We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #233 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed here for a 3 day trip to London with our daughters. Very short walk from Paddington.

Our quadruple room was a very pleasant surprise - we had assumed that we'd have a relatively large room with one double and two singles - but no - two separate bedrooms, one with a queen sized bed and the other with twin singles!!

Staff couldn't have been more helpful - breakfast was very tasty - and we could even have the added luxury of being able to leave our luggage when we arrived, and they stored it for us on our last day, so we could do more exploring before our train left at 4.30pm. Not many hotels offer such a facility.

Overall - on our discussion on the way home - we all said we'd definitely use the hotel again, and would have no hesitation in suggesting it to other families and friends.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank Helbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

It was hard to give this hotel only 3-stars because it aims to be a no-frills hotel, and it exceeds this objective. However it is not a 4-start property...but it doesn't try to be. Could I call this a 5-star delivery of a 3-star hotel?

The Darlington is one of many boutique hotels that dot the Paddington area- however a peek inside the front windows of other hotels gives the impression that the Darlington is a cut above others in the area. It is close to Paddington station, but if you have difficulty carrying luggage, it might be a bit of a walk (10 minutes for me with wheeled bags). However without luggage, the quick access to the tube, makes this a convenient location.

The hotel is no-frills, but surpiringly comfy hotel with little features like books that can be borrowed. From the outside, it seems a bit sad and even a bit gloomy, but the rooms are nice-sized and the beds reasonably comfortable. Despite being an older hotel, the place is spotless.

I was not on business during my stay, so I can't comment on internet access. The morning breakfast is OK....and can be filling, but it is not the highlight of the stay.

The weather was not hot duing my stay, but there was no AC, so summers could be a bit uncomfortable

Front-counter staff were helpful. Despite having a room facing the street and sleeping with the windows open, it was quite at night.

If I was on a budget, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evanston_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Excellent location - situated close to Hyde Park, Central Line (Lancaster Gate) and Paddington.

We stayed for one night to attend a gig in Shepherds Bush. Reception and welcome is professional and efficient. The room was of a fairly good size (for London) but the bathroom was very small but perfectly functional. The room facilities and the hotel in general has a high standard of cleanliness.

Considering its location I thought the Darlington to be very good value. Breakfast was included in the rate and this was a good range of cereals, juice, tea/coffee, pastries, fresh toast and a "full English" if you wanted. Ok, so some of the cooked products may have been of the "cheaper" variety (i.e the sausage) but it was freshly cooked to order and was perfectly acceptable. We found the hotel to be very quiet and got a good nights sleep. Overall, I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending the Darlington

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP3Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Darlington is not only perfect for all types of transport, it is spotlessly clean, cosy and the staff absolutely courteous.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

After a long search through the internet to find the perfect accomodation for us, i finally booked to The darlington Hyde Park hotel because of the high review percentage and the good value of it. When i get there i was first amazed about the warm welcome from the reception staff and afterwards from our hotel room. Very spacey and very clean rooms especially the bathroom. Very richfull breakfast, amazing service from the staff, new towels in the rooms everyday, very helpfull staff on the reception desk helping us and giving us information about everything. Perfect location with a tube station around 200 meters far and very good restaurants around the area close to the hotel. For sure i will revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elefantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

a small nice & cosy hotel, clean, very good breakfast, and an excellent staff service

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pheonix70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I have experience some terrible hotels in London but this was a real treat. We had a suite which was comfortable and roomy. Quality of service was very good and standards of hygene excellent. We liked that we could open the windows and turn down the heating. I hate it when hotels try to stop guests doing this by locking the radiator valves of making it impossible to properly open a window. I also liked the simple thing that the hairdrier was a proper hairdrier and not bolted to the wall to prevent theft. How good to be treated like a responsible adult rather than an inmate!
Staff were charming and the brakfast was excellent and filling.
Thanks for a really pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonysuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#425 of 1,077 in London
1,075 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#179 of 1,077 in London
1,151 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#249 of 1,077 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#290 of 1,077 in London
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $133 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London
The Darlington Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing