We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Europa House Hotel
Ranked #724 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed for five nights in room 3 at the ground floor. The room is small, spartan and rather tired. It was clean, apart from the moldy shower curtain. No soap, no hairdryer. A TV, but no remote control. At first I thought that there was no hot water either, but it turns out that you just have to let it run for five minutes before it heats up.

They serve a rather decent breakfast, but tend to be ready to serve it around 0745, not 0730 as claimed. The staff wasn't unfriendly but rather disinterested, as is often the case at small London hotels. The main reason for choosing this hotel is the combination of price (low) and location (excellent).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review and apologies that it has taken so long for us to get back to you. I can assure you that we have taken all your feedback on board and will continue to work hard in order to provide our guests with the level of service that is expected. We look forward to welcoming you in the future and would like to offer you a 10% discount if you decide to book directly with us. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    94
    76
    42
    33
See reviews for
66
105
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Room was big and spacious, bed had lumps in it and the shower didn't sit properly and was so small we had too lean on the wall to wash, also took 10-15 minutes of running hot tap too get warm water, staff were ok only 1 lady at breakfast wanted too be there and the breakky was ok nothing crash hot at least it was fresh. But if u want location this is the place 4 min walk too padding ton station and from there u can goa anywhere it's truly great.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for all your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as pleasant as we would have liked it to be. We are working hard to improve all the points that you mentioned in order to provide the levels of service that our guests deserve and expect. In compensation, we would like to offer you a 10% discount (if you book directly with us) if you decide to stay with us in the near future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The only good thing I can say is that the location was awesome - just 2 blocks from Paddington train station and underground. But 60 steps up to our room and no lift was difficult plus another 15 steps down to breakfast in the cellar. The view from our room was the back alley. No wi-fi as promised on 5 of the 6 days we stayed there and the staff was unable to help. Breakfast was disappointing. No fruit or any fresh food. Tiny bathroom - the sink was ridiculously small and zero counter space. Lumpy bed, torn sheets and sharp feather ends poked us through the duvet. One entertaining moment was finding a staff member sleeping on the lobby sofa in his underwear in the wee hours of the a.m.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback, which I can assure you has been taken on board. We are currently in the process of changing our breakfast menu and making general improvements around the hotel. We have spoken to our staff and they have no recollection of the incident that you describe, but have noted it nonetheless. Please accept our most sincere apologies as we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. In compensation, we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you decide to stay with us in the future and book directly with us. Many thanks and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The room was OK. Everything worked as intended. I just disliked the parquet floor in the room.
The breakfast was good and generous even if the kitchen staff was kinda unpolite (they refused to serve breakfast to a copule that went down to eat at 9.25 AM while the time limit was at 9.30 AM).

Perhaps the rooms are a little too small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowTheMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay somewhat. Could you please confirm what room you stayed in as none of our rooms have parquet, they are all equipped with carpet. We have spoken to the breakfast staff to ensure that they uphold the service levels that we promote and believe in. Please note that we would like to offer you a 10% discount, should you wish to stay with us in the future and if you book directly with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Close to paddington from where you can reach easily most common destinations. Rooms are clean and if you get a room looking at the court, like we had, it's very quiet. There is no lift but there are only three floors, it's not a big effort. Staff it's friendly and reception is open 24x7. You can leave your luggage at the reception after check-out for free. Beakfast is normally included but we can't say about the quality because we never had it. The block is nice and full of others similar hotels. Restaurants and pubs are available nearby. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: we stayed at room 14, on the 3rd floor, facing the court. Quiet and with a very small but just renew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a real shame that you did not have the breakfast, as I am sure that you would have enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and as a returning customer, we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you book directly with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here two nights and I think this hotel is excellent value for money. It is a typical London hotel, could do with a refurbishment, but works well as it is. We got a big room (number 24). The bed was comfortable, and we didn´t hear any noise from the neighbours apart from when they were in the corridor. The shower took forever to heat, I think we left it on hot for almost ten minutes before it was possible to step into the shower, but apart from that the bathroom was ok.

Breakfast was not really up to standards. We opted for English breakfast and the bacon was rubbery and the tomatoes were from a can, "rösti" potatoes seemed prefabricated (almost inedible). But nice toast, butter and jam, and the eggs were good. We didn´t try the continental breakfast, as we just had breakfast at a café our second day.

Would stay here again if on a budget trip, good location and a quiet area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Helpful?
Thank toplusstre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

What a find for London! Small double room with own bathroom all very clean indeed. Room cleaned every day. Not much in the way of toiletries some soap, so be sure to take your own toiletries, but clean towels provided each day. Our room was on the front third floor so I heard some traffic noise when window was open. Very nice breakfast - cereal and fruit juice, choice of bacon/egg/beans, scrambled egg and toast, jam, tea or coffee. Excellent value for money, particularly as it is close to Paddington underground and train station and a great bus routes. It is about a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park, Marble Arch and Oxford Street is close too, if you wish to shop till you drop, and quick bus to the West End. Would stay again without hesitation. Thanks to the host family for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly-Jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Europa House
Europa House
#623 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#611 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#606 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albro House Hotel
#656 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Hotel 65
#810 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#482 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Property: Europa House Hotel
Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #724 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing