We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #195 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mojacar,Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We loved it here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Two very pleasant nights at this hotel.Staff extremely friendly and helpful.Room exceeded our expectations;very spacious and comfortable.Breakfast good and service efficient.We will return. Excellent.

Room Tip: Top floor was nice with character dormer windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Denleigh,
Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you have found your room spacious and comfortable and I have passed your kind words about the service to my staff. Please do come and visit us again soon.
My kindest regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    890
    174
    38
    14
See reviews for
490
761
201
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a twin room with a friend (we had the one that you can see on the hotel homepage).

Some information:

- big enough room
- room and bathroom very clean
- very friendly and helpful staff at reception and breakfast room
- English breakfast is included, so you don't have to pay that in addition to the regular price
- brilliant location, under 5 minutes to Paddington station (that has supermarkets/chemist)
- breakfast was O.K. and satisfactory

- you have a tap for hot water and one for cold water on shower and washbasin, it's a bit
complicated to find the right temperature when you have a shower
- clairaudient (from outside and inside) we could hear traffic outside and the guests who had the room above us, you should keep in mind that this is an old townhouse
- no cold meat (like ham or salami) for breakfast

I definitely would come back and will recommend this hotel.

Regards to the staff :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ivy X,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and you enjoyed the service. I have shared your review with my restaurant and reception team who were delighted with the positive feedback. We are always pleased to receive comments positive or negative. This helps us to improve our service and facilities. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Darlington Hyde Park on your return to London.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was looking for a hotel to stay over after attending a function at the Grosvenor. Came across the Darlington Hyde Park and after reading some reviews made a booking. Have to say that the experience exceeded my expectations. Great room at a great rate, good breakfast, and a perfect location. High standard of cleanliness, and the staff were friendly. Will definitely stay again when in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gotsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great feedback following your stay with us at The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. I was delighted that we met your expectations. I have passed on your kind words to the team here. Please do visit us again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall experience in this hotel is good.

Upside: The location was good as it was just less than 5 mins walk from paddington station. The hotel was also a nice 10 min walk to the really popular shopping area (oxford street). Location is also ideal for muslim travellers, as it is located right next to edgware road so halal food is easy to find and aplenty. Room and bathroom were both spacious with ample of room to move about. We had 3 separate beds (our groups consisted of 3 persons). Both the room and bathroom were clean and we had no problems whatsoever. Staff were friendly and the concierge was very helpful. The free wifi is also an added bonus!

Downside: There were only 2 things - 1) Soundproofing the room. As our rooms were located in the basement and directly under the front door steps, the sounds of people walking and the doors opening/closing were quite loud, so it wasn't that great especially at night when we're trying to fall asleep. It would be good if they could soundproof the room. 2) Pillows. The beds were good and comfortable however we found the pillows to be too thin and soft so it was uncomfortable. We ended up with really sore necks and tired shoulders the next day.

Aside from those two: hotel was good. Would come back again!

Room Tip: Avoid the 3-person bedroom in the basement as it is directly under the front door and the room is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mstwittwots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you found your room clean and you enjoyed the service and the location. Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.
Best regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room is smaller than I expected, however it is very cozy and clean. The staffs are very friendly. The location is great too - only 5 to 10 mins walk to Paddington Rail/Tube station and Hyde Park. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Makarat,
I really do appreciate you taking the time to leave your kind review following your stay with us. I was so delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to be welcoming you back in The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel and I hope that all of your future stays with us will be at least as good as your recent.
Regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Staying in the upstairs family room at the Darlington was delightful for my family. The rooms are simple and clean. The bathroom is well-supplied with shower gel, shampoo, soap, etc. The breakfast is outstanding, served by amazing waitresses who remembered our order from one day to the next! The people at the front desk provided assistance with everything from the Big Red Bus Tour to the in-house guest laundry facilities. This hotel is close to Paddington and to many neighborhood eating places. We recommend a nearby pub and a little Italian restaurant on London Street. We will be back!

Room Tip: HIgher floors are quiet and delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind feedback following your recent stay with us. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay at The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. I sincerely hope that we get the chance to meet your expectations on a future occasion.
Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena Island, SC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location near to Paddington was why we booked here so we were very pleased to find the hotel so nice. Huge rooms by London (or European ) standards with new looking carpets and draperies plus a huge bathtub and bathroom (again not usually found in this price bracket). Even soft plush toilet paper! A window in the bathroom that can be fully opened and a safe and fridge are among the amenities that made us fall in love with the place. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is average but plentiful and with some of our favorite restaurants in London only a short distance away on Queensway - we usually have overeaten the night before anyway! The wi-fi was fine and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bouviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us. Keep an eye on our website for lots of 2013 promotions and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Dominika Gozdzik
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#183 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#394 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#303 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Property: The Darlington Hyde Park
Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London
The Darlington Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing