather tired. It was clean, apart from the moldy shower curtain. No soap, no hairdryer. A TV, but no remote control. At first I thought that there was no hot water either, but it turns out that you just have to let it run for five minutes before it heats up.

They serve a rather decent breakfast, but tend to be ready to serve it around 0745, not 0730 as claimed. The staff wasn't unfriendly but rather disinterested, as is often the case at small London hotels. The main reason for choosing this hotel is the combination of price (low) and location (excellent).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review and apologies that it has taken so long for us to get back to you. I can assure you that we have taken all your feedback on board and will continue to work hard in order to provide our guests with the level of service that is expected. We look forward to welcoming you in the future and would like to offer you a 10% discount if you decide to book directly with us. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Room was big and spacious, bed had lumps in it and the shower didn't sit properly and was so small we had too lean on the wall to wash, also took 10-15 minutes of running hot tap too get warm water, staff were ok only 1 lady at breakfast wanted too be there and the breakky was ok nothing crash hot at least it was fresh. But if u want location this is the place 4 min walk too padding ton station and from there u can goa anywhere it's truly great.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for all your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as pleasant as we would have liked it to be. We are working hard to improve all the points that you mentioned in order to provide the levels of service that our guests deserve and expect. In compensation, we would like to offer you a 10% discount (if you book directly with us) if you decide to stay with us in the near future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The only good thing I can say is that the location was awesome - just 2 blocks from Paddington train station and underground. But 60 steps up to our room and no lift was difficult plus another 15 steps down to breakfast in the cellar. The view from our room was the back alley. No wi-fi as promised on 5 of the 6 days we stayed there and the staff was unable to help. Breakfast was disappointing. No fruit or any fresh food. Tiny bathroom - the sink was ridiculously small and zero counter space. Lumpy bed, torn sheets and sharp feather ends poked us through the duvet. One entertaining moment was finding a staff member sleeping on the lobby sofa in his underwear in the wee hours of the a.m.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback, which I can assure you has been taken on board. We are currently in the process of changing our breakfast menu and making general improvements around the hotel. We have spoken to our staff and they have no recollection of the incident that you describe, but have noted it nonetheless. Please accept our most sincere apologies as we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. In compensation, we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you decide to stay with us in the future and book directly with us. Many thanks and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The room was OK. Everything worked as intended. I just disliked the parquet floor in the room.
The breakfast was good and generous even if the kitchen staff was kinda unpolite (they refused to serve breakfast to a copule that went down to eat at 9.25 AM while the time limit was at 9.30 AM).

Perhaps the rooms are a little too small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowTheMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay somewhat. Could you please confirm what room you stayed in as none of our rooms have parquet, they are all equipped with carpet. We have spoken to the breakfast staff to ensure that they uphold the service levels that we promote and believe in. Please note that we would like to offer you a 10% discount, should you wish to stay with us in the future and if you book directly with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Europa House
Europa House
#616 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#612 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#602 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albro House Hotel
#656 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Hotel 65
#810 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#485 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Property: Europa House Hotel
Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #730 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing