We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end in london”
Review of Europa House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Europa House Hotel
Ranked #828 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Close to paddington from where you can reach easily most common destinations. Rooms are clean and if you get a room looking at the court, like we had, it's very quiet. There is no lift but there are only three floors, it's not a big effort. Staff it's friendly and reception is open 24x7. You can leave your luggage at the reception after check-out for free. Beakfast is normally included but we can't say about the quality because we never had it. The block is nice and full of others similar hotels. Restaurants and pubs are available nearby. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: we stayed at room 14, on the 3rd floor, facing the court. Quiet and with a very small but just renew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a real shame that you did not have the breakfast, as I am sure that you would have enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and as a returning customer, we would like to offer you a 10% discount if you book directly with us. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here two nights and I think this hotel is excellent value for money. It is a typical London hotel, could do with a refurbishment, but works well as it is. We got a big room (number 24). The bed was comfortable, and we didn´t hear any noise from the neighbours apart from when they were in the corridor. The shower took forever to heat, I think we left it on hot for almost ten minutes before it was possible to step into the shower, but apart from that the bathroom was ok.

Breakfast was not really up to standards. We opted for English breakfast and the bacon was rubbery and the tomatoes were from a can, "rösti" potatoes seemed prefabricated (almost inedible). But nice toast, butter and jam, and the eggs were good. We didn´t try the continental breakfast, as we just had breakfast at a café our second day.

Would stay here again if on a budget trip, good location and a quiet area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no
Thank toplusstre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

What a find for London! Small double room with own bathroom all very clean indeed. Room cleaned every day. Not much in the way of toiletries some soap, so be sure to take your own toiletries, but clean towels provided each day. Our room was on the front third floor so I heard some traffic noise when window was open. Very nice breakfast - cereal and fruit juice, choice of bacon/egg/beans, scrambled egg and toast, jam, tea or coffee. Excellent value for money, particularly as it is close to Paddington underground and train station and a great bus routes. It is about a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park, Marble Arch and Oxford Street is close too, if you wish to shop till you drop, and quick bus to the West End. Would stay again without hesitation. Thanks to the host family for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly-Jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for two night in a hot, dirty, poky room (number 2). We asked for a fan for the night, but there was none. The toilet was so small that the sink gets in the way of your arm! The shower had excellent water pressure but also dirty and moldy. The staff were average but not terribly helpful. The breakfast was also average. The location is certainly good but there are many other hotels and B+Bs nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My family (2 adults and 2 kids, both in their twenties) stayed here for 3 nights (18th May to 20th May 2011). We got a family room with one double and 2 singles.

Pros:
+Great location. The hotel is a less than 5 minute walk from Paddington Station (which is one of the central stations on the metro/intercity lines where you can change to other lines).
+Helpful staff. They helped us set up our wifi (different for smartphones i guess) and offered us suggestions on how to get to the various attractions.
+Cozy room. The room isn't very big, but in london Quad rooms aren't really that cheap, so this one was quite a bargain for it's location.

-Small room. if you're the type that needs lots of space for baggage, i suggest you go someplace else (esp for the family rooms, other rooms are more roomy though)
-Small toilet. Good luck with that. LOL

Others:
The hotel is situated along a street where, no matter if you look left or right, are rows of hotels. So fret not if you can't find a room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbykang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I have stayed in the europa house hotel 3 times in the last 3 years with my mum and daughter. On my first trip to london 4 years ago i wanted a place close to city centre, transport and not too expensive. The europa house hotel lives up to that.
accomodation is clean and tidy and in the 2 rooms i've stayed in was plenty of storage. room 22 is my fav. Staff are lovely and very accomidating. My only flaw is a bigger breakfast as where wanted to be full for a days traveling. Us irish love a good fry up. For a continetal breakie very good.
Also a good pub just 2 mins up road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Relatively decently priced accommodation sufficient for a short week-end trip to London.

Pros:
- Walking distance to several tube stations
- Good price
- Basic breakfast included
- Helpful staff

Cons:
- no elevator
- door lock malfunctioned, we really struggled with opening the door
- no wifi
- room quite cold
- very old furniture (the wardrobe seemed at least 70 years old)
- slightly shabby beds (only twin beds, no double bed)
- bed blankets looked really old and we wouldn't dare use them

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank travel_d_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Queensway Hotel
#794 of 1,076 in London
323 reviews
Kingsway Park Hotel
#862 of 1,076 in London
293 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Europa House
Europa House
#556 of 1,076 in London
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Hotel
#616 of 1,076 in London
592 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#507 of 1,076 in London
517 reviews
Albro House Hotel
#660 of 1,076 in London
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #828 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $79 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing